Skip to main content

LLEA 33848 / ASIA 33848 - Modern Chinese Literature

About

This course guide assists the students of Modern Chinese Literature taught by Professor Michel Hockx and Professor Xian Wang in writing their final research paper during the Covid-19 lockdown.

Getting Started

A bibliographic citation provides relevant information about the author and publication as well as a short summary of the text, usually known as the abstract. Depending on where you find your information, the bibliographic citation will vary.

Before you spend a lot of time reading a source, begin by looking at the following information in the citation to evaluate whether it's worth pursuing. Consider the author, the title of the work, the summary, where it is (e.g., a book, an academic journal, a blog, a social media site), and the timeliness of the entry. You may also want to look at the keywords to see what other categories the work falls into. Evaluate this information to see if it is relevant and valid for your research.

--"Evaluating Bibliographic Citations," Purdue Online Writing Lab

English Translations of Chinese Literature

A selection of electronic books currently available to ND users. Use the Find (Ctrl+F) function to search for the author that you are interested in.

Anthologies

Goldblatt, Howard. Chairman Mao Would Not Be Amused : Fiction from Today's China. New York: Grove Press : [Distributed by Publishers Group West], 1995. Internet Archive

  • First person / Shi Tiesheng -- Field / Hong Ying -- Brothers Shu / Su Tong -- String of choices / Wang Meng -- Sham marriage / Li Rui -- Day I got to Xi'an / Duo Duo -- Sunshine between the lips / Chen Ran -- Grass on the rooftop / Li Xiao -- Past and the punishments / Yu Hua -- Cure / Mo Yan -- Green Earth Mother / Ai Bei -- When I think of you late at night, there's nothing I can do / Cao Naiqian -- Summons / Can Xue -- Ancestor / Bi Feiyu -- Moonlight over the field of ghosts / Yang Zhengguang -- Remembering Mr. Wu You / Ge Fei -- Footsteps on the roof / Chen Cun -- Willow waist / Chi Li -- Sleeping lion / Kong Jiesheng -- Fritter hollow chronicles / Wang Xiangfu.

Hung, Eva. Contemporary Women Writers : Hong Kong and Taiwan. Shatin, N.T., Hong Kong: Research Centre for Translation, Chinese University of Hong Kong, 1990. HathiTrust

  • Persimmons / Peng Cao -- Piñata / Xi Xi -- Stuck in the throat / Xin Qi Shi -- Curvaceous dolls / Li Ang -- Cat / Yuan Qiongqiong -- Missing / Su Weizhen -- Snow fields / Li Li.

Sciban, Shu-ning., and Edwards, Fred L. Dragonflies : Fiction by Chinese Women in the Twentieth Century. Ithaca, N.Y.: East Asia Program, Cornell University, 2003. HathiTrust

  • The embroidered cushions / Ling Shuhua -- Love in the fallen city / Zhang Ailing -- My neighbor / Bing Xin -- Women / Wei Junyi -- Such a beautiful Sunday / Kang Yunwei -- Bowls / Xi Xi -- Frying pan / Xi Xi -- Rapeseed / Liao Huiying -- Jade / Ping Lu -- Waiting for dusk / Jiang Zidan -- Hot or cold, life's okay / Chi Li -- Sisters / Wang Anyi.

Wang, Jing. China's Avant-Garde Fiction : an Anthology. Durham: Duke University Press, 1998. HathiTrust | Internet Archive

  • Remembering Mr. Wu You ; Green yellow ; Whistling / Ge Fei -- The noon of howling wind ; 1986 ; This story is for Willow / Yu Hua -- Flying over Maple Village ; The birth of the water god ; The brothers Shu / Su Tong -- The hut on the mountain / Can Xue -- The big drugstore / Bei Cun -- I am a young drunkard / Sun Ganlu -- More ways than one to make a kite ; A wandering spirit / Ma Yuan.

Cheung, Martha, and Lai, Jane. An Oxford Anthology of Contemporary Chinese Drama. Hong Kong ; New York: Oxford University Press, 1997. HathiTrust | Internet Archive

  • Who's the strongest of us all? / Liang Bingkun -- Ungcle Doggie's Nirvana / Jin Yun -- The other side / Gao Xingjian -- The legend of old bawdy town / Ma Zhongjun -- Old forest / Xu Pinli -- Birdmen / Guo Shixing.

Columbia Anthology of Modern Chinese Literature. Eds. Joseph Lau and Howard Goldblatt. NY: Columbia University Press, 1995.  Hathitrust | Internet Archive

- Fiction, 1918-1949.

