Sociology

Provides abstracts of scholarly literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Search can be limited to book reviews. Usage info: Licensed for 6 simultaneous users.

ASSIA database abstracts and indexes the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education dating back to 1987.

Comprehensive bibliographic index for information on Mexican-American topics. Records added since 1992 cover the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Contains the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature.

"... a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life... information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level."--Homepage.

Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S.

"GenderWatch is a full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports." --Publisher's description.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Provides citations and abstracts, with some full text, to publications from leftist and radical media worldwide since 1982, covering topics such as the labor movement, ecology and the environment, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, art and aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization. Usage info: Licensed for 1 simultaneous user.

A comprehensive database of U.S. and international criminal justice journals, including abstracts and indexes, and full text of some titles. Subject coverage: criminology, corrections, law enforcement, criminal law, criminal justice, rehabilitation, drug enforcement, addictions, alcohol, gambling, child abuse, industrial crime, industrial security, and family law.

Citations and abstracts with some full text, covering such topics as anthropology, sociology, political science, communication, education, criminology, demography, economics and more.

Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, and substance abuse and addiction. Provides full-text coverage of scholarly journals and doctoral dissertations on sociology.

Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983--nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed. Same contents as offered in Social sciences abstracts, but with links to full text articles.

Provides bibliographic coverage, abstracts and indexes of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development.

Covers the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.

"... accesses multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. The databases are indexed so you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work."--Tutorial screen.

A worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 OCLC member institutions. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.

A digital repository for the nation's great research libraries that brings together the immense collections of its partner institutions. It was initially conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California system, and the University of Virginia to establish a repository for those universities to archive and share their digitized collections, and quickly expanded to include additional partners with fast growing treasure of digitized collections.

IBSS database covers international social science literature in disciplines of anthropology, economics, political science and sociology, as well as a wide range of interdisciplinary fields. Abstracts and indexes journal articles and books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951.

Sociology, the study of society and human behavior, is a highly active discipline which is constantly changing and expanding. Because of the broad, extensive nature of sociology, a vast amount of scholarship and research already exists besides the regular influx of new material. With advances in online searching and database technologies, researchers can easily access library catalogs, bibliographic indexes, and other lists that show thousands of resources that might also be useful to them. In this situation what is most needed is expert guidance. Oxford Bibliographies in Sociology is designed to provide just this sort of authoritative guidance. In contrast to print bibliographies and electronic indexes that simply list citations, this innovative online reference tool will combine the best features of a high-level encyclopedia and the best features of a traditional bibliography put together in a style that responds to the way people do research online.

Provides information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses, with subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Offers full text for most dissertations (Notre Dame and other) added since 1997. Access info: Access to full text (PDF) of Notre Dame dissertations since 1997, restricted to users with valid Notre Dame NetIDs.