"The archive has a wide range of items to interest those researching territories colonised by Britain including: America, India, Africa, the West Indies, New Zealand, Australia and Melanesia." -- Introduction. Includes archival materials such as journals, correspondence, official records and personal papers. Contains a range of sources that relate to both politics and history.
Facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials. Searching is based on tags and descriptive text associated with each manuscript. Images of the complete manuscript can be viewed, manipulated and navigated on screen. Please note that the text of the manuscripts themselves is not searchable.
A comprehensive searchable digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered.
"... lists over 460,000 items published between 1473 and 1800, mainly in Britain and North America, mainly, but not exclusively, in English, from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries."--Publisher's website.
"... a historical database of monolingual, bilingual, and polyglot dictionaries, lexical encyclopedias, hard-word glossaries, spelling lists, and lexically-valuable treatises surviving in print or manuscript from the Tudor, Stuart, Caroline, Commonwealth, and Restoration periods. Texts of word-entries whose headword (source) or explanation (target) language is English tell what speakers of English thought about their tongue in the period served by the Short-title and Wing catalogues, from the advent of printing to about 1700."--Introduction.
Currently includes writers active between 1485 and 1837, plus Classical Latin poets. Provides full-text access to hundreds of editions straight to your desktop, showcasing their authoritative editorial notes directly alongside the text and enabling advanced search within and between editions.
A searchable collection of Romantic-era literature of canonical and previously unrecognized writers from Britain, the British Empire, and North America, with focus on the period between 1800 and 1830. Contains numerous sets by Pickering & Chatto reprinting English texts published from the 1770s to 1830s. Also, includes full text of the journal, The Wordsworth Circle (1970- ).
"Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography [Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time], this [online] collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions ..."--Gale databases description.
Contains full-text editions of more than 100 texts by English and American women published between 1500 and 1830. Also includes introductory essays written by contemporary scholars about Renaissance women writers, their texts, and related topics. Has links to other textual databases, and a collection of syllabi.
Searchable full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817)--the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. Includes more than 1,200 titles.
Includes: American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I; American Pamphlets, Series 1, 1820-1922: From the New-York Historical Society; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800; Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the American Antiquarian Society, 1652-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819; Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement 1 from the American Antiquarian Society, 1801-1819; Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement 2 from the American Antiquarian Society, 1801-1819; Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement 3 from the American Antiquarian Society, 1801-1819.
A growing collection allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1998 [and beyond], including titles from all 50 states. Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others.
British Periodicals provides access to the searchable full text of British periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century (the same periodicals as are covered in the UMI microfilm collection "Early British Periodicals"). It includes millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Subject areas covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.
Portal to newspapers and periodicals c1680-1835 with integrated access to the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford (Eighteenth Century Journals I), the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center, University of Texas (Eighteenth Century Journals II), the British Newspaper Library at Colindale, London and the Cambridge University Library (Eighteenth Century Journals III), Chetham's Library in Manchester and Brotherton Library, University of Leeds (Eighteenth Century Journals IV), and Birmingham Central Library, British Library, Cambridge University Library and Liverpool John Moores University Library(Eighteenth Century Journals V). "The titles chosen for this project have been screened carefully against EEBO, Early English Newspapers and ECCO so that there is minimal overlap with these projects."--Introduction.