  • Call to arms ; A madman's diary ; Kong Yiji / Lu Xun --  The merchant's wife / Xu Dishan -- A posthumous son / Ye Shaojun -- Sinking / Yu Dafu -- Spring silkworms / Mao Dun -- An old and established name / Lao She -- Xiaoxiao / Shen Congwen -- The night of midautumn festival / Ling Shuhua -- Dog / Ba Jin -- One evening in the rainy season / Shi Zhicun -- Midautumn festival / Zhang Tianyi -- When I was in Xia Village / Ding Ling -- Young master gets his tonic / Wu Zuxiang -- Hands / Xiao Hong -- Sealed off / Zhang Ailing. Fiction, 1949-1976. Molten iron / Zhu Xining -- My kid brother Kangxiong / Chen Yingzhen -- Winter nights / Bai Xianyong -- Flaw / Wang Wenxing -- Ringworms / Huang Chunming -- An oxcart for a dowry / Wang Zhenhe. Fiction since 1976. Wrong number / Liu Yichang -- A tail ; Small-hands Chen / Wang Zengqi -- The blank stele / Qiao Dianyun -- Tales of New Cathay. Disputatiasis ; The upholder of unity ; Little little little little little -- ; Right to the heart of the matter / Wang Meng -- The tunnel / Chen Ruoxi -- A woman like me / Xi Xi -- At fortune's way / Li Yongping -- Tales of Taipei. A lover's ear ; Empty seat ; Cat ; Not seen / Yuan Qiongqiong -- Electing a thief / Li Rui -- Curvaceous dolls / Li Ang -- Floating leaf / Xiao Sa -- Hut on the mountain / Can Xue -- The leader's demise / Han Shaogong -- A story / Chen Cun -- Dogshit food / Liu Heng -- Autumn waters / Mo Yan -- Fin de siècle splendor / Zhu Tianwen -- Lucky worries about his country / Zhang Dachun -- Octday / Tie Ning -- On the road at eighteen / Yu Hua -- Escape / Su Tong.

- Poetry, 1918-1949.

  • Love's inspiration ; Chance / Xu Zhimo -- Dead water ; One sentence ; Prayer / Wen Yiduo -- Woman abandoned ; Never to return / Li Jinfa -- Sonnet 2 ; Sonnet 4 ; Sonnet 27 / Feng Zhi -- Rainy alley ; Written on a prison wall ; With my injured hand / Dai Wangshu -- A Buddhist monk ; A round treasure box ; Feverish night / Bian Zhilin -- Snow falls on China's land ; The north / Ai Qing -- Prophecy ; Thinking of a friend at year's end ; Autumn / He Qifang -- A glance ; The lotus flower / Zheng Min. Poetry, 1949-1976. Spring dancing ; A wolf / Ji Xian -- Self ; Song of wisdom / Mu Dan -- Kingdom of solitude ; Under the Bodhi tree / Zhou Mengdie -- If there's a war raging afar ; Nostalgia ; The white jade bitter gourd / Yu Guangzhong -- Beyond the fog ; City : Saigon, 1967 ; Following the sound of rain into the mountains ; No rain / Luo Fu -- Salt ; Paris ; The colonel / Ya Xian -- Pagoda ; Grenz-taverne ; Clear and bright : in the grave / Zheng Chouyu -- Moth ; Vagabond / Bai Qiu -- The river's fancy ; The pursuit / Ye Weilian -- The story of the stone ; Debate on rugged mountain / Dai Tian -- Song of gray hair ; After the snow ; Geometry : river goddess / Yang Mu -- The deluded dream ; Fire on the sea floor / Xiong Hong.

- Poetry since 1976.

  • Autumn meditation ; A willow leaf double saber / Zhang Cuo -- A night prayer ; When you are naked, you have everything / Huang Guobin -- Six ways of eating watermelons / Luo Qing -- Declaration ; Résumé ; Another legend / Bei Dao -- When you walk past my window ; A roadside encounter ; Assembly line / Shu Ting -- When we finally turn fifty ; Surgery ward / Wang Xiaolong -- To a nine-year-old girl killed in the massacre ; The dead in exile / Yang Lian -- An ending ; Curriculum vitae / Gu Cheng -- Mad woman / Anonymous. Essays, 1918-1949. On Hong Kong / Lu Xun -- from Wild Grass. Epigraph ; Autumn night ; Hope / Lu Xun -- The evolution of the male sex / Lu Xun -- In praise of mutes ; The aging of ghosts ; Reading on the toilet / Zhuo Zuoren -- My turn at quitting smoking ; The monks of Hangzhou / Lin Yutang -- Haste ; Spring ; The silhouette of his back ; The moonlit lotus pond / Zhu Ziqing -- Bombs in Yishan / Feng Zikai -- Sickness ; Haircuts / Liang Shiqiu -- The priceless moments of a spring morn : idle ; Thoughts of an idle fellow / Liang Yuchun.

- Essays, 1949-1976.

  • On shopping ; On the beauty of bare feet / Lin Yutang -- On time ; Snow / Liang Shiqiu -- Abacus / Pan Qijun -- Our very first telephone / Wu Luqin -- Thus friends absent speak / Yu Guangzhong -- Nineteen seventy-two / Yang Mu.

- Essays since 1976.

  • Remembering Xiao San / Ba Jin -- Living hell / Wen Jieruo -- A bizarre kind of robbery / Xiao Wenyuan -- Musing on things read at night / Dong Qiao.

