Articles and Published Research - MGTO 30715 — Sustainable Communities and Global Business (McManus Warnell) - Library Guides at University of Notre Dame

Sustainability and ESG Research

Search Tips

When searching for information on sustainable business, you may use a wide range of terms and resources in your search. Sustainability crosses into the domains of multiple subject disciplines, so it is important to narrow your topic sufficiently while being aware of the language used in particular domains. A sub discipline of sustainable business analysis that would be worth investigating is Environmental, Social, and Governance (ESG) scoring systems. These are a trending methodology which attempts to evaluate and grade a company's performance based on their contribution to various attributes relating to the climate.

Provided are some possible keywords and sample searches to get you started as well as some recommendations for potential databases to find sources.

Possible Keywords

sustain* (note: searching a term with a "*" searches all variations after the "*", e.g. this searches sustain, sustainable, sustainability all at the same time)
ethics
"ethical leadership"
"global warming" OR "climate change"
"climate justice"
ESG
- Environmental, Social Governance
impact
underserved
marginalized
industry names
Names of companies or people heavily involved in sustainability

Sample Searches

business AND ethics AND ("climate change" OR "global warming" OR "environmental impact")
(sustain* OR "green technology" OR "green energy") AND (misinformation OR advertising)

Recommended Databases

ABI/INFORM Global
Contains content from business and management publications worldwide, covering advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Provides wide coverage of the impact of sustainability issues across a variety of industry elements.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database cover a wide range of subject ranging from the humanities to the sciences. Excellent starting place for topics that cross the domains of multiple disciplines of study. Highly beginning with a broad general search, and narrowing your search using the subject term filters on the left hand side of the screen.
Business Source Complete
Provides access to academic articles, magazines, and trade publications pertaining to various business and management topics.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Provides access to articles related to sustainability as it is communicated by large organizations, news, and media services. Also notable for research in the manipulation of information, bias, and advertising/marketing issues.
HeinOnline
Provides access to academic literature in law in addition to legal reviews and case/statutory materials.
PsycInfo
Provides access to academic articles studying psychology, education, and human behavior.
Climate Disclosure Project (CDP) Data
Provides open access to ESG data for a variety of different cities, states, and regions.
MSCI ESG Ratings & Climate Search Tool
Provides a general snapshot of publicly traded companies commitments to a sample of major ESG disclosures.
EPA Environmental Topics
Provides free access to various reports under the jurisdiction of the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Covers topics such as climate change, greenhouse gas emissions, and clean water initiatives.
CQ Researcher
Provides access to expert opinions and reports representing multiple sides of popular social topics in the context of debate. Excellent resource for generating ideas to represent both sides of an argument.
Philosopher's Index
Provides access to leading research in the fields of philosophy. Particularly useful for research into sustainability issues involving questions of ethics and morality.

MGTO 30715 — Sustainable Communities and Global Business (McManus Warnell)

The Thomas Mahaffey, Jr. Business Librarians

Librarians

Sustainability and ESG Research

Search Tips

Possible Keywords

Sample Searches

Recommended Databases