A revealing and gripping investigation into how social media platforms police what we post online--and the large societal impact of these decisions Most users want their Twitter feed, Facebook page, and YouTube comments to be free of harassment and porn. Whether faced with "fake news" or livestreamed violence, "content moderators"--who censor or promote user-posted content--have never been more important. This is especially true when the tools that social media platforms use to curb trolling, ban hate speech, and censor pornography can also silence the speech you need to hear.   In this revealing and nuanced exploration, award-winning sociologist and cultural observer Tarleton Gillespie provides an overview of current social media practices and explains the underlying rationales for how, when, and why these policies are enforced. In doing so, Gillespie highlights that content moderation receives too little public scrutiny even as it is shapes social norms and creates consequences for public discourse, cultural production, and the fabric of society. Based on interviews with content moderators, creators, and consumers, this accessible, timely book is a must-read for anyone who's ever clicked "like" or "retweet."

Financial Times Best Books of 2023 in Economics The global battle among the three dominant digital powers, the United States, China, and the European Union, is intensifying. All three regimes are racing to regulate tech companies, with each advancing a competing vision for the digital economy while attempting to expand its sphere of influence in the digital world. In Digital Empires, her provocative follow-up to The Brussels Effect, Anu Bradford explores a rivalry that will shape the world in the decades to come. Across the globe, people dependent on digital technologies have become increasingly alarmed that their rapid adoption and transformation have ushered in an exceedingly concentrated economy where a few powerful companies control vast economic wealth and political power, undermine data privacy, and widen the gap between economic winners and losers. In response, world leaders are variously embracing the idea of reining in the most dominant tech companies. Bradford examines three competing regulatory approaches, the American market-driven model, the Chinese state-driven model, and the European rights-driven regulatory model, and discusses how governments and tech companies navigate the inevitable conflicts that arise when these regulatory approaches collide in the international domain. Which digital empire will prevail in the contest for global influence remains an open question, yet their contrasting strategies are increasingly clear. Digital societies are at an inflection point. In the midst of these unfolding regulatory battles, governments, tech companies, and digital citizens are making important choices that will shape the future ethos of the digital society. Digital Empires lays bare the choices we face as societies and individuals, explains the forces that shape those choices, and illuminates the immense stakes involved for everyone who uses digital technologies.

This Open Access volume provides an in-depth exploration of global policy and governance issues related to digital platform regulation. With an international ensemble of contributors, the volume has at its heard the question: what would actually be involved in digital platform regulation?’. Once a specialised and niche field within internet and digital media studies, internet governance has in recent years moved to the forefront of policy debate. In the wake of scandals such as Cambridge Analytica and the global ‘techlash’ against digital monopolies, platform studies are undergoing a critical turn, but there is a greater need to connect such analysis to questions of public policy. This volume does just that, through a rich array of chapters concretely exploring the operation and influence of digital platforms and their related policy concerns. A wide variety of digital communication platforms are explored, including social media, content portals, search engines and appstores. An important and timely work, ‘Digital Platform Regulation’ provides valuable insights into new global platform-orientated policy reforms, supplying an important resource to researchers everywhere seeking to engage with policymakers in the debate about the power of digital platforms and how to address it.

According to the European Commission, two recent policies: the Digital Service Act and the Digital Market Act will allow for the regulation of a significant part of the EU Digital Single Market (DSM), to an extent similar to the creation of the traditional internal market in the early 1990s. The provisions are intended to improve conditions in the EU DSM to ensure that the market is as free and fair as it is safe for users of the digital economy. This interdisciplinary book analyses the impact of digital technologies on specific markets and, more broadly, the society and the economy. It identifies and assesses the different features, challenges, trends and dimensions of the EU DSM, from a legal and economic viewpoint, and also from a Polish perspective. Poland is presented as one of the EU countries participating in the creation of the EU DSM and is analysed alongside the average, as well as the best and the worst performing EU member states and compared with other non-EU members. The book addresses several broad areas in which the implications of digitalisation are particularly visible, and which are important to the average person: giant online platforms, freedom of speech, e-commerce, digital levy, energy infrastructure, and the labour market. The authors have presented opportunities and threats related to the functioning of the digital market. These opportunities and threats are typical of highly developed countries while reflecting the specific features of the EU DSM. The starting point of the considerations are the diverse experiences of the EU member states. The book adds a voice to the public debate on the role of the digital economy in the contemporary world and will be a useful guide for students and researchers in economics, law, and international relations. Chapters 1 and 2 of this book are available for free in PDF format as Open Access from the individual product page at ww.routledge.com . They have been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license.

