Contains the full text of more than 1,400 plays, written from the 1850s to the present, by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Includes information on productions, theaters, and production companies. Also included, selectively, are production photographs, as well as images of playbills and other ephemera.
Index to poetry, including full-text and excerpts of some poems. Contains the contents of: Columbia Granger's index to poetry in anthologies (eds. 8-12), Columbia Granger's index to poetry in collected and selected works, Classic hundred poems, Columbia Granger's index to African-American poetry, as well as new content not published previously in print.
A full-text searchable database of articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
A collection of poetry written by the most important and influential African-American poets of the 20th century; complete text of each poem with any integral textual images or illustrations. Usage info: Licensed for four concurrent users.
Conversations with Yusef Komunyakaa by Yusef Komunyakaa; Shirley A. James Hanshaw (Editor)
Call Number: PS 3561 .O455 Z46 2010 9th Floor
Publication Date: 2010-04-22
Conversations with Yusef Komunyakaa brings together over two decades of interviews and profiles with one of America's most prolific and acclaimed contemporary poets. Yusef Komunyakaa (b. 1947) describes his work alternately as "word paintings" and as "music," and his affinity with the visual and aural arts is amply displayed in these conversations. The volume also addresses the diversity and magnitude of Komunyakaa's literary output. His collaborations with artists in a variety of genres, including music, dance, drama, opera, and painting have produced groundbreaking performance pieces. Throughout the collection, Komunyakaa's interest in finding and creating poetry across the artistic spectrum is made manifest. For his collection Neon Vernacular: New and Selected Poems, 1977-1989, Komunyakaa became the first African American male to win the Pulitzer Prize for poetry. Through his work he provides keen insight into life's mysteries from seemingly inconsequential and insignificant life forms ("Ode to the Maggot") to some of the most compelling historical and life-altering events of our time, such as the Vietnam War ("Facing It"). Influenced strongly by jazz, blues, and folklore, as well as the classical poetic tradition, his poetry comprises a riveting chronicle of the African American experience.
Poetry for Students
Publication Date: 2008-09-09
This series is designed specifically to meet the curricular needs of undergraduate college students studying poetry. A quick but information-rich reference source, each volume of Poetry for Students provides analysis of 16 poems that teachers and librarians have identified as the most frequently studied. Re: Natasha Trethewey "Native Guard."
The Handbook of Heartbreak by Robert Pinsky
Call Number: PS 595 .L57 H36 1998 9th Floor
Publication Date: 1998-09-16
From the 39th poet laureate comes the universal prescription for a broken heart. Robert Pinsky has gathered together magical words of heart-mending solace from across the centuries to read in times of trouble. With an introduction by Pinsky, this unique volume includes the works of an astounding range of poets -- William Shakespeare, Sylvia Plath, Frank Bidart, Wallace Stevens, Frank O'hara, Louise Gluck, W.B. Yeats, Langston Hughes, and Emily Dickenson, amoung others. A timeless treasure to give or get, The Handbook of Heartbreak beats with the power of emotional truth; a must for anyone who has ever loved -- and lost.
Afro-American Writing by Richard A. Long (Editor); Eugenia W. Collier (Editor)
Call Number: PS 508 .N3 A37 1985 9th Floor
Publication Date: 1990-10-01
The dynamic course of Afro-American literature from oppression through protest to liberation is depicted in the anthology. Long and Collier have added contemporary writers, introductions, and head notes to make this the most comprehensive, up-to-date anthology available. From Phillis Wheatley to Alice Walker and Gwendolyn Brooks, from Booker T. Washington to Martin Luther King and Amiri Baraka, the Afro-American writers are represented here.
The mission of the library is to connect people to knowledge across time and space. It is the library’s job to acquire, preserve, organize, and steward this knowledge in a way that makes it accessible for study by all scholars throughout time. To this end, the Hesburgh Libraries contributes to the mission of the University by providing distinctive collections, expertise, services, and spaces that enhance teaching, learning, and research for and in collaboration with the University community.
