Skip to main content

Mahaffey Business Library Citation Style Guide

Mahaffey Business Library Citation Style Guide

 

Article from a journal, magazine or newspaper:

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year, Month/Day). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number(issue number), page range. Retrieved from ABI/INFORM Global database

Byrne, E. F. (2018). Making drones to kill civilians: Is it ethical? Journal of Business Ethics, 147(1), 81–93. Retrieved from ABI/INFORM Global database

 

Article from a wire feed:

Author. (Year, Month/Day). Title of article. Retrieved from ABI/INFORM Global database

Oxford Daily Brief Service. (2018, Jun 11). KENYA: Corruption may undermine government credibility. Retrieved from ABI/INFORM Global database

Market Research Report:

Author/Analyst. (Year, Month). Report title. Retrieved from BCC Research database

McWilliams, Andrew. (2019, November). Bionics: Technologies and global markets. Retrieved from BCC Research database

Stock Prices:

Bloomberg. (2018). Stock prices for Apple, Inc. 1/1/2012–12/31/2017. Retrieved from Bloomberg database

 

Company Financials:

Two different ways to cite the same information:

Bloomberg. (2018). Return on capital for Hewlett Packard 12/31/90 to 09/30/18. Retrieved from Bloomberg database

Bloomberg. (2018). Hewlett Packard: Return on capital, 12/31/90 to 9/30/18. Retrieved from Bloomberg database

SWOT Report/Analysis:

Author. (Year, Month). Company Name [SWOT analysis]. Retrieved from Business Insights: Essentials database

GlobalData. (2018, October). AT&T Inc. [SWOT analysis]. Retrieved from Business Insights: Essentials database

 

Company History:

Author. (Year). Company Name. Retrieved from Business Insights: Essentials database

International Directory of Company Histories. (2016). Facebook, Inc. Retrieved from Business Insights: Essentials database

 

Industry Overview:

Author. (Year, Month/Day). Industry overview title. Retrieved from Business Insights: Essentials database

Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries. (2019). Electronic computer manufacturing. Retrieved from Business Insights: Essentials database

 
Source Citation:

"Tablet Computers." Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries. Ed. Lynn M. Pearce. Detroit: Gale, 2018. Business Insights: Essentials. Web. 27 September 2019.
http://bi.galegroup.com.proxy.library.nd.edu/essentials/industry/334111

Edited Citation:

Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries. (2018). Tablet computers. Retrieved from Business Insights: Essentials database

 

Article from a journal, magazine or newspaper:

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number (issue number if available), page range. Retrieved from Business Source Complete database

Munro, I., & Thanem, T. (2018). The ethics of affective leadership: Organizing good encounters without leaders. Business Ethics Quarterly, 28(1), 51–69. Retrieved from Business Source Complete database

 

Harvard Business Review article:

Ignatius, A. (2019). The tyranny of numbers. Harvard Business Review, 97(5), 12. Retrieved from Business Source Complete database

 

Country Profile:

Author. (Year, Month/Day). Article or chapter title, Country profile title, page range. Retrieved from Business Source Complete database

MarketLine. (2018, August). Key facts and geographic location, Poland country profile, 15–16. Retrieved from Business Source Complete database

Company Financials:

Two different ways to cite the same information.

Author. (Year, Month/Day). Company financials/Company name. Retrieved from Capital IQ database

Capital IQ. (2019). Total revenue FY2018 for Amazon.com Inc. Retrieved from Capital IQ database

Capital IQ. (2019). Amazon.com Inc.: Total revenue FY2018. Retrieved from Capital IQ database

Dataset:

Author/Rightsholder. (Year). Title of data set (Version number) [Description of form]. Retrieved from China Data Online database

All China Marketing Research Co., Ltd. (2019). China city statistics, transportation, cities at prefectural level, 2012–2017 [Data file]. Retrieved from China Data Online database

All China Marketing Research Co., Ltd. (2019). China Statistical Yearbook, Chapter 12: Environment protection, 12-3 water supply and water used, 2000–2005 [Data file]. Retrieved from China Data Online database

CQ Researcher Report:

Author. (Year, Month/Day). Report title. Retrieved from CQ Researcher

Premack, Rachel. (2019, August 22). Marijuana legalization. Retrieved from CQ Researcher

 

 

Dataset:

In these examples, notice the inclusion of an active DOI or digital object identifier. If required by your instructor, include them at the end of your citations. DOIs may not be available for all sources.