The EU Regulation on a Single Market for Digital Services (Digital Services Act, the 'DSA') is a comprehensive legal framework to regulate digital services and to tackle illegal activity online across the European Union. The DSA represents one of the main pillars of the EU's reform of the digital single market. It applies horizontally to online intermediaries operating in the EU, including online platforms such as social media, video-sharing platforms, online marketplaces, and search engines. The EU Digital Services Act: A Commentary serves as a reference work on the DSA, written by experts who have been closely involved in all steps of the law-making process, from the preparation of the proposal to the final negotiations, as well as its subsequent elaboration and application. This commentary provides a comprehensive article-by-article analysis that will allow the reader to navigate the provisions of this new, complex legal act. While being novel, the DSA does not enter a completely unchartered territory: numerous provisions draw inspiration from, or are applied together with, the provisions of other Acts and areas of EU law. This Commentary explores the jurisprudential origins of the provisions of the DSA and their articulation with other EU Acts, which will be essential for its interpretation and application. With a foreword by Maciej Szpunar, the First Advocate General at the EU Court of Justice, The EU Digital Services Act: A Commentary strikes a balance between a practical commentary and an academic analysis, and is aimed at legal practitioners, academics, and public authorities.

Social media offers a platform for individual self-expression and the sharing of information. However, social media issues are boundless, permeating distinct legal disciplines. The law has struggled to adapt and for good reason: how does the law regulate this medium over the public/private law divide? This book engages with the legal implications of social media from both public and private law perspectives and outlines how the law has endeavoured to adapt the existing tools to social media. The expert contributors explore a range of ideas to investigate the intersection between law and social media and they provide an insight into the challenges the legal community currently face. This collection explores key topics such as public and private law implications, the gap between the lay and legal understandings of social media, the conflict of laws regarding social media and the individual rights associated with social media. This timely study of a complex and ever-changing area of law will be of interest to legal scholars, students and practitioners and will provide a valuable source of reference for those studying or researching media and journalism. Contributors include:R.D. Barnes, E. Garnier, L.E. Gillies, E. Harbinja, E.B. Laidlaw, D. Mac Síthigh, D. Mangan, A. Mills, A.D. Murray, J. Rowbottom, A. Scott, I. Walden, L. Woods, P. Wragg

Digital technology use, whether on smartphones, tablets, laptops, or other devices, is prevalent across cultures. Certain types and patterns of digital technology use have been associated with mental health concerns, but these technologies also have the potential to improve mental health through the gathering of information, by targeting interventions, and through delivery of care to remote areas. The Oxford Handbook of Digital Technologies and Mental Health provides a comprehensive and authoritative review of the relationships between mental health and digital technology use, including how such technologies may be harnessed to improve mental health. Understanding the positive and negative correlates of the use of digital technologies has significant personal and public health implications, and as such this volume explores in unparalleled depth the historical and cultural contexts in which technology use has evolved; conceptual issues surrounding digital technologies; potential positive and potential negative impacts of such use; treatment, assessment, and legal considerations around digital technologies and mental health; technology use in specific populations; the use of digital technologies to treat psychosocial disorders; and the treatment of problematic internet use and gaming. With chapters contributed by leading scientists from around the world, this Handbook will be of interest to those in medical and university settings, students and clinicians, and policymakers.

Required reading for anyone interested in the profound relationship between digital technology and societyDigital technology has become an undeniable facet of our social lives, defining our governments, communities, and personal identities. Yet with these technologies in ongoing evolution, it is difficult to gauge the full extent of their societal impact, leaving researchers and policy makers with the challenge of staying up-to-date on a field that is constantly in flux.The Oxford Handbook of Digital Technology and Society provides students, researchers, and practitioners across the technology and social science sectors with a comprehensive overview of the foundations for understanding the various relationships between digital technology and society. Combining robust computer-aided reviews of current literature from the UK Economic and Social Research Council's commissioned project "Ways of Being in a Digital Age" with newly commissioned chapters, this handbook illustrates the upcoming research questions and challenges facing the social sciences as they address the societal impacts of digital media and technologies across seven broad categories: citizenship and politics, communities and identities, communication and relationships, health and well-being, economy and sustainability, data and representation, and governance and security. Individual chapters feature important practical and ethical explorations into topics such as technology and the aging, digital literacies, work-home boundary, machines in the workforce, digital censorship and surveillance, big data governance and regulation, and technology in the public sector. The Oxford Handbook of Digital Technology and Society will equip readers with the necessary starting points and provocations in the field so that scholars and policy makers can effectively assess future research, practice, and policy.

