Library Guides: Political Science: Background Information

Overview of Political Science

With ancient roots in political philosophy, Political Science at Notre Dame is organized into five subfields: American politics, comparative politics, international relations, political theory and Constitutional studies.

Related subjects include: Peace Studies and Global Affairs.

Other Related Guides

Social Sciences Datasets and Statistics
by Michael Deike Last Updated Feb 9, 2024 152 views this year

Getting Started

These resources will provide background information or context for your project or paper. They will also assist you in identifying key themes, participants, and events as you focus your research.

Concise Country Information

The World Factbook by The United States Central Intelligence Agency
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

US State Department Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets
Provide quick overviews of the United States' relationship with each country, including aid, trade, and co-memberships in international organizations.

Detailed Country Background and Analysis

Economist Intelligence Unit This link opens in a new window
Offers forecasts and reports on countries' economies, including key economic indicators, business operations, business environments, regulatory framework, and more.
Political risk yearbook This link opens in a new window
Publishes 100 Country Reports that monitor the risks to international business over the next five years.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Guides & Handbooks

Comprehensive Political Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Oxford research encyclopedias: Politics This link opens in a new window
Find detailed entries on a range of political topics, written by experts. Especially useful for learning about the literature on a given topic.
Oxford handbooks online. Political science This link opens in a new window
These 90+ handbooks, all related to political science, contain in-depth articles by scholars at the top their field. Each handbook contains chapters that survey contemporary research on a particular area, offering critical analysis and influential research on the future of the field.

International

International encyclopedia of political science This link opens in a new window
Provides entries on every field of politics, from political theory and methodology to political sociology, comparative politics, public policies, and international relations

Elgar Encyclopedia of Human Rights
Publication Date: 2021
The Encyclopedia addresses the full range of themes associated with the study and practice of human rights in the modern world.

Political Handbook of the World (2015)
Political Handbook of the World provides thorough and accurate information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system.
SIPRI Yearbook World Armaments and Disarmament (2018)
An essential and independent source for issues on armaments and arms control, conflicts and resolutions, security arrangements and disarmament, as well as longer-term trends in international security.

Domestic/U.S.

The Almanac of American Politics 2022
Provides incredibly useful overviews of the political culture, demographics, and political figures in the 50 states.
The Oxford Handbook of American Political History
Publication Date: 2020

Supreme Court Yearbook
Over twenty years of coverage are now accessible in a powerful, fully searchable online edition that lets users explore expert and timely Supreme Court coverage swiftly and comprehensively.

Maps and Atlases

Maps and atlases are a central resource in the study of politics, conflict, and peace. The Hesburgh Libraries have a collection of large, detailed maps published by various U.S. government agencies located in the Hesburgh Library Lower Level and in the Reference Atlas Case (first floor). For more information, see our Library Guide on Maps.

Digital

Atlas of Sustainable Development Goals 2018
From the World Bank. Maps of the world showing countries' progress toward reaching Sustainable Development Goals, including eliminating poverty, eliminating hunger, reaching gender equality, etc.
CIA World Factbook Maps
Maps of countries, regions, and the world.
Google Earth
From Google, requires Google Chrome and does not allow printing. Google Earth is a geobrowser that accesses satellite and aerial imagery, ocean bathymetry, and other geographic data over the internet to represent the Earth as a three-dimensional globe.
Presidential Elections, 1789 - 2012
Now hosted at nationalmap.gov, these maps show the results of presidential elections going back to our nation's founding.
United Nations Geospatial Information Section
Maps of UN operations, along with member countries.

Political Science

Poli Sci and Peace Studies Librarian