Books by Author

  • Can Xue, Ronald R. Janssen, and Jian Zhang. Dialogues in Paradise. Evanston, Ill.: Northwestern University Press, 1989. HathiTrust
  • Can Xue. The Embroidered Shoes : Stories. New York: Henry Holt, 1997. Internet Archive
  • Can Xue, Karen Gernant, and Chen Zeping. Five Spice Street. New Haven; London: Yale University Press, 2009. ND[JSTOR]
  • Can Xue, Karen Gernant, and Chen Zeping. Frontier. Rochester, NY: Open Letter, 2017. ND[ProQuest]
  • Can Xue, Can, Myles, Eileen, and Wasmoen, Annelise Finegan. Love in the New Millennium. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 2018. ND[DeGruyter]
  • Ding Ling, Yang, Xianyi, and Yang, Gladys. The Sun Shines over the Sanggan River. Beijing, China: Foreign Languages Press : Distributed by China Publications Centre, 1984. HathiTrust
  • Ding Ling, and Jenner, W. J. F. Miss Sophie's Diary and Other Stories. Beijing, China: Chinese Literature : Distributed by China International Book Trading Corp., 1985. HathiTrust
  • Ding Ling, Barlow, Tani E, and Bjorge, Gary J. I Myself Am a Woman : Selected Writings of Ding Ling. Boston: Beacon Press, 1989. HathiTrust
  • Ding Ling, and Lu Xun. The Power of Weakness. New York: Feminist Press at the City University of New York, 2007. HathiTrust
  • Gao Xingjian. Soul mountain. London; Flamingo, 2001. Internet Archive
  • Gao Xingjian, and Lee, Mabel. One Man's Bible : a Novel. New York, NY: HarperCollins publishers, 2002. Internet Archive
  • Gao Xingjian, and Lee, Mabel. The Case for Literature. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2007. HathiTrust
  • Lu Xun. The Complete Stories of Lu Xun. Bloomington : Beijing: Indiana University Press ; Foreign Languages Press, 1981. HathiTrust
  • Mao Dun. Midnight. Peking: Foreign Languages Press, 1979. HathiTrust
  • Mao Dun. Spring Silkworms, and Other Stories. Peking: Foreign Languages Press, 1979. HathiTrust
  • Mao Dun. Rainbow. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1992. ND[JSTOR]
  • Mo Yan, and Goldblatt, Howard. Red Sorghum : a Novel of China. New York, New York: Penguin Books, 1994. HathiTrust
  • Mo Yan, and Goldblatt, Howard. The Garlic Ballads. New York: Viking, 1995. HathiTrust
  • Mo Yan, and Goldblatt, Howard. The Republic of Wine : a Novel. New York: Arcade Publishing, 2000. HathiTrust
  • Mo Yan, and Goldblatt, Howard. Big Breasts & Wide Hips : a Novel. New York: Arcade Pub., 2004. HathiTrust
  • Mu Shiying, and Field, Andrew David. Mu Shiying China's Lost Modernist. Hong Kong [China]: Hong Kong University Press, 2014. ND[ProjectMuse]
  • Xiao Hong, and Goldblatt, Howard. Ran bu jiang de nü er : Xiao Hong duan pian xiao shuo xuan = The dyer's daughter : selected stories of Xiao Hong. Zhong Ying dui zhao ban. Hong Kong: Chinese University Press, 2005. HathiTrust
  • Xiao Hong, and Goldblatt, Howard. Market Street : a Chinese Woman in Harbin. Seattle ; London: University of Washington Press, 2015. ND[JSTOR]
  • Yu Hua, and Berry, Michael. To Live : a Novel. New York: Anchor Books, 2003. HathiTrust
  • Yu Hua, and Jones, Andrew F. Chronicle of a Blood Merchant. New York: Pantheon Books, 2003. HathiTrust
  • Yu Hua, Chow, Eileen Cheng-yin, and Rojas, Carlos. Brothers. New York: Pantheon Books, 2009. internet Archive
  • Zhang Ailing. Naked Earth. New York: New York Review Books, 2015. ND[EBSCO]
  • Zhang Ailing, Pan, Jane Weizhen, and Merz, Martin. Little Reunions. New York: New York Review Books, 2018. ND[EBSCO]
  • Zhu Wen, and Lovell, Julia. I Love Dollars and Other Stories of China. New York: Columbia University Press, 2007. ND[JSTOR]

Finding Scholary Articles and Books

Journal Articles

Books

Electronic books that are temporarily available

There are also electronic books that have become temporarily available to ND users through the HathiTrust Library, and to the general public through the of the National Emergency Library of the Internet Archive. 

  • HathiTrust Library Click “LOG IN” (yellow button on the right upper corner), and select the University of Notre Dame on the dropdown menu. Once logged in, you will see a “Temporary Access” link for books available for ND users. Click the link, then, click the “Check Out” button.

For most books, access is limited to one user at a time. When you are not using the book, please click "Return Early" so that the book can be checked out by another ND user.

A collection of books that the Internet Archive has made available for emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed. Anyone can create an account to borrow books for 14 days.

Resources in Chinese

Citing Sources