Skip to main content

MUS 20101 — Medieval and Renaissance Music History (Blachly)

Modern Editions

Medieval and Renassiance music presents special problems to the researcher. Due to the nature of their composition and transmission over the years, these works often exist only in large scholarly collections, edited and transcribed into modern notation. Finding individual works in these sets can range from simple to near-impossible, yet technology is making this easier every day.

There are core collections that researchers should be aware of, as you will use them regularly:

M2 - Monuments/Denkmäler

Collections/Monuments/Denkmäler (Library M 2):

These sets consist of music collected from a specific time period or geographical location. The ones below will probably be the most helpful for you this semester. See Grove for Complete List of Monuments and Collected Editions.

Call number Monument Publisher Index or Website
M 2 .C822  Corpus of Early Keyboard Music (CEKM) Publisher Index
Various loc. Corpus Mensurabalis Musicae (CMM) Publisher Index
M 2 .D396 Denkmäler deutscher Tonkunst (DDT)  
M 2 .D397 Denkmäler der Tonkunst in Österreich (DTO)  
M 2 .E65 Das Erbe deutscher Musik (EDM) Publisher Website
M 2 .M973 Musica Britannica (MB) Publisher Website
M 1 .S377  Polyphonic Music of the Fourteenth-Century (PMFC)   


M3 - Composer Complete Editions

For significant composers, scholarly editions of their collected works have been published. Grove articles for each composer will normally contain an index to the edition in the works list, and the library catalog will usually include full contents.


Some Monuments contain the collected works of various composers, like the CMM.

Go to their website for a complete index: