Skip to main content

Dante at Notre Dame

library resources for the study of Dante

The Zahm Dante Collection

The Zahm Dante Collection ranks among the top Dante collections in North America. Purchased for the most part by John A. Zahm, C.S.C., in 1902, the 15th- and 16th-century imprints form the heart of the Libraries' Dante collection. Historical volumes from this collection may be accessed by any student or researcher within the Department of Rare Books and Special Collections.

Endowments allow the Libraries to add continuously to collections regarding Dante and the history of Italian literature. Particular strengths of the collection are: 

  • History of the language and historical dictionaries
  • Translations of Dante's works and cultural impact
  • Historical criticism, commentaries and interpretations 
  • Illustrated editions and contemporary artists' books 
  • Manuscript facsimiles 

To recommend a library acquisition pertinent to Dante studies, please submit a recommendation form.

Devers Program in Dante Studies

The William & Katherine Devers Program in Dante Studies promotes the study of Dante through a vibrant and diverse program of research activity and scholarly collaboration. The program supports: 

  • Rare book acquisition on behalf of the Zahm Dante Collection
  • Publication of new scholarship through the Devers Series 
  • Grants for Notre Dame students or faculty for research or conference travel
  • Grants for external students and researchers to utilize Notre Dame's collections and resources
  • Events celebrating Dante and promoting new scholarship