Library Guides: German Language and Literature: Scholarly Articles and Books

Article Databases

Databases are multidisciplinary collections of scholarly resources. Most databases gather links to and citations for scholarly articles, although some contain additional information on books and other resources.

Digi20
A full-text database of over 4,700 recent titles in the humanities and social sciences from Vandenhoeck & Ruprecht, Wilhelm Fink/ Ferdinand Schöningh and Otto Sagner. A second phase will add ca. 1,750 additional titles. The database is browseable or searchable.

Literary reference center plus This link opens in a new window
Provides relevant information on authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Includes full-text resources focusing on plays/drama, poetry, religious literature and children's literature. Also includes volumes of fantasy/science fiction, contemporary literature, world philosophy and religious literature, and literary study guides covering American Literature, English Literature and literary genres.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library for scholars, researchers, and students. Contains digitized current and many back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Literature resource center This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical, bibliographical, and critical content on literary figures from all time periods; draws on Gale Group's Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography; selected full text from Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism; includes full text articles from numerous literary journals and periodicals.
MagillOnLiterature This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete contents of 31 sets of reference books, including nearly 20 Masterplots and Masterplots II titles, the Cyclopedia of world authors, the Cyclopedia of literary characters, as well as 10 years of Magill's literary annual and Magill book reviews.
Periodicals archive online This link opens in a new window
Full text searchable journal collection of 350+ periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences (a subset of Periodicals index online). See Periodicals index online for more extensive indexing and links to selected full text articles.
Kritisches Lexikon zur deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur (KLG) This link opens in a new window
Reference database for contemporary German-speaking authors

Books

These resources will help you find e-books and print held by Notre Dame, other local libraries, or books held at other libraries worldwide.

buchhandel.de (German books in print)
Detailed information on all in-print titles from the German-speaking countries.

Center for Research Libraries catalog This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to over 500,000 bibliographic records representing CRL's scholarly research resources.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A digital repository for the nation's great research libraries that brings together the immense collections of its partner institutions. It was initially conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California system, and the University of Virginia to establish a repository for those universities to archive and share their digitized collections, and quickly expanded to include additional partners with fast growing treasure of digitized collections.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
A worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 OCLC member institutions. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.

Zentrales Verzeichnis antiquarischer Bücher
Millions of antiquarian books on offer from over 1500 antiquarian book dealers all over the world.

Bibliographies

Bibliographies collect publication information for books, articles, and other resources on a particular subject. Some include annotations with additional details about the publications' contents. They have a narrower focus, covering a topic, movement, person, geographic location, or era.

Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft
The BDSL provides free access to citations from 1985 to ten years prior to the current reporting year. On the average, 15,000 entries are annually added from monographs, omnibus volumes, journals, newspapers and reviews of primary literature. For current citations, consult the paper holdings in Hesburgh Library at PT 85 .B53.

Essay and general literature index This link opens in a new window
Indexes essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Areas covered include the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film. Usage info: Licensed for 4 simultaneous users.
Film index international This link opens in a new window
FII is a searchable database covering "entertainment films and personalities. Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute (bfi) it is based on the Summary of Film and Television (SIFT) database collated by the bfi over the past 70 years... includes coverage of international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists."--About.
MLA international bibliography (EBSCO platform) This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
Periodicals index online This link opens in a new window
Index to millions of articles in over 4,500 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences published beginning 1770 or subsequently; scope is worldwide, covering major Western languages. Complete PCI Index, including links to selected full text articles. Only the index is searchable.
Stefan Zweig bibliography This link opens in a new window
A continuously updated online bibliography of works by and about the author Stefan Zweig.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1900-
"... accesses multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. The databases are indexed so you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work."--Tutorial screen.

Theses and Dissertations

These resources will help you find unpublished theses and dissertations, which present an author's research and findings as part of their degree candidacy or professional qualification.

Austrian Dissertations
The Österreichische Dissertationsdatenbank, a listing of Austrian dissertations since 1990 provided by the Österreichischer Bibliothekenverbund.
German Dissertations
A collection of links to German dissertations available in digital format.
Dissertation abstracts online (see Dissertations and theses)