This page has been created in response to recent and ongoing removal of federal datasets, websites, and other digital resources. It is a work in progress and will be updated as new archives and repositories are surfaced. Please reach out to us if you need assistance in locating data or if you know of a resource that you think should be included. Many of the resources linked here have been gathered through the efforts of the Data Rescue Project (https://www.datarescueproject.org/about-data-rescue-project/).
While many of the sources below are easy to search and use, some -- especially the mirrored datasets -- will be more complicated to access. Please reach out to us (hl-research-data-
Last Updated: 2025-03-31
A growing list of alternative sources for finding federal data, including data that may still be available on federal government agency sites or data.gov.
Key Resource: Data Rescue Project's Data Rescue Tracker
Looking for a particular dataset? Thanks to the efforts of the Data Rescue Project, you can search this convenient convenient tracker by clicking on "Backups list" on the link above. The Baserow table lists datasets that have been rescued and provides links to their archival locations in the "Backup location" column. You can also sort or filter by agency or organization.
CDC Datasets Available on the Internet Archive
An archive of all CDC datasets uploaded to https://data.cdc.gov/browse before January 28th, 2025. Excludes corrupt datasets and data not publicly accessible.
“DataLumos is an ICPSR [Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research] archive for valuable government data resources. ICPSR has a long commitment to safekeeping and disseminating US government and other social science data. DataLumos accepts deposits of public data resources from the community and recommendations of public data resources that ICPSR itself might add to DataLumos.”
Harvard's Library Innovation Lab Team's Data.gov Archive
“The 16TB collection includes over 311,000 datasets harvested during 2024 and 2025, a complete archive of federal public datasets linked by data.gov. It will be updated daily as new datasets are added to data.gov.”
UC Santa Barbara "publicdata" git Server
Mirrored copies of data from federal agencies including CDC, Department of Education, NIH, and NOAA.
Climate and Economic Justice Screening Tool
This is Version 2 of the Climate and Economic Justice Screening Tool, released by the Council on Environmental Quality in December 2024. Although the tool remains unchanged, public access through the White House was discontinued on January 22, 2025. It has been recreated and re-posted online by Jonathan Gilmour, a data scientist at Harvard University’s T. H. Chan School of Public Health.
CDC Social Vulnerability Index and Environmental Justice Index
GitHub access to both indices, plus Harvard Dataverse deposit of data from Social Vulnerability Index (2022, 2020, 2018, 2016, 2014, 2010, 2000). Provided by the Public Environmental Data Partners
Harvard's Climate Change and Health Research Coordinating Center (CAFE) Collection
Harvard Dataverse deposits including data from a number of federal agencies. “The purpose of this sub-collection is to store critical climate and health datasets accessible at various locations in one place. Because these datasets are extracted with minimal modification, complete metadata that notes where appropriate citation data can be found is especially important to note.”
Access to U.S. survey products, including ACS, Current Population Survey microdata and Decennial Census data. "IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge."
“Census Reporter is an independent project to make it easier for journalists to write stories using information from the U.S. Census bureau.”
“Welcome to FRED, Federal Reserve Economic Data. Your trusted source for economic data since 1991.”
Lead by the Data Refuge Project of the University of Pennsylvania. “The Climate Mirror Project is trying to mirror and safely archive U.S. Govt. websites and datasets related to climate, climate change, and global warming.”
A list of library-licensed databases where you can access, explore, or visualize federal datasets. Note that these are not resources created in response to recent changes in federal data availability; we have made these resources available to the campus community for a number of years.
A list of sources for government webpages that have disappeared or changed during the administration transition.
The End of Term (EOT) Web Archive
“The End of Term Web Archive captures and saves U.S. Government websites at the end of presidential administrations. The EOT has thus far preserved websites from administration changes in 2008, 2012, 2016, and 2020. We are currently accepting URL nominations for the End of Term 2024 Web Archive.”
Tool created by Jerome Paulos to show side-by-side changes in government websites, using the Internet Archive’s crawls.
The Internet Archive's Wayback Machine
“Explore more than 916 billion web pages saved over time”
Archived White House website of the Biden Administration
From the Joseph R. Biden Jr. Presidential Library: “The official files that make up a Presidential administration's website are preserved in the National Archives’ Executive Office of the President Electronic Records Archive. In order for the public to easily access the websites, the National Archives has taken an additional step to "freeze" the websites and make them available online. Because the archived websites are hosted by the National Archives and are historical material, they are no longer updated. Any broken links (internal or external) will not be updated.”
U.S. Government Information: Weekly Roundup
From UC San Diego Library. "This page is an attempt to provide current awareness of federal government reports and activities. The page will be updated weekly to provide links to important, newsworthy, or interesting material published during the previous week."
From Columbia Law School. "The Silencing Science Tracker is a joint initiative of the Sabin Center for Climate Change Law and the Climate Science Legal Defense Fund. It tracks government attempts to restrict or prohibit scientific research, education or discussion, or the publication or use of scientific information, since the November 2016 election."
United States Disappeared Tracker
Dashboard displaying data on persons brought into ICE custody since March 2025.
Environmental Data & Governance Initiative (EDGI) Toxic Docs
Repository of EPA disclosures obtained through FOIA requests.
A collaborative non-profit news site that tracks and shares public records requests.
Office of the Federal Register Executive Orders archive
Archive of Executive orders (EOs) since 1937, available as a batch download, by president, or by year. Made available by the Federal Register, the official journal of the federal government of the United States.
"This is a sub that aims at bringing data hoarders together to share their passion with like minded people."
You may find additional resources, including articles on data rescue efforts, at the following guides from other universities:
Some language here was taken, gratefully, from these guides.
