Skip to Main Content

MGA Capstone

Learning Objectives

  • Learn about subject databases in peace studies, in order to review the literature for capstone projects.
  • Learn about the subject headings used to describe works on peace, in order to find relevant publications.
  • Learn about the tools of citation tracking, in order to engage with the scholarly conversation.

Introductions

Warm-up

  • Write down one question and/or potential pain point on your mind related to getting your capstone project done
  • Write down your research topic(s)

Introductions

  • Name
  • Field placement
  • Research topic(s)

Finding the Peace Studies Subject Page & Library Guide

—Navigate to the "Peace Studies" subject page for links to key databases and the Library Guide

Find "Featured Resources"


—Navigate to the "Peace Studies" Library Guide

Getting a Handle on the Literature

It's possible that someone already has started your research for you! Bibliographies and overviews summarize the research on a topic and provide citations to the books, articles, and other resources that the scholar-author recommends as most important.
 

—Oxford Research Encyclopedias 

 

—Oxford Handbooks Online

A collection of the Oxford handbooks across many different subject areas. The Handbooks series is a valuable reference resource that contains articles by scholars at the top of their field.

Subject Databases

—SEARCHING "PEACE RESEARCH ABSTRACTS"

  • Filters: Linked full-text, peer reviewed, timeframe, source type, ALL FILTERS (e.g., subject) 
  • Results display: how many are visible at a time, sort by relevance or age 
  • Search options: Save search, create alert
  • Record options: Bookmark, cite, add to project, download, view linked subjects, access full text PDF


—Searching "SOCIAL SCIENCE DATABASE"

  • Modify the search --> Add a row --> Enter "Do Truth Commissions Really Improve Democracy" in Document Title field 

  • Note the option to view documents with shared references
  • Note that you can view a researcher's Orcid profile when the green circle ID icon indicates that is applicable
  • Note that you can search using the subject term(s) associated with this result
  • Note that you can include/exclude subjects using the filter on the left


—Searching "HARVARD THINK TANK"

  • Search for "violence AND Central American migrants"

  • Search for "violence AND Central American migrants AFTER:2021 BEFORE:2023"

Using the Library Catalog

  • Note the facets/filters on the left-hand side

  • Note the ability to save your search 
  • Where applicable, note the ability to see a list of the sources cited in a result and/or sources that cite a result 

  • Note that you can click the subject heading(s) to view results under those headings

  • Don't panic if a resource is not available! You have options!
     
    • Request it from the person who has it checked out currently (the patron who currently has the item checked out will receive a message asking for its return within 7 days; once the item is returned it will be held for you and you'll receive an email notification).
       
    • Make an interlibrary loan or document delivery request
       
    • Recommend that the library purchase an additional copy or different format of the resource 

Citation Tracking

—Using "Web of Science"

A similar product to Scopus, Web of Science keeps track of the articles published in the top ~20,000 journals. Its greatest strength is showing who has cited whom, which lets you unearth all the research on a given topic.

  • Click "related records" on the top result

  • Note the "quick filters" that appeared in the left-hand column
  • Note the variety of additional filters available to you!