Library Guides: Philosophy: Scholarly Articles and Books

Article Databases

Databases are multidisciplinary collections of scholarly resources. Most databases gather links to- and citations for scholarly articles, although some contain additional information on books and other resources.

Philosopher's index with full text This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text titles from journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published in 139 countries. Includes the full text to the "Journal of philosophy" from 1904 to the present. Topics covered include aesthetics, axiology, epistemology, ethics, logic, meta-philosophy, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, philosophy of education, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, philosophy of religion, philosophy of science, political philosophy, and social philosophy.
POIESIS philosophy online serials. This link opens in a new window
"Philosophy Online has been jointly developed by the Philosophy Documentation Center and InteLex Corporation as an electronic platform for fulltext and bibliographic resources in philosophy."--Home page. Access info: Notre Dame has full text access only to those journals for which we have print subscriptions
DigiZeitschriften This link opens in a new window
Collection of German periodicals considered to be among the most important in the following areas of research: Anglistik, Buch- / Bibliothekswesen, Geowissenschaften, Germanistik, Geschichte, Kunst, Mathematik, Musikwissenschaft, Naturwissenschaften, Neuere Philologien, Rechtswissenschaften, Romanistik, Soziologie, and Wirtschaftswissenschaften.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, notes, and similar literature on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range of 400 to 1500 for the entire continent of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa for the period before the Muslim conquest and parts of those areas subsequently controlled by Christian powers. Access info: Click on "Enter databases", then select International Medieval Bibliography.
Periodicals archive online This link opens in a new window
Full text searchable journal collection of 350+ periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences (a subset of Periodicals index online). See Periodicals index online for more extensive indexing and links to selected full text articles.

Books

These resources will help you find e-books and print held by Notre Dame, other local libraries, or books held at other libraries worldwide. If you can't find a book at Notre Dame or its partner libraries in the ND Catalog, try searching the catalogs of 9000 OCLC partner institutions through Worldcat. The Hathi Trust is another sizeable consortial collection of digitized books.

Hesburgh Libraries Online Catalog (ND Catalog)
ND Catalog lets you search the holdings of the Hesburgh Libraries, Kresge Law, and Holy Cross libraries' catalogs separately or together. It includes content from the University Archives, the Center for Research Libraries, and working papers from the Institute for Latino Studies.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
A worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 OCLC member institutions. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A digital repository for the nation's great research libraries that brings together the immense collections of its partner institutions. It was initially conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California system, and the University of Virginia to establish a repository for those universities to archive and share their digitized collections, and quickly expanded to include additional partners with fast growing treasure of digitized collections.

Bibliographies

Bibliographies collect publication information for books, articles, and other resources on a particular subject. Some include annotations with additional details about the publications' contents. They have a narrower focus, covering a topic, movement, person, geographic location, or era.

Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, current bibliography of monographs worldwide relating to the medieval period of the Western, Byzantine and Islamic world. Covers history, language and literature, philosophy and theology, art history, archaeology, and more. Access info: Click on "Enter databases", then select Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale
International Aristotle bibliography online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive research tool that gives access to books, articles, book reviews and dissertations on the philosopher Aristotle. The International Aristotle Bibliography Online covers more than 100 years of publication and is frequently updated.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, notes, and similar literature on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range of 400 to 1500 for the entire continent of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa for the period before the Muslim conquest and parts of those areas subsequently controlled by Christian powers. Access info: Click on "Enter databases", then select International Medieval Bibliography.
Labyrinth resources for medieval studies This link opens in a new window
Provides free, searchable access to electronic resources in medieval studies with connections to databases, services, texts, and images.
Oxford bibliographies online. Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on philosophy. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive directory of online philosophical articles and books by academic philosophers.

Theses and Dissertations

These resources will help you find unpublished theses and dissertations, which present an author's research and findings as part of their degree candidacy or professional qualification.

ProQuest Digital Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Provides information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses, with subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Offers full text for most dissertations (Notre Dame and other) added since 1997. Access info: Access to full text (PDF) of Notre Dame dissertations since 1997, restricted to users with valid Notre Dame NetIDs.

CurateND
Collect your work in CurateND and share it with a worldwide audience.