African-American Poetry of the Nineteenth Century by Joan R. Sherman (Editor)
Call Number: PS 591 .N4 A35 1992 9th Floor
Publication Date: 1992-11-01
African American Haiku by John Zheng (Editor)
Call Number: PS 310 .N4 A34 2016 9th Floor
Publication Date: 2016-02-10
African American Haiku: Cultural Visions offers insights into African American poets' innovations in the haiku form, shedding light on a neglected aspect of black poetry. Notable scholars present new interpretations of well-known works. Essays trace the verse of five major African American haiku poets: Richard Wright, James Emanuel, Etheridge Knight, Sonia Sanchez, and Lenard D. Moore. Sachi Nakachi investigates the influence of Japanese aesthetics and Eastern philosophy on Richard Wright's haiku showing Wright's interest in the blues as poetry. Yoshinobu Hakutani analyzes the vision and affinity of jazz and haiku throughout James Emanuel's Jazz from the Haiku King. And Claude Wilkinson digs into Etheridge Knight's improvisation and adherence to tradition of haiku and African American vernacular form. The collection also explores how Sanchez creates a new American hybrid form of the modern haiku in English by blending haiku with her own principles of a black aesthetic. Toru Kiuchi shows how Lenard D. Moore expresses his experiences through haiku with his African American aesthetics and connections to black southern culture. By discussing multiple writers from a variety of disciplines in a single volume, the essayists compare and contrast the work created by writers, poets, and musicians, and illuminate the variety of methods African American authors used when adapting this traditional Japanese form. The result is a volume that offers rich insight into African American aesthetics, the black arts movement, gender issues, blues and jazz, and trends in contemporary poetry.
Black Arts Enterprise and the Production of African American Poetry by Howard Rambsy
Call Number: PS 310 .N4 R35 2011 9th Floor
Publication Date: 2013-08-29
The Black Arts Enterprise and the Production of African American Poetry offers a close examination of the literary culture in which the Black Arts Movement's poets (including Amiri Baraka, Nikki Giovanni, Sonia Sanchez, Larry Neal, Haki Madhubuti, Carolyn Rodgers, and others) operated and of the small presses and literary anthologies that first published the movement's authors. The book also describes the role of the Black Arts Movement in reintroducing readers to poets such as Langston Hughes, Robert Hayden, Margaret Walker, and Phillis Wheatley. Focusing on the material production of Black Arts poetry, the book combines genetic criticism with cultural history to shed new light on the period, its publishing culture, and the writing and editing practices of its participants. Howard Rambsy II demonstrates how significant circulation and format of black poetic texts--not simply their content--were to the formation of an artistic movement. The book goes on to examine other significant influences on the formation of Black Arts discourse, including such factors as an emerging nationalist ideology and figures such as John Coltrane and Malcolm X.