Author/Rightsholder. (Year). Title of data set [Description of form]. Retrieved from Database Name. DOI

National Center for Education Statistics. (2018). Dropouts and Completions–State Level: Total Diploma Count | Grade: All Grades | Race: All Races | Gender: All Genders, 2006–2009 [Data set]. Retrieved from Data Planet™ Statistical Datasets: A SAGE Publishing Resource. https://doi-org.proxy.library.nd.edu/10.6068/DP1663A7D1B321

Easy Analytic Software Inc. (EASI). (2018). Consumer Behavior–2017: Electronics | Socioeconomic Indicator: Cameras/Camcorders: 35mm Auto Focus Point & Shoot: Personally own, 2017 [Data set]. Retrieved from Data Planet™ Statistical Datasets: A SAGE Publishing Resource. https://doi-org.proxy.library.nd.edu/10.6068/DP1663A7F3D432

National Bureau of Statistics of China, China Data Center, University of Michigan. (2018). China Yearly Statistics (National): Infrastructure of Cities | GroupCode: 33070101.b0101 | Socioeconomic Indicator: Total Volume of Water Supply For Residential Use–Current period value, 1952–2016 [Data set]. Retrieved from Data Planet™ Statistical Datasets: A SAGE Publishing Resource. https://doi-org.proxy.library.nd.edu/10.6068/DP1663A820C2B3

Factiva Company Report:

Author. (Year, Month/Day). Company report title. Retrieved from Factiva database

FactSet Research Systems, Inc. (2019). Facebook, Inc. company report. Retrieved from Factiva database

 

Stock Quote:

Author. (Year, Month/Day). Company stock quote. Retrieved from Factiva database

FactSet Research Systems, Inc. (2019, September 30). PPL stock quote. Retrieved from Factiva database

Frost Perspective:

Frost & Sullivan. (2019, September 30). Philips boldly embarks on the connected care journey. Retrieved from Frost & Sullivan database

 

Industry Research Analysis:

Frost & Sullivan. (2019, September 20). Global uninterruptible power supplies market, forecast to 2025. Retrieved from Frost & Sullivan database

Nonprofit Financials:

Author. (Year). Report title. Retrieved from GuideStar database

GuideStar. (2019). South Bend Symphony Orchestra Association Inc.—Comprehensive trends financial analysis report. Retrieved from GuideStar database


Industry Research Report:

Author/Editor. (Year, Month). Industry market research report title. Retrieved from IBISWorld database

Molavi, J. (2019, September). Nuclear power in the US. Retrieved from IBISWorld database


Market Research Report:

Author/Editor. (Year, Month/Day). Report title. Retrieved from MarketResearch.com database

Mind Commerce. (2019, September 16). 5G in IOT by connectivity, infrastructure, sensors, devices, (type, sector, verticals), and things 2019–2024. Retrieved from MarketResearch.com database


Investext Analyst Report:

Author/Editor. (Year, Month/Day). Report title. Retrieved from Mergent Online database.

Kee, T./Stock Traders Daily Research. (2019, October 1). Comprehensive technical and fundamental analysis for KO. Retrieved from Mergent Online database.


Market Research Report:

Author/Editor/Analyst. (Year, Month/Day). Report title–Country–Month/Year. Retrieved from Mintel database

Spencer, H. (2018, October). Restaurant decision making process–US–October 2018. Retrieved from Mintel database

Smith, D. (2018, February). Men’s and women’s underwear and sleepwear–US–February 2018. Retrieved from Mintel database

 

Infographic Overview:

Author/Editor/Analyst. (Year, Month/Day). Title—Infographic overview. Retrieved from Mintel database

Failla, J. (2019, October). Coffee—Infographic overview. Retrieved from Mintel database


Company Financials:

Morningstar. (2019). PPL Corp–Key ratios. Retrieved from Morningstar database

 

Morningstar Analysis:

Bischof, A. (2019, August 6). PPL Corp–Morningstar analysis. Retrieved from Morningstar database


 

Article from journal, magazine, or newspaper:

Author’s Last Name, First Initial. (Year, Month/Day). Article title. Magazine/Journal/Newspaper Title, volume number(issue number), page range. Retrieved from Nexis Uni Academic database

Wisser, L. (2019, Fall). NOTE: Pandora’s algorithmic black box: The challenge of using academic risk assessments in sentencing. American Criminal Law Review, 56(4), 1811–1832. Retrieved from Nexis Uni Academic database

 

Country Risk Overview

Author/Editor. (Year). Title. Retrieved from Nexis Uni Academic database

The PRS Group, Inc. (2017). Afghanistan country analysis (economy). Retrieved from Nexis Uni Academic database

 
 

Dataset:

Author. (Year, Month/Day). Title of data. Title of data set [Description of form]. Retrieved from OECD iLibrary database

International Energy Agency. (2011). Energy balances. Energy projections for IEA countries [Data set]. Retrieved from OECD iLibrary database

Author. (Year, Month/Day). Title of data. Title of table [Description of form]. Retrieved from OECD iLibrary database

Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development. (2011). CO2 emissions from fuel combustion.

