Library Guides: Biochemistry: Scholarly Articles and Books

Article Databases

Databases are multidisciplinary collections of scholarly resources. Most databases gather links to and citations for scholarly articles, although some contain additional information on books and other resources.

Binding Database
BindingDB is a public, web-accessible database of measured binding affinities, focusing chiefly on the interactions of protein considered to be drug-targets with small, drug-like molecules. BindingDB contains 1,334,744 binding data, for 7,006 protein targets and 594,742 small molecules.
bioRxiv.org
The preprint server for biology, operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a research and educational institution.
BRENDA
The Comprehensive Enzyme Information System.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window

Human Metabolome Database
The Human Metabolome Database is a comprehensive, high-quality, freely accessible, online database of small molecule metabolites found in the human body. Created by the Human Metabolome Project funded by Genome Canada.
LipidBank
LipidBank is an open, publicly free database of natural lipids including fatty acids, glycerolipids, sphingolipids, steroids, and various vitamins. The database contains more than 6000 unique molecular structures, their lipid names, spectral information, and most importantly, literature information. .

PubMed This link opens in a new window
A free search engine with FindText access to ND's electronic journals. Searches MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's database of citations/abstracts in the fields of medicine, plus additional selected life sciences journals not in MEDLINE.
SciFinder Web This link opens in a new window
Provides access to several Chemical Abstracts Service databases, including Chemical Abstracts, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCAT. Search by topic, author, CAS Registry Numbers, patent number, CAS abstract number, chemical name, chemical structure, and formula. Usage info: Licensed for six simultaneous users.
Web of Science: Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window

Books

These resources will help you find e-books and print held by Notre Dame, other local libraries, or books held at other libraries worldwide.

Amazon
Search for books, music, videos, and more--in a snap.

Google Books This link opens in a new window

Hesburgh Libraries Online Catalog (Aleph)
This is the Hesburgh Libraries online catalog, which also allows access to other MALC catalogs, and includes the full holdings of the Hesburgh Libraries of Notre Dame.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
A worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 OCLC member institutions. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.

Theses and Dissertations

These resources will help you find unpublished theses and dissertations, which present an author's research and findings as part of their degree candidacy or professional qualification.

ProQuest Digital Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Provides information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses, with subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Offers full text for most dissertations (Notre Dame and other) added since 1997. Access info: Access to full text (PDF) of Notre Dame dissertations since 1997, restricted to users with valid Notre Dame NetIDs.

CurateND
Collect your work in CurateND and share it with a worldwide audience.