In today's society, the power of someone's reputation, or influence, has been turned into a job: that of being a social media influencer. This role comes with promises, such as aspirational work, but is rife with challenges, given the controversy that often surrounds influencers. This is the first book on the regulation of social media influencers, that brings together legal, economic and ethical angles to further unveil the implications of influencer marketing. Thus far, influencers have been under scrutiny for not disclosing paid advertising, yet their activity has many more questionable implications. This edited volume combines insights from law, economics, ethics and communication science to reveal these implications and propose new ways in which public bodies, social media companies and citizens ought to relate to influencer marketing. Academics and students of Law, Economics, Ethics and Communication Science will find policy making insights in this collection. In addition, The Regulation of Social Media Influencerswill be essential reading for regulators. Contributors include:E. Apa, M. de Cock Bunning, S. de Jans, M. de Veirman, R. Ducato, I. Ebert, C. Fieseler, C. Goanta, L. Hudders, M. Leiser, M. Leszczynska, D. Mangan, G. Newlands, F. Pflücke, O. Pollicino, S. Ranchordás, D. Sindermann, E. van den Abeele, S. van der Hof, G. van Dijck, V. Verdoodt, I. Wildhaber

The proliferation of virtual and augmented reality technologies into society raise significant questions for judges, legal institutions, and policy makers. For example, when should activities that occur in virtual worlds, or virtual images that are projected into real space (that is, augmented reality), count as protected First Amendment 'speech'? When should they instead count as a nuisance or trespass? Under what circumstances would the copying of virtual images infringe intellectual property laws, or the output of intelligent virtual avatars be patentable inventions or works of authorship eligible for copyright? And when should a person (or computer) face legal consequences for allegedly harmful virtual acts? TheResearch Handbook on the Law of Virtual and Augmented Realityaddresses these questions and others, drawing upon free speech doctrine, criminal law, the law of data protection and privacy, and of jurisdiction, as well as upon potential legal rights for increasingly intelligent virtual avatars in VR worlds. The Handbook offers a comprehensive look at challenges to various legal doctrines raised by the emergence - and increasing use of - virtual and augmented reality worlds, and at how existing law in the USA, Europe, and other jurisdictions might apply to these emerging technologies, or evolve to address them. It also considers what legal questions about virtual and augmented reality are likely to be important, not just for judges and legal scholars, but also for the established businesses and start-ups that wish to make use of, and help shape, these important new technologies. This comprehensive Research Handbookwill be an invaluable reference to those looking to keep pace with the dynamic field of virtual and augmented reality, including students and researchers studying intellectual property law as well as legal practitioners, computer scientists, engineers, game designers, and business owners. Contributors include: W. Barfield, P.S. Berman, M.J. Blitz, S.J. Blodgett-Ford, J. Danaher, W. Erlank, J.A.T. Fairfield, J. Garon, G. Hallevy, B. Lewis, H.Y.F. Lim, C. Nwaneri, S.R. Peppet, M. Risch, A.L. Rossow, J. Russo, M. Supponen, A.M. Underhill, B.D. Wassom, A. Williams, G. Yadin

The book starts with an analysis of what is new in the Digital Services Act. The aim is to see whether this new Regulation is appropriate both for not halting technological innovation and for addressing the risks that technological innovation poses to society and to the people who use digital services. The focal point is the risk of discrimination as people are often helpless in the face of the potential discriminations in the digital services sector. In particular, the book analyses how the Digital Services Act can make a concrete contribution to the protection against discrimination. To this end, it focuses on the responsibility of digital service providers and the fact that discrimination may also depend on the way in which algorithms and artificial intelligence systems are used. Therefore, a comparison is made between the Digital Services Act and the proposed Artificial Intelligence Act. The comparison discloses that the risk-based approach is the common thread followed by the EU in regulating the digital market. The book elaborates also on the practical implications of the risk-based approach. Highlighting advantages and limitations leading the author to conclude that the risk-based approach is the way forward only if the differences between risk and danger, the limits of law, and the limits of the tendency to humanise artificial intelligence systems are considered. With specific reference to the risk of discrimination, the need for a systemic and multi-level approach is highlighted, which reinforces the contribution that can be made not only by the Digital Services Act, but also by more general and cross-cutting legislation as those on data protection and unfair commercial practices.  

