Skip to main content

Management and Organization

Overview of Management and Organization

The Department of Management & Organization offers a bachelor’s degree in Management Consulting and a minor in Innovation and Entrepreneurship to Mendoza College of Business students. In Management Consulting students learn to manage people and processes within both large and small organizations or to consult organizations on those management issues such as organizational behavior, human resources, strategic management, innovation and entrepreneurship. At the MBA level, the Department supports concentrations in Consulting, Strategic Leadership, and Innovation and Entrepreneurship.  An interdisciplinary minor in Innovation and Entrepreneurship helps students build the entrepreneurial confidence needed to identify emerging opportunities and lead the launch of new ventures.

Related subjects include: Finance, Information Technology, Analytics, and Operations, and Marketing

News and Popular Press

Popular press resources such as newspapers and magazines are expert but non-scholarly sources that report basic facts and offer opinions. One benefit of these sources is that they are printed shortly after an event, but they do not reach the level of analysis necessary for scholarly work. 

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionaries are most often collections of words in one or more specific languages, usually arranged in alphabetical order, providing information like word meanings, usage, etymology, and, when they contain more than one language, translations. Some dictionaries include information more commonly found in encyclopedias.  Encyclopedias are collections of information on terms, figures, eras, locations also arranged alphabetically, and, alongside definitions of terms, they also include more in-depth general information on a topic. Encyclopedias can be general or subject-specific.

Guides, Handbooks & Finding Aids

Reference resources like Handbooks, Guides, and Manuals provide subject-specific, sometimes technical information to aid in understanding important aspects of the discipline or subject that they treat. Finding Aids are useful for finding information within libraries, archives, or specific collections.