Library Guides: Spanish and Portuguese Languages and Literatures: Getting Started

Overview of Spanish and Portuguese Languages and Literatures

Spanish and Portuguese Languages and Literatures involves the study of writing in those languages from the Medieval period to the present. Geographically, this includes Spain, Portugal, Brazil, and the Spanish-speaking countries of Latin America, as well as other enclaves of Spanish and Portuguese around the world.

Related subject guides: Latinx Studies and Latin American Studies

Quick Links to Key Resources

Oxford bibliographies online. Latin American studies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the scholarly study of Latin America. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias. Literature This link opens in a new window
Substantial, peer-reviewed entries on topics in literature, including Latin American and Latinx literature.
MLA international bibliography (EBSCO platform) This link opens in a new window
The MLA Bibliography indexes materials on literature, languages, linguistics, film and folklore, excluding book reviews. Access to citations from journals and series published worldwide, as well as books, essay collections, and dissertations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to articles from Hispania, Hispanic Review, Revista de crítica literaria latinoamericana, Modern Language Notes, Modern Languages Review, Film History, Film Quarterly, Folklore, Folklore Studies, Journal of Folklore Research, and many others.
Bibliografía de la literatura Española desde 1980 This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to publications appearing in all languages on Spanish literature, literary theory, and literary genres from books, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, bibliographies, and conference proceedings.

Dictionaries and Other Encyclopedias

Diccionario de la lengua española This link opens in a new window
Updating online version of 22nd edition of this dictionary, published in 2001 by Real Academia Española, the institution responsible for "regulating" the Spanish languages.
Pocket Oxford Spanish dictionary: English to Spanish (4th ed) This link opens in a new window
Essential vocabulary, clear translations, and usage and grammar help in this English-Spanish dictionary.
Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.

Spanish and Portuguese Languages and Literatures

Special Collections Curator; Latin American, Iberian, and Latino Studies Librarian

Overview of Spanish and Portuguese Languages and Literatures

Other Related Guides

Quick Links to Key Resources

Dictionaries and Other Encyclopedias