Library Guides: Futuring: Anticipating Change and Envisioning Strategic Opportunities (Michel): Data Resources

Numerical Data Resources

Statista
- Data and statistics on thousands of topics including market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
- Contains citations for further research—look at Source, Source link, and Details tabs
World Databank
- Database containing international data aggregated by the United Nations.
- Contains demographic information for countries in addition to economic development indicators measuring the performance of countries across a variety of categories.
Sage Data (was Data Planet Statistical Datasets)
- More than 5.3 billion data points from licensed and public domain datasets within an easy-to-use interface. See the Data-Planet Statistical Datasets Quick Reference Guide for more guidance.
- Browse Data by Subject or Source and then drill down to select datasets + indicators/variables.
Datasets and Statistics Guide
- Repository of resources for data and statistics organized by general topic area.

Google Advanced Search
- Add site:.gov to a search (e.g., fracking site:.gov).
- Add filetype:xls to search words (e.g., transportation china filetype:xls)
BCC Research
Select MEMBER LOGIN at top right, and click IP AUTHENTICATE to access ND's subscription.
- Provides access to market research reports on emerging technology markets such as advanced materials, biotechnology, chemicals, energy, healthcare, sensors, plastics, internet of things (IoT), and nanotechnology.
Frost & Sullivan Research Services
- Provides access to reports and market trends encompassing various technology, energy, and manufacturing-related fields.
Mintel Academic
Read and acknowledge the Permissions and Prohibitions to access the database.
- Provides access to reports about popular consumer trends, with daily updates on the latest issues affecting key consumer markets and the economy. Market data includes size, segmentation and forecasts.
PitchBook
- Provides access to company profiles, private equity, and venture capital data.
- Provides access to a research library of market reports covering market areas that are trending in the venture capital and private equity space.
IBISWorld
- Provides access to industry reports covering industry performance and outlook, competitive landscape (including market share concentration), regulatory environment, major companies, operational conditions, SWOT analysis, and key statistics.

National Center for Education Statistcs (NCES)
Provides access to large historical datasets gathered by the United States Department of Education.

World Databank
Provides access to data and visualization on a variety of topics impacting the global community.
OECD.Stat
Data on the economic, social and demographic structure of OECD member countries.

CMIE Consumer Pyramids Dx
Dataset documenting the results of a large-scale survey of consumer behavior in India.
- Requires registration. Go here to register for an account.
- Once registered, go to CMIE Consumer Pyramids Dx and Login to access the data.

CEIC Data
Licensed for 10 simultaneous users.
Contains macro economic data for Asian countries and some non-Asian countries covering topics including national accounts, production and productivity, sales, orders, inventories and shipments, construction and properties, government finance and debt, labour market, consumer, inflation, monetary, interest rates and FOREX, investment, price, tourism, economic surveys, transport and telecommunication, financial and capital market etc.
Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS)
Provides data on the value of merchandise exports and imports by trade partners, area, and world aggregates showing trade flows between major world geographies. Data dates back to 1980 covering about 180 countries and regions.