Library Guides: South Asian Studies : Overview

Overview

This is a directory of electronic resources pertaining to South Asia at the Hesburgh Libraries, and other publicly available resources. The page will be periodically updated.

Getting Started (Reference Sources)

Research Guides

Library of Congress Research Guide: South Asian Collection At the bottom of the page are inks to LC's collections of print and electronic resources pertaining to South Asia. The e-resource guide also covers free electronic resources.

Bibliographies, Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, etc.

[Brill] Encyclopaedia of Islam Comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world.
[Ebsco] Bibliography of Asian Studies Provides citations on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide since 1971 in western-language periodical articles, individually authored monographs (through 1991 only), chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, Festschriften, etc. Updated regularly.

Oxford bibliographies online This link opens in a new window Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on subjects, including Anthropology, Art History, Buddhism, Cinema and Media Studies, International Law, International Relations, Hinduism, Islamic Studies, Political Science, Public Health, Social Work, Sociology, and Urban Studies.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window A online platform that brings together digitized content of Oxford dictionaries, companions and encyclopedias. Included are The Oxford Encyclopaedia of South Asian Christianity, The New Oxford Companion to Economics in India, and The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Politics.

Resources A-Z

Databases and websites that provide access to South Asia-related information and resources (primary sources, newspapers, etc.). Hover over the title to see the brief description.

[Adam Matthew] Empire online "...manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology."--Provided by publisher
[Adam Matthew] Eighteenth century journals A portal to newspapers and periodicals (c1685-1835) from: I. the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford--II. the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas--III. the British Newspaper Library at Colindale, London and the Cambridge University Library--IV. Chetham's Library, Manchester and Brotherton Library, University of Leeds--V. Birmingham Central Library, British Library, Cambridge University Library, and Liverpool John Moores University Library.
[Adam Matthew] Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 British Government's files on the countries of South Asia from shortly before Indian partition and independence up to 1980: Section I. Independence, partition, and the Nehru era, 1947-64 - - Section II. South Asian conflicts and independence for Bangladesh, 1964-71 - - Section III. Afghanistan and the Cold War, emergency rule in India, and the resumption of civilian rule in Pakistan, 1972-80.
[Alexander Street] The Garland encyclopedia of world music (Audio CD) Volume 5: South Asia: The Indian Subcontinent contains 34 recordings (mostly, excerpts from longer recordings) with notes of specific musical genres, practices, and performances.
British online archives Collections of archival materials (journals, correspondence, official records and personal papers) that relate to territories colonized by Britain (America, India, Africa, the West Indies, New Zealand, Australia and Melanesia).
more...less...
- The East India Company: Laying the Foundations for British Colonial Domination of India, 1752-1774
- Indian Communists and Trade Unionists on Trial: The Meerut Conspiracy, 1929-1933
- The British Raj: Resistance and Reform in India, 1879-1910
- Indian and Sri Lankan Records from Colonial Missionaries, 1770-1931
- Colonial Women Missionaries of the Committee for Women's Work, 1861-1967
[CRL] South Asia materials project (SAMP) Digital and microform collection of unique materials (monographs, periodicals, and newspapers) related to the study of South Asia, collected by the Center for Research Libraries.
[CRL] South Asian newspapers "Features titles published in India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Languages include English, Bengali, Gujarati, and others. Titles include such key publications as: Amrita Bazar Patrika (Calcutta), Bankura Darpana (Bankura, India), Madras Mail (Madras), Tribune (Lahore, Pakistan) and the Ceylon Observer (Sri Lanka) ... The collection will provide more than 400,000 fully searchable pages of newspapers published in South Asia between 1864 and 1922"--Center for Research Libraries.
Digital Himalaya Open Access A project to archive and make available ethnographic materials from the Himalayan region. Designed by Professor Alan Macfarlane and Dr Mark Turin. From August 2011, Digital Himalaya is colocated at Cambridge and Yale Universities.
Digital South Asia library (DSAL) Open Access Reference resources, images, maps, statistics, bibliographies and union lists, indexes, books and journals, and other Internet resources, contributed by institutions in the U.S., South Asia, and Europe.
[Gale] British Library newspapers Searchable full text of newspapers, selected by the British Library to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries. Includes national and regional newspapers, as well as newspapers from established country or university towns. Browseable by publications and by date.
[Gale] Primary sources: Archives unbound
- Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files
- India From Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949: Records Of The US State Department
- India-Pakistan Conflict: Records of the US State Department February 1963-1966
- Indian Army and Colonial Warfare on the Frontiers of India, 1914-1920
- Pakistan from Crown Rule to Republic: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1949
- The War Department and Indian Affairs, 1800-1824
[ProQuest] Hindustan Times 1924-2000 "This nationalist daily and one of the largest newspapers in India, was founded in 1924 by the leader of the Akali movement, Sunder Singh Lyallpuri. Introduced at the opening ceremony by Mahatma Gandhi and edited by his son, Devdas Gandhi, the Hindustan Times played an essential role in the Indian independence movement. Today this historical newspaper serves researchers interested in studying colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more. This paper is the second most widely read English newspaper in India (after The Times of India)."--Publisher information.
[ProQuest] Historical newspapers
Full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th Century.
- The Bombay Times and Journal of Commerce (1838-1859)
- The Bombay Times and Standard (1860-1861)
- Hindustan Times 1924-2000
- Times of India (1861-2010)
[ProQuest] South and Southeast Asian literature "A text-based collection that showcases the literary imagination and linguistic inventiveness of Asian writers as they negotiate their varied cultural identities. It comprises thousands of pages of English-language fiction, short fiction, and poems written from the end of the colonial era to the present and gives rich insights to scholars of literature, anthropology, linguistics, postcolonial theory and criticism, history, politics, and culture."--Provided by publisher.
South Asian American digital archive (SAADA) Open Access The largest publicly accessible collection of South Asian American stories. Browsable by theme.
[Taylor & Francis] South Asia archive Documents ( the case law, statutes, regulations, and bills of India) ranging from 1700 through to 1953.