Faculty are able to request curator-led sessions and visits for their classes, or may also teach their own class session in Rare Books and Special Collections, University Archives, or the Architecture Library's Ryan Rare Book Reading Room. Our Library Faculty regularly teach class sessions, select materials, and consult about relevant items in the collections.
If you already have a curatorial contact, please reach out to them directly about scheduling a class visit. If this is your first time, please contact the reading room you wish to visit:
Rare Books and Special Collections: rarebook@nd.edu
University Archives: archives@nd.edu
Architecture Library, Ryan Rare Book Reading Room: archlib@nd.edu
With your query, please include the following information:
Date of Visit:
Class Meeting Times:
Number of Students:
Course Name:
Primary Class Number:
Rare materials may be placed on course reserve in select reading rooms. Please contact your curatorial contact, or relevant reading room to begin the reserve process:
Rare Books and Special Collections: rarebook@nd.edu
University Archives: archives@nd.edu
With your query, please include the following information:
Course Name:
Number of Students:
Primary Class Number:
(The reading room will later need your class roster once the reserve is activated)
If students will be using rare materials independently from normal class times (e.g., reserves, assignments, research projects, etc.), they will need to use the Aeon system to schedule appointments and request materials. It is recommended to include a brief statement on your syllabus and provide the link to Aeon and the how-to guide.
Example:
Rare Books & Special Collections uses Aeon, an online registration and requesting system, to schedule appointments, consult rare materials reserves, and request rare materials. Please visit https://aeon.library.nd.edu/ to create your Aeon account (Please use your ND email address) and consult https://libguides.library.nd.edu/aeon/ for more information on using Aeon.