Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ARCH 40312 — Social Factors & Sustainability

This course examines the effects of the built environment on health and well-being.

Choosing a Citation Manager

Citation managers are tools which see heavy use by serious researchers, and it's important to use an application that you find easy enough to use and powerful enough for your needs.  You may wish to begin by using what your colleagues are using—most citation managers allow the limited sharing of reference libraries. Using the same application as your colleagues may mean you can ask them for help in learning the ins-and-outs of the application. However, the library offers workshops and other training, and librarian experts are available for one-on-one instruction.

  Refworks EndNote Zotero Mendeley
Cost Free to ND & Alumni Freemium Freemium Freemium
Platform Web Web / Client Web / Client Web / Client
Library Sharing, Collaboration Yes Yes Yes Yes
Storage Unlimited ? 300 MB 2 GB
ND Catalog Integration Yes Yes No No
Boolean Search Yes ? Yes No
Word Processor Integration Word, Google Docs, Hangul (see details) Word, OpenOffice, LibreOffice (see details) Word, LibreOffice, Google Docs (see details) Word, LibreOffice (see details)
Annotates PDFs Yes ? No Yes
Mobile Site or App Refworks Mobile EndNote Mobile Zotero Mobile Mendeley Mobile
Documentation User Guide Website Website Website

Introducing New RefWorks

New RefWorks™ is the latest version of the RefWorks citation management software designed to help you save, organize and format bibliographic citations that you find in databases such as the ND Catalog, OneSearch, Google Scholar, Web of Science, and more.

RefWorks’ Write-n-Cite software allows you to add and format citations in Word documents in a wide variety of citation styles. It is the officially supported citation and research manager software at the University of Notre Dame.


New to Refworks?

We recommend that new users first Create an Account and associate it with their Notre Dame email, in order to take advantage of the full support offered to Notre Dame faculty, staff, students, and alumni. 

Login to New RefWorks

Write-n-Cite

Write-n-Cite is a tool that allows RefWorks users the ability to insert reference citations directly into a paper in Microsof Word with the click of a button. Once logged into your RefWorks account under the Tools tab you can download Write-n-Cite, a plugin for MS Word, which allows you to seamlessly import your references into a Word document. You can add references as you write and create a bibliography from within Word when you are finished or as you work (it will update automatically when you add new references).


Introducing Zotero

Zotero™ is a citation management software designed to help you save, organize and format bibliographic citations that you find in databases such as the ND Catalog, OneSearch, Google Scholar, Web of Science, and more.

Zotero is a Firefox addon that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It's easy to use, lives in your web browser where you do your work, and best of all it's free. Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies. It automatically updates itself periodically to work with new online sources and new bibliographic styles.