ENGL 94513 — The Irish Seminar (McCrea)

 

 

This library guide has information on the books and other items you will see in the tour of Hesburgh Special Collections on Thursday, June 17th.

Links are included where further information is available on items or collections.

 

The following is a list of the very small selection from the Hesburgh Libraries Special Collection on display during this virtual tour.

 

1. Pictures and Illustrations

 

• Hibernia regnum vulgo Ireland / apud Joannem Jansonium.  Amstelodami: Joannem Jansonium,[1659]. 1 map: engraved, hand color; 39 x 51 cm, on sheet 44 x 56 cm  Information on Map collection: https://rarebooks.library.nd.edu/collections/irish_studies/maps.shtml
• Supplement given away with the Weekly Freeman. Dublin: Freeman's Journal, 1886-1887. [See also: Blogpost]
• Edgeworth Family Drawing Album. [See also: Blogpost]
• Malton, James. A picturesque & descriptive view of the city of Dublin ... : most interesting scenes taken in the year 1791; with a brief authentic history from the earliest accounts to the present.  London: James Malton, 1799.

2. Early Printed Books

 

• The Bedell Bible

Leabhuir na Seintiomna / ar na ttarruing go Gaidhlig tre chúram [agus] dhúthra[chd] an Doctúir Uilliam Bedel, roimhe so Easbug Chille Móire a Néirin[n], agus anois ar na ccur a ccló chum maithios p[ui]blidhe na tíresin = The books of the Old Testament translated into Irish by the care and diligence of Doctor William Bedell, Late Bishop of Kilmore in Ireland, and, for the publick good of that nation. --    Printed at London:   [S.n.],   Anno Dom. MDCLXXXV [1685]

 

• Incunable -- a very early printed book

Questiones subtilissme Scoti in metaphysicam Aristotelis : eiusdem De primo rerum principio tractatus : atq[ue] theoremata. --  Impressa Uenetijs: Mandato [et] expe[n]sis nobilis viri Domini Octauiani Scoti ciuis Modoetiensis per Bonetum Locatellu[m] Bergome[n]sem,  1497 duo decimo kalendas Decembris. Edited by Mauritius HIbernicus (Maurice O'Fihely).

 

• Stanihurst on Ireland

Ricardi Stanihursti Dubliniensis: De Rebus in Hibernia Gestis, libri quattuor / ad carissimum suum fratrem, clarissimumque virum, P. Plunketum, Dominum Baronem Dunasniae; Accessit his libris Hibernicarum rerum appendix, ex Silvestro Giraldo Cambrensi peruetusto scriptore collecta; cum elusdem Stanihursti adnotationibus; omnia numc primum in lucem edita. Antverpiae: Apud Christophorum Plantinum, 1584.

 

3. The Irish Fiction Collection

 

• Roche, Regina Maria, Contrast.. London: A.K. Newman, 1828.
• Praeger, S. Rosamond. The Adventures of the Three Bold Babes London: Longmans, 1897.
• Meade, L. T., The Odds and the Evens. With ten illustrations by Percy Terrant. London: W. & R. Chambers, 1899.
• Parkinson, Siobhán. Bruised. London: Hodder, 2011.
• Jeffers, Oliver. Lost and Found. London: HarperCollins, 2005.
• Ní Dhuibhne, Éilís. The Dancers Dancing. Belfast: Blackstaff, 2007.
• McCabe, Pat. Carn. London: Picador, 1993.
• McGahern, John. The Leavetaking. London: Faber, 1984.
• Johnston, Jennifer. The Invisible Worm. London: Penguin, 1992.
• Enright, Anne. The Portable Virgin. London: Vintage, 2007.

For Northern Ireland fiction in our collection, see this list.

 

4. Joyce / Yeats / Wilde

• Joyce, James. Ulysses. Paris: Shakespeare & Company, 1922. First edition; Slocum and Cahoon, 17  "This edition is limited to 1000 copies ... 750 copies on handmade paper numbered from 251 to 1000. No. 742.
• Protest against Mr. Roth's conduct in republishing Ulysses (Broadside). Paris, 1927.
• Yeats, W. B. Easter, 1916. London: Privately printed by Clement Shorter, 1916.
• Wilde, Oscar. The Happy Prince, and Other Tales. Illustrated by Walter Crane and Jacomb Hood. London: David Nutt, 1888. See also: Blogpost

 

5. The O'Neill Collection

• O'Neill, Francis. O'Neill's Music of Ireland: Eighteen hundred and fifty melodies: Airs, jigs, reels, hornpipes, long dances, marches etc. many of which are now published for the first time. Collected from all available sources and edited by Capt. Francis O'Neill; arranged by James O'Neill. Chicago: Lyon & Healy, 1903.
• Bunting, Edward. New Edition of a General Collection of the Ancient Irish Music. Dublin: Willis, undated. [See the following for more information on this edition: Edward Bunting's First Published Collection of Irish Music, 1797] 

 

6. Scholars' Research Collections

• Berkeley, George. A Treatise concerning the principles of human knowledge: Wherein the chief causes of error and difficulty in the sciences, with the grounds of scepticism, atheism, and irreligion, are inquired into. First printed in the year 1710. To which are added The Three Dialogues between Hylas and Philonous, in opposition to scepticks and atheists. First printed in the year 1713 / Both written by George Berkeley. London: Jacob Tonson, 1734.
• Berkeley, George Three Dialogues .between Hylas and Philonous: In Opposition to Sceptics and Atheists. London, 1778.
• Berkeley, George. A Treatise Concerning the Principles of Human Knowledge: Part I: Wherein the chief Cuases of Error and difficulty in the Sciences, wht the Grounds of Scepticism Atheism, and Irreligion, are Inquir-d into. Dublin: Aaron Rhames for Jeremy Pepyat, 1710.
• Charabanc Theatre Collection (Archival collection) MSE/IR 1060

 

7. Pamphlets and Ephemera

• Nash, R. Just a Few Lines to Girls in Service. Office of the :"Irisih Messenger" .
• Dignan, J. Catholics and Trinity College. Catholic Truth Society of Ireland.
• Ardrigh: For his Mother's Sake. The Chapel of the Dying Spaniard. A Tale of Tirconaill. Catholic Truth Society of Ireland.
• Northern Ireland Civil Rights Association: Proposals for Peace: Democracy and Community Reconciliation. Belfast: N.I.C.R.A., 1973.