Campus Progress: Supporting the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning by Barbara L. Cambridge (Editor)Over forty colleges, universities, and associations report the latest developments in the scholarship of teaching and learning. Sections of the book include developing infrastructure, collaborating for change, instituting policies, documenting and assessing impact, and learning along the way. Framed with essays by AAHE Vice President Barbara Cambridge and Carnegie Foundation Vice President Pat Hutchings, the book's chapters reveal the strategies developed by institutions of all kinds to foster the scholarship of teaching and learning. This book constitutes an introduction to scholarly teaching and the scholarship of teaching and learning, and will interest anyone who is concerned about student learning and the kind of inquiry that helps promote that learning.
The Contemplative Mind in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning by Patricia Owen-SmithIn The Contemplative Mind in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning, Patricia Owen-Smith considers how contemplative practices may find a place in higher education. By creating a bridge between contemplative practices and the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL), Owen-Smith brings awareness of contemplative pedagogy to a larger audience of college instructors, while also offering classroom models and outlining the ongoing challenges of both defining these practices and assessing their impact in education. Ultimately, Owen-Smith asserts that such practices have the potential to deepen a student's development and understanding of the self as a learner, knower, and citizen of the world.
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2017-11-30
Cultivating the Learner-Centered Classroom by Kaia Tollefson; Monica K. OsbornCultivating the Learner-Centered Classroom, a progressively-oriented guide for teaching, provides teachers with concrete strategies for making a fundamental shift in educational thought and in practice: from behaviorism to constructivism, from control to cooperation, from following recipes to understanding the learning process, from meeting standards to individualizing expectations and instruction, and from coercing students′ obedience to facilitating their authority and autonomy. The authors offer practical procedures and strategies that are aligned with progressive educational thought, and bridge theory and practice concerning the following aspects of teaching: 1) facilitating community development in the classroom 2) facilitating community development with parents 3) classroom organization 4) observing and assessing student growth 5) planning instruction 6) individual, small group, and whole group instruction 7) evaluating and reporting student growth
Call Number: LB 1027.23 .T65 2008
Publication Date: 2007-12-06
Disciplinary Styles in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning by Mary Taylor Huber (Editor); Sherwyn P. Morreale (Editor)Ten sets of disciplinary scholars respond to an orienting essay that raises questions about the history of discourse about teaching and learning in the disciplines, the ways in which disciplinary "styles" influence inquiry into teaching and learning, and the nature and roles of interdisciplinary exchange. The authors hope to "contribute to a common language for trading ideas, enlarging our pedagogical imaginations, and strengthening our scholarly work." Disciplines represented: chemistry; communication studies, engineering, English studies, history, management sciences, mathematics, psychology, and sociology. A collaboration of The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and AAHE
Call Number: Kaneb Center LB 2331 .D57 2002
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Doing Research to Improve Teaching and Learning by Kimberly M. WilliamsGiven the increased accountability at the college and university level, one of the most promising ways for faculty at institutions of higher education to improve their teaching is to capitalize upon their skills as researchers. This book is a step-by-step guide for doing research to inform and improve teaching and learning. With background and instruction about how to engage in these methodologies--including qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods--Doing Research to Improve Teaching and Learning provides examples across disciplines of how to use one's research skills to improve teaching. This valuable resource equips faculty with the skills to collect and use different types of research evidence to improve teaching and learning in any college and university classroom. Special Features: Chapter openers highlight the questions and issues that will be addressed in each chapter. Recurring text boxes provide authentic examples from actual research studies, student work, and instructor reflections. Coverage of challenges, key successes, and lessons learned from classroom research presents a nuanced and complete understanding of the process. ecurring text boxes provide authentic examples from actual research studies, student work, and instructor reflections. Coverage of challenges, key successes, and lessons learned from classroom research presents a nuanced and complete understanding of the process.
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2014-10-10
Engaging in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning by Cathy Bishop-Clark; Beth Dietz-Uhler; Craig E. Nelson (Foreword by)This is a book for anyone who has ever considered engaging in the scholarship of teaching and learning - known familiarly as SoTL - and needs a better understanding of what it is, and how to engage in it. The authors describe how to create a SoTL project, its implications for promotion and tenure, and how it fosters: * Increased satisfaction and fulfillment in teaching * Improved student learning * Increased productivity of scholarly publication * Collaboration with colleagues across disciplines * Contributing to a growing and important body of literature This guide provides prospective SoTL scholars with the necessary background information, foundational theory, tools, resources, and methodology to develop their own SoTL projects, taking the reader through the five stages of the process: Generating a research question; Designing the study; Collecting the data; Analyzing the data; and Presenting and publishing your SoTL project. Each stage is illustrated by examples of actual SoTL studies, and is accompanied by worksheets to help the reader refine ideas and map out his or her next steps. The process and worksheets are the fruit of the successful SoTL workshops the authors have offered at their institution for many years. SoTL differs from scholarly and reflective teaching in that it not only involves questioning one's teaching or a teaching strategy, but also formally gathering and exploring evidence, researching the literature, refining and testing practices, and finally going public. The purpose of SoTL is not just to make an impact on student learning, but through formal, peer-reviewed communication, to contribute to the larger knowledge base on teaching and learning. While the roots of SoTL go back some 30 years, it was Ernest Boyer in his classic Scholarship Reconsideredwho made the case for the parity of the scholarships of integration, of discovery, of application, and of scholarship of teaching as vital to the health of higher education. Glassick, Huber, and Maeroff 's subsequent Scholarship Assessedarticulated the quality standards for SoTL, since when the field has burgeoned with the formation of related associations, a proliferation of conferences, the launching of numerous journals, and increasing recognition and validation by institutions.