The ever-evolving nature of electronic commerce and social media continues to challenge the capacity of the courts to respond to privacy and security violations in 'cyberlaw'. Social Media and Electronic Commerce Law is designed to provide students and legal practitioners with a thorough and engaging exploration of the laws, regulations and grey areas of commerce via online platforms. This new edition has been thoroughly revised to address changes in legislation and recent court judgments, and to reflect the dynamic sphere of social media. New chapters focus on internet and e-commerce law regarding social media, P2P file sharing, Cloud computing and workplace issues, with an emphasis on data security made particularly relevant by the proliferation of hacking incidents. Written in an accessible style, Social Media and Electronic Commerce Law investigates the challenges facing legal practitioners and commercial parties in this dynamic field, as well as the underlying legal theory that governs it.

There are multiple aspects of electronically-mediated communication that influence and have strong implications for legal practice. This volume focuses on three major aspects of mediated communication through social media. Part I examines social media and the legal community. It explores how this has influenced professional legal discourse and practice, contributing to the popularity of internet-based legal research, counselling and assistance through online services offering explanations of law, preparing documents, providing evidence, and even encouraging electronically mediated alternative dispute resolution. Part II looks at the use of social media for client empowerment. It examines how it has taken legal practice from a formal and distinct business to one that is publicly informative and accessible. Part III discusses the way forward, exploring the opportunities and challenges. Based on cases from legal practice in diverse jurisdictions, the book highlights key issues as well as implications for legal practitioners on the one hand, and clients on the other. The book will be a valuable reference for international scholars in law and other socio-legal studies, discourse analysis, and practitioners in legal and alternative dispute resolution contexts.

Social Media Law, Third Edition examines social and new media issues through the lens of law and policy. With the recent explosion in social networking and the use of social media and new media, it is essential for attorneys and law students to understand the trends in these new platforms when advising clients of the potential risks and pitfalls of social media and social networking use. In six comprehensive sections-copyright and fair use, freedom of speech, business law, in the court-room, privacy, and cybercrime-Social Media Law, Third Edition addresses the current and pressing issues in this dynamic area of law: privacy, anonymity, and accountability in the context of social networking, sources and privacy issues faced by journalists, the future of journalism and publishing in the context of new media, the intersection of social media and the First Amendment, social media issues in employment law, social media and education law, copyright and fair use in the context of new media, peer-to-peer file sharing, the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA), new media and its impact on mass communications laws, social media and litigation-from "tweeting" jurors (and jurors who "tweet") to messaging witnesses to "friending" judges, bloggers, user-created content, "citizen journalism," and the like, social media-related cybercrime and its prosecution, the intersection of social media law and new business models and implications on business law and contract law, virtual law practice and the role of social and new media in representing clients, specifically in the business of law practice and in issues of professionalism This new edition includes a wide range of recent court decisions and ethics opinions, offers revised discussion questions, and includes several new sections. Book jacket.

In this new textbook, social media professor Jeremy Lipschultz introduces students to the study of social media law and ethics, integrating legal concepts and ethical theories. The book explores free expression, as it applies to students, media industry professionals, content creators and audience members. Key issues and practices covered include copyright law, data privacy, revenge porn, defamation, government censorship, social media platform rules, and employer policies. Research techniques are also used to suggest future trends in social media law and ethics. Touching on themes and topics of significant contemporary relevance, this accessible textbook can be used in standalone law and ethics courses, as well as emerging social media courses that are disrupting traditional public relations, advertising and journalism curricula. Case studies, discussion questions, and online resources help students engage with the complexities and ambiguities of this future-oriented area of media law, making it an ideal textbook for students of media law, policy and ethics, mass media, and communication studies.

This open access monograph argues established democratic norms for freedom of expression should be implemented on the internet. Moderating policies of tech companies as Facebook, Twitter and Google have resulted in posts being removed on an industrial scale. While this moderation is often encouraged by governments - on the pretext that terrorism, bullying, pornography, "hate speech" and "fake news" will slowly disappear from the internet - it enables tech companies to censure our society. It is the social media companies who define what is blacklisted in their community standards. And given the dominance of social media in our information society, we run the risk of outsourcing the definition of our principles for discussion in the public domain to private companies. Instead of leaving it to social media companies only to take action, the authors argue democratic institutions should take an active role in moderating criminal content on the internet. To make this possible, tech companies should be analyzed whether they are approaching a monopoly. Antitrust legislation should be applied to bring those monopolies within democratic governmental oversight. Despite being in different stages in their lives, Anne Mette is in the startup phase of her research career, while Frederik is one of the most prolific philosophers in Denmark, the authors found each other in their concern about Free Speech on the internet. The book was originally published in Danish as Dit opslag er blevet fjernet - techgiganter & ytringsfrihed.