The Complete Works of Pat Parker by Pat Parker
Call Number: PS 3566 .A6847 2016 9th Floor
Publication Date: 2016-10-15
Poetry. Drama. California Interest. African & African American Studies. Women's Studies. "Parker stayed woke to black suffering, violence against black bodies—especially those of black women—to the suffering engendered by multiple, egregious oppressions. With THE COMPLETE WORKS OF PAT PARKER, we are allowed an opportunity to historicize Pat Parker's significance to black women's literary traditions, lesbian erotics, to black queer struggles and black feminism, and to global social justice movements. She was in her time. Now, with this important text, she will be in all time to come." —Alexis De Veaux "As the Black Lives Matter movement calls attention to the grave risks Black people have always faced and as poets and artists wrestle with the question of how to marry the political and the personal in their work, we have never needed Pat Parker's work more. It is absolutely immediate, searing, salving, saving, and necessary." —Kazim Ali "The poetry of Pat Parker reaches out to us anew and shakes our consciousness—fiercely." —Cheryl Clarke
Langston's Salvation by Wallace D. Best
Publication Date: 2017-11-07
A new perspective on the role of religion in the work of Langston Hughes Langston's Salvation offers a fascinating exploration into the religious thought of Langston Hughes. Known for his poetry, plays, and social activism, the importance of religion in Hughes' work has historically been ignored or dismissed. This book puts this aspect of Hughes work front and center, placing it into the wider context of twentieth-century American and African American religious cultures. Best brings to life the religious orientation of Hughes work, illuminating how this powerful figure helped to expand the definition of African American religion during this time. Best argues that contrary to popular perception, Hughes was neither an avowed atheist nor unconcerned with religious matters. He demonstrates that Hughes' religious writing helps to situate him and other black writers as important participants in a broader national discussion about race and religion in America. Through a rigorous analysis that includes attention to Hughes's unpublished religious poems, Langston's Salvation reveals new insights into Hughes's body of work, and demonstrates that while Hughes is seen as one of the most important voices of the Harlem Renaissance, his writing also needs to be understood within the context of twentieth-century American religious liberalism and of the larger modernist movement. Combining historical and literary analyses with biographical explorations of Langston Hughes as a writer and individual, Langston's Salvation opens a space to read Langston Hughes' writing religiously, in order to fully understand the writer and the world he inhabited.
The New Red Negro by James Edward Smethurst
Call Number: PS 310 .N4 S64 1999 9th Floor
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
This text surveys African American poetry between the onset of the Depression and the early days of the Cold War. It considers the relationship between the thematic and formal choices of African American poets, and organized ideology from "proletarian" early 1930s to the "neo-modernist" late 1940s.
Of Poetry and Protest by Phil Cushway; Michael Warr; Victoria Smith
Publication Date: 2016-06-21
Included in this extraordinary volume are the poems of 43 of America's most talented African American wordsmiths, including Pulitzer Prize-winning poets Rita Dove, Natasha Tretheway, Yusef Komunyakaa, and Tracy K. Smith, as well as the work of other luminaries such as Elizabeth Alexander, Ishmael Reed, and Sonia Sanchez. Included are poems such as "No Wound of Exit" by Patricia Smith, "We Are Not Responsible" by Harryette Mullen, and "Poem for My Father" by Quincy Troupe. Each is accompanied by a photograph of the poet along with a first-person biography. The anthology also contains personal essays on race such as "The Talk" by Jeannine Amber and works by Harry Belafonte, Amiri Baraka, and The Reverend Dr. William Barber II, architect of the Moral Mondays movement, as well as images and iconic political posters of the Black Lives Matter movement, Malcolm X, and the Black Panther Party. Taken together, Of Poetry and Protest gives voice to the current conversation about race in America while also providing historical and cultural context. It serves as an excellent introduction to African American poetry and is a must-have for every reader committed to social justice and racial harmony.
Understanding Rita Dove by Pat Righelato
Call Number: PS 3554 .O884 Z85 2006 9th Floor
Publication Date: 2006-08-01
Presents an introduction to the poetry of the Pulitzer Prize winning Rita Dove, who was the first African American poet laureate of the US. Charting Dove's evolution as a poet, this title offers analyses of her artistic development, bringing to light the musical sense of form and expression of history that permeates her work.
Gwendolyn Brooks and Working Writers by Jacqueline Imani Bryant (Editor)
Call Number: 9780883782798 9th Floor
Publication Date: 2007-06-01
Seventeen writers, educators, and close friends of the late poet contribute their praise through this collection of brief anecdotes from actual encounters with Gwendolyn Brooks. The contributors relate the poet's influences on their art, their lives, and the world; expressing their indebtedness for the revolutionary language of her poems, her universal maternity, and her outstanding kindness. Some of Brook's most influential poems are included such that this tribute keeps her words and wisdom alive.
