Resource Guide - LLEA / ASIA / FTT 33327 — Qing China: History, Fiction, and Fantasy, 1600-1900 - Library Guides at University of Notre Dame

About

This guide assists Professor Iris Ma's students in working on their final projects.

Image Collections: Select five artifacts either from the National Palace Museum Collections or Artstor that you think important and/or indispensable to understand the significance of the Qing dynasty in the context(s) of the Chinese and/or world history.
Reference Sources: Look up historical events, terms, personal & geographic names, etc. for background information. Compare information provided the two encyclopedias for details and accuracy.
Citing Images: Click the link to a guide by Marsha Stevenson, Visual Arts Librarian.

The National Palace Museum Collections
Established in 1925, the Palace Museum is located in the imperial palace of the Ming (1368-1644) and Qing (1644-1911) dynasties. Its collections originate from the Qing imperial collection and include ceramics, paintings, calligraphy, bronzes, timepieces, jades, palace paraphernalia, ancient books, and historical documents.

*Before searching, select the period:

ARTstor
Image database that covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.

1. Log in through the "University of Notre Dame."

2. Browse>>Artstor collections:

3. Browse By: Geography:

4. Select East Asia: China.

5. Refine Dates:

6. Search within results:

Brill’s Encyclopedia of China
Based on the originally a thousand-page reference work on China with a clear focus on the modern period from the mid-nineteenth century to the 21st century.
more...less...
"All contributions are written by an international team of European, Asian, Australian and American experts, carefully selected from a wide spectrum of academic disciplines. Originally published and warmly received in German (edited by the GIGA Institute of Asian Studies in Hamburg, published by WBG, Darmstadt, 2003), this English translation, including a statistical data update, will serve both English-language students and faculty in conveniently providing a wealth of reliable and solid information on China. With illustrations, maps, tables, ample indices and bibliographies."
Oxford reference
Enables cross-searching among more than 430 books (mostly, Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, but also including Birkshire Encyclopedia of China)

Cite the sources of the images that you use. See Visual Arts Librarian's guide.