Library Guides: Poverty Studies: Scholarly Articles and Books

Article Databases

Historical Statistics of the United States (ebook) This link opens in a new window
Expanded and rev. ed. of: Historical statistics of the United States, colonial times to 1970. Bicentenl ed. Washington : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1975.
Gale ebooks This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of many reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias.
ATLA religion database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Indexes international periodicals in the fields of religios and theological studies. Areas covered include Biblical studies, world religions, Church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. Includes a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR). It also includes content previously available in the ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index® (ATLA CPLI®). This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Gale OneFile. Contemporary women's issues. This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to more than 1500 sources (including some 150 periodicals, newsletters, and research reports from non-profit groups and government and international agencies) on a broad range of women's issues worldwide. Usage info: Licensed for 4 simultaneous users.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
The American Economic Association's comprehensive indexed bibliography of the world's economic literature, encompassing journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and book reviews, classified by JEL classification codes. Usage info: Licensed for 4 simultaneous users.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and abstracts of articles, books, government publications, research reports and conference papers on issues of social and public policies. PAIS (originally, the Public Affairs Information Service) includes content from two databases: PAIS International and PAIS Archive.
Sociological abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
Worldwide political science abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers, and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications.

Books

These resources will help you find e-books and print held by Notre Dame, other local libraries, or books held at other libraries worldwide. University of Notre Dame Faculty, Students, and Staff are encouraged to log-in with your Netid and Password when accessing the library web page.

The Hesburgh Libraries - Library Catalog

Search the library catalog to find books, journals, DVDs and other items that are located in the Hesburgh Libraries. For books on poverty, try doing a subject keyword search using the following or similar terms:

See also this list of new books, published since 2006, on which are available in the Hesburgh Libraries.

You may also wish to use WorldCAT to search hundreds of library catalogs around the world simultaneously.