Skip to main content

Accounting

Overview of Accounting

Students acquire the ability to analyze, communicate, and forecast the economic activity of a business. Courses focus on analytical and problem-solving skills within the context of financial reporting, managerial decision making, and tax planning. Professional responsibility, teamwork, and communication skills are integrated throughout the curriculum. The Assurance and Advisory Services track is ideal for those preparing for a career in public accounting, especially in the audit area, corporate finance, or with financial institutions. Master of Science in Accountancy (MSA) has two tracks. The Tax Services track is designed to prepare students for careers with public accounting firms, business enterprises, and governmental agencies. The Tax Services track is designed to prepare students for careers with public accounting firms, business enterprises, and governmental agencies.

Related subjects include: Finance, Management and Organization, Information Technology, Analytics, and Operations, and Marketing

News and Popular Press

Popular press resources such as newspapers and magazines are expert but non-scholarly sources that report basic facts and offer opinions. One benefit of these sources is that they are printed shortly after an event, but they do not reach the level of analysis necessary for scholarly work. 

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionaries are most often collections of words in one or more specific languages, usually arranged in alphabetical order, providing information like word meanings, usage, etymology, and, when they contain more than one language, translations. Some dictionaries include information more commonly found in encyclopedias.  Encyclopedias are collections of information on terms, figures, eras, locations also arranged alphabetically, and, alongside definitions of terms, they also include more in-depth general information on a topic. Encyclopedias can be general or subject-specific.

Guides, Handbooks & Finding Aids

Reference resources like Handbooks, Guides, and Manuals provide subject-specific, sometimes technical information to aid in understanding important aspects of the discipline or subject that they treat. Finding Aids are useful for finding information within libraries, archives, or specific collections.