Resource Guide - KSGA 13181 — Soc Science University Seminar (Yoon): Contemporary Korean Culture - Library Guides at University of Notre Dame

About

This course guide for Professor Sharon Yoon's Social Science University Seminar : Contemporary Korean Culture, is for students writing their research paper.

Getting Started

Use the following sources to look for background information related to your topic of interest.

Encyclopedia, Dictionaries, Bibliographies

Oxford bibliographies online This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on many subjects. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Brings together digitized entries from Oxford's Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, spanning multiple subject areas.
Gale ebooks This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of many reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias.

Current Events

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of more than 17,000 news, business, and legal sources. Includes today's papers. Text only; no illustrations. You can pre-select sources in Advanced Search.

Major daily newspapers, published in Korean ⏐ English

English-language newspapers

The Korea Herald
"The Korea Herald is a daily English-language newspaper founded in 1953 and published in Seoul, South Korea. The editorial staff is composed of Korean and international writers and editors, with additional news coverage drawn from international news agencies such as the Associated Press." --Wikipedia
The Korea Times
"The Korea Times is the oldest English-language newspapers published daily in South Korea. It is a sister paper of the Hankook Ilbo, a major Korean language daily." --Wikipedia

Finding Academic Sources (Articles & Books)

Use the following databases to look for scholarly articles and books on your topic. Some of these databases provide only the citations, which means you will have to take additional steps to gain access to the fulltext of the articles and the books. Email the East Asian Studies Librarian (hjuhn@nd.edu) if you encounter any challenges in gaining access.

[EBSCO] Bibliography of Asian studies
Provides citations on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide since 1971 in western-language periodical articles, individually authored monographs (through 1991 only), chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, Festschriften, etc. Updated regularly.
JSTOR : Asian Studies
1. In "Search within Asian Studies," enter a search terms (lowercase) separated by AND (uppercase). E.g., korea AND women AND christ
2. Add more search terms in the search box on the left (Search Within Results).
3. If necessary, narrow the search scope by Publication Date or Subject.
Cambridge Core
Enables cross-searching among journals and books published by Cambridge University Press. Click here to limit your search to "Asian Studies."
WorldCat

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window

Citing Sources

Used for: Literature, Liberal Arts, Humanities

Library copy: Hesburgh Library Reference Desk LB 2369 .G53 2016. MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Printed 8th ed., 2016.

Quick Guide

In-Text Citations: The Basics
Formatting Quotations
Endnotes and Footnotes
Works Cited Page: Books
Works Cited Page: Periodicals
Works Cited: Electronic Sources (web publications)
Works Cited: Other Common Sources (interviews, speeches/lectures/conference proceedings, painting/sculpture/photograph, song/album, films/movies, television shows, podcasts, etc.)
Sample Works Cited Page
Sample Paper

Used for: Arts, History, Literature, Sciences

Electronic Access: Chicago Manual of Style

Library copy: Hesburgh Library Reference Desk Z 253. U69 2010. Chicago Manual of Style. Printed 16th ed., 2010 (Other copies)

Notes and Bibliography: Sample Citations

Yale University Library's Quick Guide on Citation Style for Chinese, Japanese and Korean Sources
An overview of how to cite Chinese, Japanese and Korean sources using various style manuals, such as Chicago, MLA and APA.

RefWorks
Software to easily import or add citations. Create and store bibliographies automatically in chosen style format.

Need assistance with RefWorks?

Email er-acq-list@nd.edu

Free basic online citation managers, with limited functionality:

Mendeley, EasyBib, NoodleBib Express, Zotero, Bibme, Citation Machine

Having trouble choosing a citation manager?

Visit this Wikipedia article for comparisons.

KSGA 13181 — Soc Science University Seminar (Yoon): Contemporary Korean Culture

Poli Sci and Peace Studies Librarian