Sports Studies

Bringing together unique primary sources drawn from key archival collections, The Olympic Movement presents a documentary record of the origins, expansion and growth of the Olympic Games, and the global history of sport . Through a broad range of sources including correspondence, official reports, newsletters and film footage, researchers can chart the history of sport and its relationships with culture, society, business, media and politics between the 1890s and 1990s.

The backfiles of consumer magazines devoted to health and fitness topics. With publications aimed at a male readership (e.g. Flex, Men's Health) and women's titles (e.g. Women's Health, Women's Health Activist), this collection supports research in topics such as the history of sex roles, body image, fitness/exercise, public health, food/nutrition, and medicine. The backfile of Prevention (from 1950) offers over six decades of content reflecting contemporary developments in these areas.

A collection of men's-interest magazine backfiles serving research in men's studies/history but also offering important additional perspectives for women's studies. It includes some of the earliest publications of this type - National Police Gazette and Argosy - and covers key topics such as fashion, sports, health, and arts/entertainment.

"Trade catalogues have been a prominent feature in commerce and manufacturing from the eighteenth century to the present day. Highly illustrated, they are an essential visual record of a variety of products and facilitate research into popular culture, material culture, social norms and attitudes, as well as the history of marketing, business, and technology."--Introduction.

Children's Magazine Archive presents 15+ digital backfiles of magazines spanning 1866 to 2020. Researchers can immerse themselves in the evolution of childhood, culture, and education through publications that were originally aimed at young readers. Newly accessible, these archives offer researchers a new window on topics such as 20th-century advertising, marketing, popular culture, literature, and media history. With material ranging from tales of adventure and exploration to thought-provoking articles and engaging visuals, this archive offers a unique lens on the cultural, societal, and educational dynamics of this period.

A searchable archive of leading women's interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st. Subject coverage includes consumer culture, economics/marketing, family life, fashion, gender studies, health and fitness, home/interior design, popular culture, and social history. This database provides access to the complete archives of several 19th and 20th-century women's magazines. In combination, the publications cover topics such as family life, home economics, health, careers, fashion, culture, and many more; this material serves multiple research areas, from gender studies, social history, and the arts, through to education, politics and marketing/media history. The magazines are all scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color and include non-article items, such as advertisements. Detailed article-level indexing, with document feature flags, enables searching and navigation.

Provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.

A searchable archive of major periodicals devoted to LGBT+ interests, dating from the 1950s through to recent years. "Launching in September 2018, LGBT Magazine Archive will comprise archival runs of 26 of the most influential, long-running 20th/21st-century magazines in this field, amounting to approximately 400,000 pages of content.... Coverage is from the first issue of each publication, with the earliest content dating from 1957 and the default termination point for each title is 2015 (or the journal ceased date). Each issue is scanned from cover to cover in full color"--ProQuest.libguides.com, viewed October 2, 2018.

Illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more. In addition, the archive encompasses extensive material related to feminism, women's rights, and women's concerns. Documents span from 1940 to 2014, with the bulk from 1950 to 1990.

An archive of magazines in the field of education, ranging from the early 20th to 21st centuries. The publications are aimed at teachers and other educational professionals and constitute valuable primary sources through which the evolution of educational policy, practice, and theory during this period may be delineated and interpreted. This content also pertains strongly to several related fields such as social history, psychology, and childhood studies.

A growing collection that will include primary sources, supporting materials, and archives, along with over 100 hours of video. Primarily for the growing disciplines of disability history and disability studies, but also relevant for history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas where the contributions of the disability community are typically overlooked.

The backfiles of more than thirty 20th and 21st-century magazines, each aimed at ethnically specific audiences. Titles range from political publications to those concerned with lifestyle, fashion/beauty, culture, and identity. The collection reflects diverse voices and gives insight into cultural perspectives, societal shifts, and historical events. Titles are presented in color page-image format with article-level metadata and searchable text.

Searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from 1968 to present (ABC, CBS, NBC), 1995 to present (CNN), selected content from PBS and FOX News. Selected online video content from CNN and NBC viewable with RealPlayer. Descriptive summaries of the Vanderbilt University collection of network television news programs and other news-related programming collected in its archive since August 5, 1968. Loan copies of videotapes in 3/4 inch U-matic & 1/2 inch VHS. format are available for a fee from the Archive.