漢達文庫. Database of early Chinese texts from the pre-Qin period to the Northern and Southern Dynasties
1. Oracular Inscriptions on Tortoise Shells and Bones
2. Excavated Wood/Bamboo and Silk Scripts
3. Bronze Inscriptions
4. Han and Pre-Han (pre-220 AD) Traditional Chinese Texts
5. Traditional Chinese Texts of Wei Jin and Northern and Southern Dynasties (220-589 AD)
6. Chinese Encyclopedias (Leishu) (forthcoming)
中國基本古籍庫. A full-text searchable database of 10,000 (12,500 editions) Chinese texts, from the pre-Qin Period to the Republican Period, that covers art, economics, history, literature, science, philosophy, military studies, etc. Four major sections, broken into multiple subcategories: Philosophy and Science (哲科--思想，宗教，政治，军事，科技，医学), History and Geography (史地--历史, 地理), Art and Literature (艺文--文学，艺术), and General Works (综合--体育，生活，术数， 其他).
1. Select "Ancient Classics."
2. Click "Login."
3. Click the first title, "中國基本古籍庫."
4. Remember to log out when finished. The X(退出) at the top right does not work. (a) Click the home icon (返回); (b) Click the 爱如生 Erudition banner (top left); (c) Click "Exit" (under login).
One simultaneous user
文淵閣四庫全書網絡版. Digital edition of the print edition, compiled between 1773-1782. Fully searchable by keyword, author, title, subject. A one-time download of the Siku Quanshu program is required.
中央硏究院漢籍電子文獻. Full-text databases, developed by Academia Sinica in Taiwan. Included are the Twenty-five Histories, Thirteen Classics, Essays of Statecrafts in Qing Period, Taiwan Documents and Local Gazetteers, Chinese novels and dramas, as well as Buddhist and Taoist texts and other ancient and modern texts. *Click 授權使用 to access the full content available for ND users.
中國哲學書電子化計劃. Includes various Chinese texts of philosophical, historical, or linguistic interest from the pre-Qin era through to the Han dynasty and beyond. English and modern Chinese translations are provided when copyright allows.
This database is a joint project by the Heidelberg Digital Humanities Unit, the Heidelberg Research Architecture (HRA), Taiwan’s Academia Sinica, and the University of Washington. It provides a single platform where one can search and view the resources from WoMag, Xiaobao, and the Funü zazhi . Its content includes image scans, advertising inserts, and illustrations. Its bilingual metadata (keywords and biographical information on editors, authors and individuals represented in illustrations and advertisements) makes the content accessible to non-Chinese speaking scholars.
點石齋畫報 = "Illustrated Lithographer." An illustrated magazine, produced in the late 19th century on a lithographic basis. This Bavarian State Library's copy is accessible on the Library's website or on the Virtual Shanghai platform.
Other sources for the North-China Daily News & Herald
Shen Bao 申报 (1872-1949), known in English as Shanghai News, was one of the first modern Chinese newspapers. The Shen Bao Digital Archive includes a complete run of this newspaper--256,000 issues. It is full-text searchable, and contains scanned images of original newspaper pages.
The People's Daily is an official newspaper of the Communist Party of China, through which the Party and the Central Government announce their respective policies and disseminate governmental, political, and economic messages to the public and the world.
Through the University's membership, ND users can (1) borrow from the CRL's collection of approximately five million newspapers, journals, books, pamphlets, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other resources from all world regions; (2) request purchases. Most of these services can be facilitated by the Interlibrary Loan Department when you submit requests using the ILL form. For further assistance, please contact the East Asian Studies Librarian.
- CRL Online Catalog (*The records will soon be available in the ND Catalog.)
- CRL China resource guide features some of the China-related resources at CRL, including the Communist Party material in microfilm, British intelligence files (1903-1950), U.S. and British government documents, news and press summaries, reprints of materials on land and agricultural problems in Taiwan, 1850-1980, etc.
- CRL Digital Collections CRL holdings (documents, newspapers, books, and journals) that have been digitized in response to member libraries’ requests for loan. Included are some Chinese, Japanese, and Korean publications. Click here to browse the China-related titles.