Lucille Clifton by Mary Jane Lupton
Call Number: PS 3553 .L45 Z75 2006 9th Floor
Publication Date: 2006-06-30
Writing and composing with honesty and humanism, Lucille Clifton is known for her themes of the body, family, community, politics, womanhood, and the spirit. While much of her work deals with the African American experience, she does not limit herself to that perspective, addressing topics common to all women, to all people. This timely and important biography will give readers a glimpse into the life and work of this important and revered African American poet, writer, and educator, exploring themes that run throughout her writing, as well as the personal obstacles she faced and overcame. Lucille Clifton was born in Depew, New York, in 1936. Today, she is one of the most important and revered African American poets, writers, and educators in the nation. In addition to several works of poetry, she has written more than 15 children's books. Her work has been nominated for three Pulitzer Prizes and two National Book Awards, one of which she won for Blessing the Boats: New and Selected Poems 1988-2000 in 2000. In 1999, she was appointed and remains a Chancellor of the American Academy of Poets, one of the most prestigious honors in American letters. Among her best known works is the poem miss rosie, anthologized many times over and a standard part of high school curriculums. She has won an Emmy award, a Lannan Literary Award, two fellowships from the National Endowmant for the the Arts, and many other prestigious awards. Writing and composing with honesty and humanism, Clifton is known for her themes of the body, family, community, politics, womanhood, and the spirit. While much of her work deals with the African American experience, she does not limit herself to that perspective, addressing topics common to all women, to all people. This biography covers Clifton's life and work, addressing themes that run throughout her writing as well as the personal obstacles she faced and overcame, including her own faultering health. This timely and important biography will give readers a glimpse into the life of one of America's most important, influential, and enduring writers.
From the Auroral Darkness by John Hatcher
Call Number: PS 3515 .A9363 Z72 1984 9th Floor
Publication Date: 1984-07-01
Robert Hayden: 1913-1980
Criticism and interpretation; African American poets;Biography
The article explores the poet Michael S. Harper's use of the darkroom as a metaphor for family history and African American identity. Acknowledging that the changes in photographic technology over the last decade have spelled the end of the darkroom as the actual workspace of the photographer and as valid, contemporary metaphor for the unconscious, the article describes Harper's 1977 selected poems, Images of Kin, as one of the last great invocations of this metaphor, and it further examines how this metaphor and its counterpart (the metaphor of the photographic negative) develop for Harper as ekphrastic models of composition.
A worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 OCLC member institutions. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.
Angles of Ascent by Charles Henry Rowell
Call Number: PS 508 .N3 A86 2013 9th Floor
Publication Date: 2013-02-04
This is not just another poetry anthology. It is a gathering of poems that demonstrate what happens when writers in a marginalized community collectively turn from dedicating their writing to political, social, and economic struggles, and instead devote themselves to the art of their poems and to the ideas they embody. These poets bear witness to the interior landscapes of their own individual selves or examine the private or personal worlds of invented personae and, therefore, of human beings living in our modern and postmodern worlds.The anthology focuses on post-1960s poetry and includes such poets as Rita Dove, Ai, Nathaniel Mackey, Natasha Trethewey, Kevin Young, Terrence Hayes, Elizabeth Alexander, Major Jackson, Carl Phillips, Harryette Mullen, and Yusef Komunyakaa--artists who, using a wide range of styles and forms, are cultivating a poetry of personal voice and interiority that speaks against the backdrop of community and anscestry.
The BreakBeat Poets by Kevin Coval (Editor); Quraysh Ali Lansana (Editor); Nate Marshall (Editor)
Call Number: PS 617 .B743 2015 [In-Library Use Only]
Publication Date: 2015-04-13
Hip-Hop is the largest youth culture in the history of the planet rock. This is the first poetry anthology by and for the Hip-Hop generation. It has produced generations of artists who have revolutionized their genre(s) by applying the aesthetic innovations of the culture. The BreakBeat Poets features 78 poets, born somewhere between 1961-1999, All-City and Coast-to-Coast, who are creating the next and now movement(s) in American letters. The BreakBeat Poets is for people who love Hip-Hop, for fans of the culture, for people who've never read a poem, for people who thought poems were only something done by dead white dudes who got lost in a forest, and for poetry heads. This anthology is meant to expand the idea of who a poet is and what a poem is for. The BreakBeat Poets are the scribes recording and remixing a fuller spectrum of experience of what it means to be alive in this moment. The BreakBeat Poets are a break with the past and an honoring of the tradition(s), an undeniable body expanding the canon for the fresher.
