Market Reports and Data - MBA 70510 - Marketing Research (Hartman) - Library Guides at University of Notre Dame

Overview

Resources on this page will cover information concerning the market, brands, and consumer preferences/behavior. Recommended databases will either provide written reports relating to market research, or they will provide quantitative data which is generally used by market analysts in the authorship of market research reports.

Many market research analysts make use of surveys to make claims concerning consumer behavior. Some of the market reports recommended here will include the survey data which was used in the composition of the report. These may be useful in finding good examples of survey methodologies in the event you need to create your own.

It is important to approach these resources with some flexibility. You may want to find a specific data point which does not exist. If this happens, consider finding a proxy metric or something that could be used to create an estimate for the overall point you are seeking to make.

Market Reports

Mintel Academic
Read and acknowledge the Permissions and Prohibitions to access the database.
Provides access to reports about popular consumer trends, with daily updates on the latest issues affecting key consumer markets and the economy. Market data includes size, segmentation and forecasts. Major reports will provide survey data access through the databook option in the report.
Technavio
Provides over 17,000 marketing research reports over 100 industry segments and over 800 niche and emerging technologies.
Passport (Euromonitor International)
You must accept the Terms and Conditions to access the database.
Provides access to demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 200+ countries worldwide. Contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts.

Data

The following resources will provide quantitative data on a variety of topics. Market research generally makes best use of data relating to demographic information (income, education levels, race/ethnicity, population, etc) in addition to various other more topic specific data points.

Statista
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on a variety of topics.
Sage Data (formerly Data Planet Statistical Datasets)
Provides access to statistical data on a wide range of topics produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.
American Time Use Survey
Provides data and publications on how American's spend their time. Based on an annual survey conducted by the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Consumer Expenditure Survey
Provides access to data tables for the Bureau of Labor Statistics' Consumer Expenditure Survey documenting the expenses of the American consumer. Most current data is from the 2021 survey.
SBRNet (Sports Business Research Network featuring Sports Market Analytics)
Provides access to news and market research from the National Sporting Goods Association and other industry sources on all aspects of sporting goods, sports equipment, participation, broadcasting and marketing.
SimplyAnalytics
Select "Sign in as a guest" if you do not want to create an account. Create an account if you wish to save your work. Licensed for 5 simultaneous users.
A mapping application for creating professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the U.S.
Vivvix (was Advertising Insights, was Ad$pender)
Monitors advertising expenditures and occurrence information for millions of brands across 18 media formats. View expenditure information by category, parent company, subsidiary and brand.

Academic Research

There are a few databases available which provide access to more academic scientific studies concerning marketing issues and consumer behaviors. These databases generally focus on the field of psychology. Depending on how you search them, you may find studies which show the science behind many common advertising practice. One example is how the use of color in advertising impacts the viewers of said advertisement.

These types of publications differ greatly from those listed in other sections of this guide as academic publication practices generally make for more highly specialized and esoteric writing.

PsycInfo
A leading database for the academic study of Psychology. Maintains a collection of literature analyzing the behavior of people in the context of products, marketing campaigns, and various design elements which could impact the creation of a product.
Web of Science
Provides access to scholarly research spanning various disciplines of science. Contains some articles relevant to business, marketing, psychology, and human behavior.

MBA 70510 - Marketing Research (Hartman)

Need help? Ask a Business Librarian!

Librarians

Overview

Market Reports

Data

Academic Research