Overview - POLS 30465 — Politics of China : From Mao to Now - Library Guides at University of Notre Dame

Getting Started

This guide assists Professor Karrie Koesel's students with their propaganda project.

Select 1 poster from the Keating Collection.
Pair the poster with 1 additional piece of propaganda (ideally more recent) found among the Recommended Sources for Research.

*For background information:

Mao Tse Tung Internet Archive : Quotations from Mao Tse Tung
Translation of the Quotations from Chairman Mao (毛主席语录), published in 1966.
Brill’s Encyclopedia of China (free trial until April 23)
Look up the names of people, the political campaigns, etc. that you come across. c.f.) Birkshire Encyclopedia of China (below)
Birkshire Encyclopedia of China
Look up the names of people, the political campaigns, etc. that you come across.
Oxford bibliographies online. Chinese studies

Keating Collection @ RBSC

The Keating Collection consists of posters, picture albums, magazines, pamphlets, and other ephemera (pins, badges, etc.), mostly from the Cultural Revolution (1966-1976) period. The collection is named after the donor Dennis M. Keating, Class of 1962, who has a bachelor's degree in Marketing from the University of Notre Dame.

During your visit to Rare Books and Special Collections (RBSC), you will be looking at some twenty posters out of more than 200 posters in the Keating Collection. You are welcome to visit RBSC again on your own to view these posters, as well as other posters and items that were not shown during the class visit. RBSC is open from 9am to 5pm (Monday-Friday, closed on Saturday and Sunday). (Email: rarebook@nd.edu | Tel: 574.631.0290)

Recommended Sources for Research

Online Propaganda Collections

Mao Era in Objects
This website, developed by the Faculty of Arts and Humanities at King's College London, introduces twenty-four different objects that were made, used, talked and written about during the Mao Era. Each object is accompanied by a set of primary sources that can be explored in conjunction with the particular object biography.
Gallery of Chinese propaganda posters
Online collection of propaganda posters of the International Institute of Social History, Amsterdam, and Stefan R. Landsberger (University of Amsterdam, Leiden University). Organized by major themes and events from the early Republican Era through the People's Republic of China.

State Media

People's Daily
An official newspaper of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of China. The Chinese edition is available at 人民日报 (1946-).
Global Times
A daily tabloid newspaper under the People's Daily. The Chinese edition is available at 环球时报 (1993-).
China Daily (Global Edition)
The national English-language newspaper.
Xinhuanet
The web portal for news and information services of Xinhua News Agency, the official state-run press agency of the People's Republic of China
Beijing Review
China's only national English weekly news magazine published in Beijing by the China International Publishing Group (CIPG). Past issues from the Maoist Revolutionary Era.
19th National Congress of the Communist Party of China
Posted on the official English-language communication platform of the State Council of the People’s Republic of China.
Embassy of the People's Republic of China in the United States of America
The official website of the US Embassy of the CCP.
CCTV.com
The predominate public television network in China.

Corporate and Independent Media

China Digital Times (CDT)
A California-based bilingual news website that covers multiple topics (politics, corruption, society, art, culture, economics). It also includes "leaked propaganda directives" and English translations of media and online dissent in China.
SinoInsider
A political risk consulting and research group located in NYC that provides general background and analysis of politics in China.
China Media Project : A project of the Journalism and Media Studies Center at The University of Hong Kong
An independent research project that tracks media in China from the Party lingo to Internet slang.
SupChina
News, education, and business services, provided by a New York-based independent digital media company.
Caixin Global
An English-language news & analysis platform of Caixin, a Beijing-based media group. This is a fee-based service. Some articles are available for free for registered users. See FAQ.
South China Morning Post
A Hong Kong-based English language newspaper, owned by Alibaba Group.

Citing Sources

Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.): Notes and Bibliography: Sample Citations
(Usage info: Licensed for 25 simultaneous users.)
* News or magazine article