Enhancing Scholarly Work on Teaching and Learning by Maryellen WeimerIn this book, Maryellen Weimer provides an essential resource for anyone who is engaged in efforts to improve teaching in higher education. This comprehensive book draws on a wide array of sources to help practitioners build on the foundation laid by existing scholarly work on teaching and learning. Enhancing Scholarly Work on Teaching and Learning reviews previously published work on teaching and learning to better guide those engaged in pedagogical scholarship and to help develop a literature that meets the needs of faculty. Enhancing Scholarly Work on Teaching and Learning includes an analysis of the practitioner literature on teaching and learning in two main categories-the wisdom of scholarship and research scholarship. The first category uses the lens of experience to analyze instructional issues, and the second category employs more objective frames to assess instructional issues. The book explores four experiential approaches to teaching and learning (personal accounts of change, recommended-practices reports, recommended-content reports, and personal narratives and includes an analysis of the three most common research methods (quantitative investigation, qualitative studies, and descriptive research). Enhancing Scholarly Work on Teaching and Learning also includes information about other methods in addition to the main approaches.
Call Number: LB 2331 .W365 2006
Publication Date: 2006-03-03
Evidence-Based Teaching for Higher Education by Beth M. Schwartz (Editor); Regan A. R. Gurung (Editor)Over the past two decades, a growing body of scholarship of teaching and learning (SoTL) has emerged. This empirical study of teaching methods, course design, and students' study practices has yielded invaluable information about how teachers teach and learners learn. Yet, university faculty members remain largely unaware of the findings of SoTL research. As a result, they tend to choose their teaching techniques and tools based on intuition and previous experience rather than on scientific evidence of effectiveness. This book synthesises SoTL findings to help teachers choose techniques and tools that maximise student learning. Evidence-based recommendations are provided regarding teacher student rapport, online teaching, use of technology in the classroom (such as audience response systems, podcasting, blogs, and wikis), experiential learning (such as internships, teaching assistantships, research assistantships, and in-class research projects), students' study habits, and more. In order to stimulate future SoTL research, the book also recommends numerous areas for future investigation. It concludes with advice for documenting teaching effectiveness for tenure review committees. Both novice and experienced university teachers will find this book useful, as well as professionals who work in faculty development centres.
Internet, Phone, Mail, and Mixed-Mode Surveys by Don A. Dillman; Jolene D. Smyth; Leah Melani ChristianThe classic survey design reference, updated for the digital age For over two decades, Dillman's classic text on survey design has aided both students and professionals in effectively planning and conducting mail, telephone, and, more recently, Internet surveys. The new edition is thoroughly updated and revised, and covers all aspects of survey research. It features expanded coverage of mobile phones, tablets, and the use of do-it-yourself surveys, and Dillman's unique Tailored Design Method is also thoroughly explained. This invaluable resource is crucial for any researcher seeking to increase response rates and obtain high-quality feedback from survey questions. Consistent with current emphasis on the visual and aural, the new edition is complemented by copious examples within the text and accompanying website. This heavily revised Fourth Edition includes: Strategies and tactics for determining the needs of a given survey, how to design it, and how to effectively administer it How and when to use mail, telephone, and Internet surveys to maximum advantage Proven techniques to increase response rates Guidance on how to obtain high-quality feedback from mail, electronic, and other self-administered surveys Direction on how to construct effective questionnaires, including considerations of layout The effects of sponsorship on the response rates of surveys Use of capabilities provided by newly mass-used media: interactivity, presentation of aural and visual stimuli. The Fourth Edition reintroduces the telephone--including coordinating land and mobile. Grounded in the best research, the book offers practical how-to guidelines and detailed examples for practitioners and students alike.
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2014-08-06
Into the Classroom: Developing the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning by Thomas Hatch; Lee S. Shulman (Foreword by)Teachers are the "lone rangers" of education. They are sequestered in their classrooms, unable to see what their colleagues are doing. All too often, good teachers have few, if any, opportunities to share their teaching techniques with others in their profession. Based on the development of the Carnegie Academy for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning, Into the Classroom clearly shows the advantages of bringing teaching into the public arena and making it possible for many people to see the nature and quality of the teaching that goes on inside schools. Once teaching is more public we can create unprecedented opportunities for teachers to learn from one another and for others to participate constructively in supporting and improving schools. Into the Classroom outlines the myriad issues that must be addressed in order for the teaching profession to become a true learning profession. Into the Classroom contains well-researched recommendations for ways to facilitate communication, collegiality, and information sharing and includes suggestions for: Documenting and representing what teachers actually do in the classroom Establishing new forums for the presentation, publication, and review of teachers' work Creating an audience for teachers' work and building the collective capacity to interpret and assess what goes on in the classroom Implementing standards that recognize and encourage teachers' professionalism Developing new standards that support Federal mandates for improving teaching quality In addition, Into the Classroom offers useful case examples of professional development, and describes the policies and practices that help teachers to develop and share their own expertise.
