Library Guides: Starting Your Research: Find Sources

OneSearch

What is OneSearch? OneSearch helps you find information from a broad selection of books, articles, and more on a wide variety of subjects.

The following databases can be a great place to start finding information.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a digital library for scholars, researchers, and students. Contains digitized current and many back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Accesses multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. The databases are indexed so you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new window Provides indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for 3,500+ scholarly journals and general interest periodicals embracing all academic disciplines (citations only for The New York Times). Search can be limited to book reviews.

The books in Hesburgh Libraries are categorized using the Library of Congress (LC) classification system.

Maps of LC call number locations within Hesburgh Libraries: Consult these maps when you have a call number for a specific book.
LC classification categories: Check out the letters and titles of the main classes in the Library of Congress classification system.

View the Datasets and Statistics guide to find data and statistics for various subjects.