A digital preservation repository that includes over ten million volumes from partner library collections, digitized as part of the Google Books project, the Internet Archive project, or by individual partner libraries. The HathiTrust collection is full-text searchable, and includes about two million volumes in the public domain that may be viewed online. Public domain titles are also searchable in the ND Catalog. Notre Dame students, faculty and staff can download them as complete ebooks in pdf.
- Chinese language titles in HathiTrust
- HathiTrust FAQ for Notre Dame users: How do I download an ebook?
A collection of Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) that provides a selection of the British Foreign Office and United States consular and diplomatic records that constitute a political and social history of Western interaction with a number of Asian countries (China, Japan, Korea, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, etc.) during the nineteenth century. Also, included are missionary correspondence and journals.
中国海关近代史研究项目. This website, hosted by the University of Bristol, provides rare historical documents, data sets, and scholarly publications related to the Chinese Maritime Customs Service (1854-1949), including a catalog of the 55,000 records of the Chinese Maritime Customs Service (CMCS) archives held at the Second Historical Archives of China in Nanjing.
Publications from the Church Missionary Society (CMS), the South American Missionary Society and the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society (CEZMS) that were working in African countries, the Mediterranean, the Middle East, Asia, Oceania and the Americas between 1804 and 2009.
This digital collection makes available all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980. Allows access to eye-witness accounts, weekly and monthly summaries, annual reviews, reports and analyses, economic assessments, synopses on Chinese personalities, and much more.
This digital collection reviews U.S.-China relations in the post-Cold War Era, and analyzes the significance of the 1989 Tiananmen Square demonstrations, China's human rights issues, and resumption of World Bank loans to China in July 1990. Part of Archives Unbound.
Harvard Business School's Baker Library Collection that includes: 1. The business correspondence, financial records, shipping papers, and invoices, as well as personal letters, diaries, and journals of the Heard Family of Ipswich, Massachusetts from 1840 to 1877; 2. Business records of merchant firms located in China; 3. Personal papers of American traders. Also provides a bibliography, and a guide to related collections.
An open access research and resource platform on the history of Shanghai from the mid-nineteenth century to nowadays. It incorporates four sets of documents: essays, original documents, photographs, and maps. The objective of the project is to write a history of the city through the combined mobilization of these various types of documents. The implementation of this approach relies on the use of NTIC and GIS technologies.
This is a website devoted to the foreign policy of the People's Republic of China. It has a timeline of major events on the subject and a collection of over 1,000 documents related to the different events.
A catalog of historical Chinese films, provided by Institute of Asian Studies (IrAsia). For most films, information includes plot summary in English. Many films are in the public domain and accessible through the site.
Hong Kong Baptist University's collection of 166 hand-tinted glass lantern slides, 53 glass plate negatives and 6 plastic negatives. Includes images of portraits, landscapes, scenery and architecture in China as well as shots documenting the social conditions and economic activities of the Chinese from the 1900s to the 1930s.
Mass education materials published in Hong Kong and in Mainland China, particularly Shanghai, in the years 1947-1954. These cartoon books, pamphlets, postcards and magazines, on topics such as foreign threats to Chinese security, Chinese relations with the Soviet Union, industrial and agricultural production, and marriage reform, were produced by both Kuomintang (Nationalist) and Gongchantang (Communist) supporters.
A database of Chinese posters from the collections of Professor Stefan Landsberger, the International Institute of Social History (IISH, Amsterdam, Netherlands), and anonymous private collectors. Suggested themes:
- Iron Women, Foxy Ladies
- Models and Martyrs
Postcard/photograph repositories of Japan, China, Taiwan and Korea, compiled and annotated by Professor Paul D. Barclay, Associate Professor of History, and General Editor of the East Asia Image Collection (http://digital.lafayette.edu/collections/eastasia) at Lafayette College.
An online photo exhibition, hosted by CrossAsia (Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin = The Berlin State Library). Exhibited are photographs from Chongqing and Chengdu that document the travels of Fritz Weiss, German consul in China, and Hedwig Weiss-Sonnenburg, a travel writer and the author of children’s books Chengdu.
An open-access image resource, developed as a University of Bristol Department of Historical Studies project. Included are digitized images of photographs of China taken between 1850 and 1950 from several collections--in particular from Historical Photographs of China, the Sir Robert Hart Collection, and Joseph Needham's Photographs of Wartime China--and from Google Books.