 

Book:

Author. (Year, Month/Day). Title of chapter or entry. Title of book (pp. xxx-xxx). Location: Publisher. Retrieved from OECD iLibrary database

Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development. (2011). Mortality from heart disease and stroke. Health at a glance 2011: OECD indicators (pp. 28-29), OECD Publishing. Retrieved from OECD iLibrary database

 

Country Profile:

Author/Editor. (Year, Month/Day). Title–Type of report. Retrieved from Passport database

Euromonitor International. (2016, January). Car rental (destination) in the US.–Country report. Retrieved from Passport database

 

Company Report:

Euromonitor International. (2015, October 5). Microsoft Corp in toys and games (world)–Global company profile. Retrieved from Passport database

 

Global Briefing:

Euromonitor International. (2015, September 2). Key global and regional trends shaping toys licensing–Briefing. Retrieved from Passport database

 

Statistics:

Euromonitor International. (2017). Market size : Toys and games–Trade sources/national statistics. Retrieved from Passport database

 

Analysis/Opinion:

Daujotas, Giedrius. (2012, May 29). Eastern Europe: The best performing traditional toys and games region in 2011–Opinion. Retrieved from Passport database

 

Industry Survey:

Author’s Last Name, First Initial. (Year, Month/Day). Industry survey title. Retrieved from S&P NetAdvantage database

Agnese, J. (2012, April). Publishing & advertising. Retrieved from S&P NetAdvantage database

 
 

SimplyAnalytics suggested citation format (examples):

SimplyAnalytics (2017). EASI/MRI Consumer Expenditure Data 2016. Retrieved February 17th, 2017, from SimplyAnalytics database.

SimplyAnalytics (2017). Census 2016 Current Estimates Data. Retrieved February 17th, 2017, from SimplyAnalytics database.

SimplyAnalytics (2017). Map with 2016 Consumer Expenditure Data. Retrieved February 17th, 2017, from SimplyMap database.

 

Edited versions of above:

EASI/MRI. (2017). Consumer expenditure data 2016. Retrieved from SimplyAnalytics database.

U.S. Census. (2016). Current estimates data 2016. Retrieved from SimplyAnalytics database.

EASI/MRI. (2017). Consumer expenditure data 2016 [Map]. Retrieved from SimplyAnalytics database.

 

Participation Data:

Source. (Year). Title of data set [Data type]. Retrieved from Sports Market Analytics database

National Sporting Goods Association. (2019). Martial arts/MMA/Tae kwon do: Participation by total age group (% of part.) 2014–2018 [Chart]. Retrieved from Sports Market Analytics database

Consumer Expenditures:

NSGA. (2019). Exercise/fitness equipment: Market size—Total consumer exp., by type of equip. (in mil. of $) 2010–2017 [Chart]. Retrieved from Sports Market Analytics database

Online Viewing Trends:

SBRnet. (2019). Online (computers/tablets/smartphones) game/event viewership, % ages 18–34, by major sport category 2012–2018 [Chart]. Retrieved from Sports Market Analytics database

 

 

Data and Charts:

Source/Author. (Year, Month/Day). Title of data set [Description of form]. Retrieved from Statista database

MSW-ARS Research/The Brand Strength Monitor. (2018, March). United States: Brand preferences for facial foundation from October 2017 to January 2018, by age [Chart]. Retrieved from Statista database

 

Dossier or Report:

Sporting Intelligence. (2016). Global sports salaries survey 2016 [Report]. Retrieved from Statista database

Statista. (2018). National Hockey League [Report]. Retrieved from Statista database

 

Dataset:

Author. (Year, Month/Day). Title of data. Title of data set [Description of form]. Retrieved from World Development Indicators database

World Databank. (2019). India: Access to electricity 1960–2018 [Data set]. Retrieved from World Development Indicators database

World Databank. (2019). Vietnam: Average grace period on new external debt commitments (years) [Data set]. Retrieved from International Debt Statistics database

This guide is intended to show you how to cite information from some of the databases/electronic resources available from the Mahaffey Business Library website. All citations in this guide appear in the APA Citation Style format.

Please be advised that the guide in no way pre-empts a faculty member’s citation style preferences. Always make certain that the citation style you are using is acceptable to your instructor.

The database title is listed, followed by the type of information often used in the database (an article, company report, marketing report, financials, datasets, etc.), a general format guideline, and one or more specific examples. These examples cover citations for your paper/project bibliography or end notes. For in-text citation information and examples, please refer to this page maintained by Penn State University Libraries.

Feel free to copy and paste relevant examples into your document and then edit them with your own citation information. Format them to make them consistent with the rest of your document. Keep in mind that the APA’s own suggested hanging indent is ½ inch to the right, for citations over one line in length.

Please note that some databases do provide citations that you can copy/download and paste into your paper. Feel free to use them, but always double-check to make sure they have all the information you need, and that the formatting is correct. You will most likely have to edit the citation after you copy and paste. Some examples of these citations are provided in the guide.

Finally, please know that this guide is a living document that is frequently updated to provide you with the most recent, accurate, and helpful information.

If you have any questions or comments about citing your sources or about the citation style guide, please see us in person or contact us using the Ask a Business Librarian form!

Loading ...