Library Guides: Spanish and Portuguese Languages and Literatures: Books, articles, and useful guides

Books

These resources will help you find e-books and print held by Notre Dame, other local libraries, or books held at other libraries worldwide.

Hesburgh Libraries Online Catalog (ND Catalog)
ND Catalog lets you search the holdings of the Hesburgh Libraries, Kresge Law, and Holy Cross libraries' catalogs separately or together. It includes content from the University Archives, the Center for Research Libraries, and working papers from the Institute for Latino Studies.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
A worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 OCLC member institutions. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A digital repository for the nation's great research libraries that brings together the immense collections of its partner institutions. It was initially conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California system, and the University of Virginia to establish a repository for those universities to archive and share their digitized collections, and quickly expanded to include additional partners with fast growing treasure of digitized collections.

Article Databases/Bibliographies

Databases are multidisciplinary collections of scholarly resources. Most databases gather links to and citations for scholarly articles, although some contain additional information on books and other resources.

ND OneSearch
OneSearch is probably the single best starting point for journal article literature. It is a search engine that indexes and lists articles from thousands of journals and databases, including those listed below. Use the facets on the left to refine your search. The resources listed below are more useful for targeted searching.

MLA international bibliography (EBSCO platform) This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
Bibliografía de la literatura Española desde 1980 This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to publications appearing in all languages on Spanish literature, literary theory, and literary genres from books, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, bibliographies, and conference proceedings.
Hispanic American periodicals index This link opens in a new window
The HAPI index contains citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works and other materials appearing in more than 400 journals mostly published in Latin America, 1970-to present. Can be searched in English, Spanish or Portuguese.
Handbook of Latin American studies This link opens in a new window
"... a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion ..."--Home page.
Periodicals index online This link opens in a new window
Index to millions of articles in over 4,500 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences published beginning 1770 or subsequently; scope is worldwide, covering major Western languages. Complete PCI Index, including links to selected full text articles. Only the index is searchable.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, notes, and similar literature on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range of 400 to 1500 for the entire continent of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa for the period before the Muslim conquest and parts of those areas subsequently controlled by Christian powers. Access info: Click on "Enter databases", then select International Medieval Bibliography.

Portals and Open Access Resources

Dialnet
This is a virtual library of Spanish academic journals, hosted by the University de la Rioja in Spain. Primarily a bibliographic index with tables of contents, it covers more than 5,000 journals and 2.1 million documents. There are a growing number of fulltext articles available as content is continuously updated. Subjects covered include the sciences, social sciences and the humanities and arts. It is particularly useful for subjects related to Spain, such as history and Islamic studies, not well covered by other popular databases. English language search is available. Coverage is 1980 to ther present.
E-Revistas Red Iberoamericana
An open access digital platform that provides access to high quality scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. The titles are in Spanish and are published in Spain and Latin America. Currently the database contains more than 400 titles and 110,000 fulltext articles.
Centro Virtual Cervantes
El Centro Virtual Cervantes (CVC) es un sitio de Internet creado y mantenido por el Instituto Cervantes de España en 1997 para contribuir a la difusión de la lengua española y las culturas hispánicas.

A Selection of Useful Guides

A book review is a form of literary criticism in which a book is analyzed based on content, style, and merit. A book review may be a primary source, opinion piece, summary review or scholarly review. ... A book review's length may vary from a single paragraph to a substantial essay.

Literature resource center This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical, bibliographical, and critical content on literary figures from all time periods; draws on Gale Group's Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography; selected full text from Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism; includes full text articles from numerous literary journals and periodicals.
Social theory This link opens in a new window
Full-text searchable books and articles by major and minor social thinkers of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
Johns Hopkins guide to literary theory & criticism This link opens in a new window
A full-text searchable database of articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.

Theses and Dissertations

These resources will help you find unpublished theses and dissertations, which present an author's research and findings as part of their degree candidacy or professional qualification.

ProQuest Digital Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Provides information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses, with subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Offers full text for most dissertations (Notre Dame and other) added since 1997. Access info: Access to full text (PDF) of Notre Dame dissertations since 1997, restricted to users with valid Notre Dame NetIDs.

CurateND
Collect your work in CurateND and share it with a worldwide audience.