19th-Century Studies

More than 2,000 plays by American dramatists that chronicle the history and culture of America through its dramatic writing. Usage info: Licensed for four simultaneous users.

Contains over 40,000 poems by more than 200 poets, covering the Colonial period to the early 20th century and drawn from over 1,200 printed sources. Usage info: Licensed for four concurrent users.

Spans more than 400 years of personal writings, bringing together the voices of women from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. Includes approximately 100,000 pages of primary materials.

"The archive has a wide range of items to interest those researching territories colonised by Britain including: America, India, Africa, the West Indies, New Zealand, Australia and Melanesia." -- Introduction. Includes archival materials such as journals, correspondence, official records and personal papers. Contains a range of sources that relate to both politics and history.

Facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials. Searching is based on tags and descriptive text associated with each manuscript. Images of the complete manuscript can be viewed, manipulated and navigated on screen. Please note that the text of the manuscripts themselves is not searchable.

"Literary Print Culture: The Stationers' Company Archive, 1554-2007 showcases a diverse range of material from the archive of the Stationers' Company archive including constitutional records, court records, membership records, financial records, trade records, general administrative records, and charities and property records. The Stationers' Company Archive is one of the most important resources for understanding the workings of the early book trade, the establishment of legal requirements for publishing, especially copyright provisions, the printing and publishing community and the history of bookbinding."

Focuses on primary source collections of the nineteenth century, including a variety of material types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more--in one cross-searchable location. Library access includes the following collections: Asia and the West, diplomacy and cultural exchange; British politics and society; British theatre, music, and literature, high and popular culture; Europe and Africa, commerce, Christianity, civilization, and Conquest; European literature 1790-1840, the Corvey collection; Photography, the world through the lens; Science, Technology, and Medicine, 1780-1925; and Women, transnational networks.

Currently includes writers active between 1485 and 1837, plus Classical Latin poets. Provides full-text access to hundreds of editions straight to your desktop, showcasing their authoritative editorial notes directly alongside the text and enabling advanced search within and between editions.

Portal for digital scholarly editions which includes several nineteenth-century authors and a multi-volume set on a range of "Romantic Age" writers.

A searchable collection of Romantic-era literature of canonical and previously unrecognized writers from Britain, the British Empire, and North America, with focus on the period between 1800 and 1830. Contains numerous sets by Pickering & Chatto reprinting English texts published from the 1770s to 1830s. Also, includes full text of the journal, The Wordsworth Circle (1970- ).

"Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography [Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time], this [online] collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions ..."--Gale databases description.

Online full-text database of 18th and 19th century Scottish poetry by women authors, plus critical essays.

Facsimiles of the manuscript papers of the Secretary of State from 1509 to 1782. Includes a fully searchable set of Calendars, linked to manuscript facsimiles, with essays by historians of the period.

An essential resource for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Consists of four components: Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment; and Moving pictures, optical entertainments & the advent of cinema. Includes full-text, full-color reproductions of books, ephemera, handbills, pamphlets, photos, posters, programs, scripts, and other types of materials. Coverage is most extensive for Great Britain; but there is also a fair range of materials for the U.S.A.

Provides SGML-encoded transcriptions of literary works by British women writers in the late Victorian period, including anthologies, broadsides, and volumes of poetry and verse drama. Access info: Click on "Proceed to Victorian Women Writers Collection" and choose your preferred mode of access.

Contains full-text editions of more than 100 texts by English and American women published between 1500 and 1830. Also includes introductory essays written by contemporary scholars about Renaissance women writers, their texts, and related topics. Has links to other textual databases, and a collection of syllabi.

Provides access to full text of significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in UK research libraries that cover political, social, and economic issues of 19th century Britain. Included are the following individual collections that belonged to politicians or political families: Bristol Selected pamphlets (1800-1899); Cowen Tracts (1603-1898); Earl Grey Pamphlets collection (1800-1900); Foreign and Commonwealth Office collection (1545-1900); Hume Tracts (1769-1890); Knowsley Pamphlet collection (1792-1868); LSE Selected pamphlets (1800-1899); Manchester Selected pamphlets (1799-1900); and Wilson Anti-slavery collection (1761-1900).

Includes: American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I; American Pamphlets, Series 1, 1820-1922: From the New-York Historical Society; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800; Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the American Antiquarian Society, 1652-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819; Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement 1 from the American Antiquarian Society, 1801-1819; Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement 2 from the American Antiquarian Society, 1801-1819; Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement 3 from the American Antiquarian Society, 1801-1819.

Select from Available Collections, or search all.

A growing collection allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1998 [and beyond], including titles from all 50 states. Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others.

Consists of searchable, digitized page images from more than 1,500 18th and 19th century American periodicals. Derived from the American periodicals series microform collection I, II, and III.

British Periodicals provides access to the searchable full text of British periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century (the same periodicals as are covered in the UMI microfilm collection "Early British Periodicals"). It includes millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Subject areas covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.

"access to the entire run of the ILN from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003. Each page has been digitally reproduced in full colour and every article and caption is full-text searchable with hit-term highlighting and links to corresponding illustrations."

Searchable full text of newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth-century Britain. Includes national and regional newspapers, as well as newspapers from established country or university towns.

"When complete it will make available full runs of nearly 600 titles ... of interest to historians and students of nineteenth-century literature and culture, empire, feminism, the history of the book, the creative and performing arts, sport and leisure, science and medicine, the professions ..."--"About" page.

Searchable index, with links to some full text, to 45 major Victorian periodicals. While many articles written for Victorian periodicals were published anonymously or under pseudonyms, this index identifies the authors of articles and provides a bibliography for each contributor.