Call Number: LB 1027 .H348 2006
Publication Date: 2005-10-28
Learning from Each Other: Refining the Practice of Teaching in Higher Education by Michele Lee Kozimor-King (Editor); Jeffrey Chin (Editor)Learning from Each Other includes 20 original chapters written by well-known experts in the field of teaching and learning. Conceived for both new and experienced faculty at community colleges, four-year institutions, and research-intensive universities, the volume also addresses the interests of faculty and graduate students in programs designed to prepare future faculty and campus individuals responsible for faculty professional development. With the aim of cultivating engagement amongst students and deepening their understanding of the content, topics covered in this edited volume include: employing the science of learning in a social science context understanding the effects of a flipped classroom on student success pedagogical techniques to create a community of inquiry in online learning environments the risks and rewards of co-teaching reaching and teaching "non-traditional" students facilitating learning and leadership in student team projects connecting students with the community through research issues of assessment, including backward design, developing and using rubrics, and defining and implementing the scholarship of teaching and learning Through Learning from Each Other, all faculty who care about their teaching, but especially faculty in the social sciences, can successfully employ curricular innovations, classroom techniques, and advances in assessment to create better learning environments for their students.
Promoting Social Justice Through the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning by Delores D. Liston (Editor); Regina Rahimi (Editor)How can education become a transformative experience for all learners and teachers? The contributors to this volume contend that the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) can provide a strong foundation for the role of education in promoting social justice. The collection features contributions by an array of educators and scholars, highlighting the various ways that learners and teachers can prepare for and engage with social justice concerns. The essays offer reflections on the value of SoTL in relation to educational ethics, marginalized groups, community service and activism, counter narratives, and a range of classroom practices. Although the contributors work in a variety of disciplines and employ different theoretical frameworks, they are united by the conviction that education should improve our lives by promoting equity and social justice.
The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning in and Across the Disciplines by Kathleen McKinney (Editor); Mary Taylor Huber (Foreword by)The scholarship of teaching and learning (SoTL) began primarily as a discipline-based movement, committed to exploring the signature pedagogical and learning styles of each discipline within higher education, with little exchange across disciplines. As the field has developed, new questions have arisen concerning cross-disciplinary comparison and learning in multidisciplinary settings This volume by a stellar group of experts provides a state-of-the-field review of recent SoTL scholarship within a range of disciplines and offers a stimulating discussion of critical issues related to interdisciplinarity in teaching, learning, and SoTL research.
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2013-01-21
The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Reconsidered by Pat Hutchings; Mary Taylor Huber; Anthony CicconePraise for The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Reconsidered "A worthy capstone that pulls together two decades of Carnegie Foundation projects on the scholarship of teaching and learning. The authors review the genesis of these ideas and envision a future of continued integration of a culture of evidence in the world's universities and colleges. Projects end but the work continues." --Lee S. Shulman, president emeritus, The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, and Charles E. Ducommun Professor of Education emeritus, Stanford University "This book captures the most important lessons from a decade of thoughtful experimentation with methods to improve the learning outcomes of American college students. The authors have deep experience in institutionalizing various approaches that have been devised and endorsed by faculty in many kinds of higher education settings. It will be a manual for those seeking to improve their own teaching and learning outcomes." --Katharine Lyall, president emerita, University of Wisconsin System "The authors recount the history of research into one's own teaching, further develop its conceptualization, and make recommendations for how to bring it into the mainstream. Collectively, they have been at the center of the movement and have written, spoken, strategized, and organized conversations and scholarly work on the topic for many years. They present rich examples from many different environments and an unwavering vision of the benefits of the scholarship of teaching and learning and its potential." --Nancy Chism, Indiana University School of Education, Indianapolis "This book reframes the literature on the scholarship of teaching and learning, faculty development, assessment, and the future of higher education. The writing sparkles with fresh analysis on teaching, learning, academic culture, and the possibilities for change. This book will help both individual faculty and entire institutions to enhance scholarly teaching and to deepen student learning." --Peter Felten, assistant provost and director, Center for the Advancement of Teaching and Learning, and associate professor of history, Elon University
Teaching at Its Best by Linda B. NilsonThis expanded and updated edition of the best-selling handbook is an essential toolbox, full of hundreds of practical teaching techniques, classroom activities and exercises, for the new or experienced college instructor. This new edition includes updated information on the Millennial student, more research from cognitive psychology, a focus on outcomes maps, the latest legal options on copyright issues, and more. It will also include entirely new chapters on matching teaching methods with learning outcomes, inquiry-guide learning, and using visuals to teach, as well as section on the Socratic method, SCALE-UP classrooms, and more.