Resource Guide - HIST 30147 — Early Chinese Empires - Library Guides at University of Notre Dame

About

This course guide assists Professor Liang Cai's students in writing their final essay. It introduces

reference sources (Getting Started) that provide background information for students' topic(s) of interest
primary sources (Classical Chinese texts)
secondary sources (Finding Articles & Books) where students can find scholarly information that can be used to develop and support their theses.
how to cite sources

Getting Started

The Cambridge History of China
Volume 1: The Ch'in and Han Empires, 221 BC–AD 220
A biographical dictionary of the Qin, former Han and Xin periods, 221 BC - AD 24 (DS 747.38 .L64 2000)
..."about the 6,000 individual men and women known to us from China's formative first empires."
The men who governed Han China : companion to A biographical dictionary of the Qin, former Han and Xin periods
1. Surnames, given names, styles and titles -- The records from Yinwan and the administration of Donghai -- 3. The commandery and kingdom of Donghai -- 4. The first steps to office -- 5. The office of imperial counsellor (Yushi Dafu) and the case of Ni Kuan -- 6. Military titles and the command of the armed forces.
The Early Chinese Empires Qin and Han
Also available online. Introduction -- 1. The geography of empire -- 2. A state organized for war -- 3. The paradoxes of empire -- 4. Imperial cities -- 5. Rural society -- 6. The outer world -- 7. Kinship -- 8. Religion -- 9. Literature -- 10. Law -- Conclusion.
The bureaucracy of Han times
Also available online. Preface; 1. The Sources; 2. The Central Administration; 3. The Local Administration; 4. The Army; 5. The Salaries of the Officials; 6. Civil Service Recruitment; 8. Conclusion; Notes; Appendix; Quoted Literature; Index; Tables.

Classical Chinese Texts

English Translation

The Grand Scribe's Records, edited by William H. Nienhauser, Jr., is an ongoing project to produce the first complete English translation of Ssu-ma Ch ien's Shih chi. Of the eight volumes that have been published so far, only three are available in electronic format. For the volumes that are available only in print, refer to the table of contents/Google Preview to request a document delivery (pdf) of the pages you need.

Volume 1. The Basic Annals of Pre-Han China
Volume 2. The Basic Annals of the Han Dynasty (Google Preview)
Volume 5. The Hereditary Houses of Pre-Han China
Volume 7. The Memoirs of Pre-Han China
Volume 8. The Memoirs of Han China, Part I (Google Preview)
Volume 9. The Memoirs of Han China, Part II (ebook)
Volume 10. The Memoirs of Han China, Part III (ebook)
Volume 11. The Memoirs of Han China, Part IV (ebook)

Finding Articles & Books

Oxford bibliographies online. Chinese studies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on China across all disciplines. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Bibliography of Asian studies This link opens in a new window
Provides citations on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide since 1971 in western-language periodical articles, individually authored monographs (through 1991 only), chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, Festschriften, etc. Updated regularly.

JSTOR : Asian Studies
1. In "Search within Asian Studies," enter a search terms (lowercase) separated by AND (uppercase). E.g., "wang mang" AND reform
2. Add more search terms in the search box on the left (Search Within Results).
3. If necessary, narrow the search scope by Publication Date or Subject.
Cambridge Core
Enables cross-searching among journals and books published by Cambridge University Press. Click here to limit your search to "Asian Studies."
Hesburgh Libraries Online Catalog (ND Catalog)
ND Catalog lets you search the holdings of the Hesburgh Libraries, Kresge Law, and Holy Cross libraries' catalogs separately or together. It includes content from the University Archives, the Center for Research Libraries, and working papers from the Institute for Latino Studies.
WorldCat

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Duxiu This link opens in a new window
Duxiu.com is a full-text search engine/database which covers Chinese publications from the early 1930s to the present, including books, journals, newspapers, theses, web pages, conference proceedings, and video.

China academic journals full-text database
ND users can access Series F (Literature/History/Philosophy), G (Politics/Military Affairs/Law), H (Education and Social Science), and J (Economics and management)--published since 1915.

Chinamaxx Digital Libraries = Zhong wen ji xian This link opens in a new window
Chinamaxx Digital Libraries is a database of digitized versions of approximately 700,000 books, published in China from 1900 to 2014. The Hesburgh Libraries provide full-text access to approximately 220,000 volumes in seven categories: Art, History & Geography, Languages & Linguistics, Literature, Military Science, Philosophy & Religion, and Political Science & Law. To expand your search to all titles in the Chinamaxx database, check "Trial to ChinaMaxx" next to the search box.

Cite Sources

Used for: Arts, History, Literature, Sciences

Electronic Access: Chicago Manual of Style

Library copy: Hesburgh Library Reference Desk Z 253. U69 2010. Chicago Manual of Style. Printed 16th ed., 2010 (Other copies)

Notes and Bibliography: Sample Citations

Used for: Literature, Liberal Arts, Humanities

Electronic access: MLA Handbook

Quick Guide

In-Text Citations: The Basics
Formatting Quotations
Endnotes and Footnotes
Works Cited Page: Books
Works Cited Page: Periodicals
Works Cited: Electronic Sources (web publications)
Works Cited: Other Common Sources (interviews, speeches/lectures/conference proceedings, painting/sculpture/photograph, song/album, films/movies, television shows, podcasts, etc.)
Sample Works Cited Page
Sample Paper

Yale University Library's Quick Guide on Citation Style for Chinese, Japanese and Korean Sources
An overview of how to cite Chinese, Japanese and Korean sources using various style manuals, such as Chicago, MLA and APA.

RefWorks
Software to easily import or add citations. Create and store bibliographies automatically in chosen style format.

Need assistance with RefWorks?

Email er-acq-list@nd.edu

Free basic online citation managers, with limited functionality:

Mendeley, EasyBib, NoodleBib Express, Zotero, Bibme, Citation Machine

Having trouble choosing a citation manager?

Visit this Wikipedia article for comparisons.

HIST 30147 — Early Chinese Empires

Poli Sci and Peace Studies Librarian