American Political Poetry in the 21st Century by Michael Dowdy
Call Number: Access Online
Publication Date: 2007-06-08
Dowdy uncovers and analyzes the primary rhetorical strategies, particularly figures of voice, in American political poetry from the Vietnam War-era to the present. He brings together a unique and diverse collection of poets, including an innovative section on hip hop performance.
Chasing Utopia by Nikki Giovanni
Call Number: PS 3557 .I55 C47 2013 9th Floor
Publication Date: 2013-10-29
From one of America's most celebrated poets, Nikki Giovanni, comes this poignant collection of poetry that celebrates the simple pleasures of everyday life and the bonds we share with those closest to us. "This slim volume delights on every page. There are stories, imaginings, whimsy, and startling images which prove the poet's power and her command of language . . . Anyone with a love of language will be delighted with this book and the continuing publication of America's treasured poet."--San Francisco Book Review The poetry of Nikki Giovanni has spurred movements and inspired songs, turned hearts and informed generations. She's been hailed as a healer and as a national treasure. But Giovanni's heart resides in the everyday, where family and lovers gather, friends commune, and those no longer with us are remembered. And at every gathering there is food--food as sustenance, food as aphrodisiac, food as memory. A pot of beans is flavored with her mother's sighs--this sigh part cardamom, that one the essence of clove; a lover requests a banquet as an affirmation of ongoing passion; homage is paid to the most time-honored appetizer: soup. With Chasing Utopia, Giovanni demands that the prosaic--flowers, birdsong, winter--be seen as poetic, and reaffirms once again why she is as energetic, "remarkable" (Gwendolyn Brooks), "wonderful" (Marian Wright Edelman),"outspoken, prolific, energetic" (New York Times), and relevant as ever.
Amiri Baraka and the Congress of African People by Michael Simanga
Call Number: E 185.615 .S556 2015 10th Floor
Publication Date: 2015-02-11
This important look at CAP combines historical research and analysis with the author's first-hand experience with the organization, providing the first historical narrative of a consequential player in the Black Power Movement.
The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture. It exists to discover and celebrate the best poetry and to place it before the largest possible audience. The Poetry Foundation works to raise poetry to a more visible and influential position in our culture. Rather than celebrating the status quo, the Foundation seeks to be a leader in shaping a receptive climate for poetry by developing new audiences, creating new avenues for delivery, and encouraging new kinds of poetry.
The Library of Congress Poetry and Literature Center fosters and enhances the public's appreciation of literature. To this end, the Center administers the endowed Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry position, coordinates an annual season of readings, performances, lectures, conferences, and symposia, and sponsors high-profile prizes and fellowships for literary writers.
Founded in 1934 in New York City, the Academy of American Poets is the largest membership-based nonprofit organization advocating for American poets and poetry. Its mission is to support American poets at all stages of their careers and to foster the appreciation of contemporary poetry. Each year, the charitable organization connects millions of readers to poets’ work with its many programs and publications, which, in addition to Poets.org, include Poem-a-Day, National Poetry Month (April), American Poets biannual literary journal for members, the American Poets Prizes, Poetry & the Creative Mind, a Fall Conversation Series, and an Education Program that provides free resources, such as lesson plans and Teach This Poem, and the Dear Poet project for K-12 teachers and students. In addition, the organization coordinates the Poetry Coalition, an alliance of more than 20 poetry organizations across the United States.