History and Approaches to Heritage Studies by Phyllis Mauch Messenger (Editor); Susan J. Bender (Editor)As more and more people are recognizing the need for accurately representing the story of the United States in public narratives, especially those told at museums and historic landmarks, heritage studies is emerging as an important program of study in universities across the country. These two collections are timely and valuable resources on the theory and practice of heritage education and its relationship to the discipline of archaeology.History and Approaches to Heritage Studies explores the historical development of cultural heritage theory and practice, as well as current issues in the field. This volume brings together archaeologists who are deeply engaged with a range of stakeholders in heritage management and training. Chapters contain useful reflections on working with descendant communities, local residents, community partners, and students in a variety of settings. With a focus on pedagogy throughout, topics include the importance of critical thinking skills, how technology has transformed education, gender issues in archaeology, minorities in heritage careers, NAGPRA and ethics education, archaeology field schools, and e-learning. Pedagogy and Practice in Heritage Studies presents teaching strategies for helping students think critically about the meanings of the past today. In these case studies, experienced teachers discuss ways to integrate heritage studies values into archaeology curricula, illustrating how the fields enrich each other. They argue that encouraging empathy can lead to awareness of the continuity between past and present, reflection on contemporary cultural norms, and engagement with issues of social and climate justice. These practical examples model ways to introduce diverse perspectives on history in pre-college, undergraduate, and graduate contexts. Emphasizing the importance of heritage studies principles and active learning in archaeological education, these handbooks provide tools to equip archaeologists and heritage professionals with collaborative, community-based, and activist approaches to the past.Volumes in the series Cultural Heritage Studies, edited by Paul A. Shackel
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2019-01-21
Strategies in Teaching Anthropology by Patricia C. Rice; David McCurdyForty chapters offer general advice and specific techniques to aid in the teaching of anthropology. The greatest portion of the volume is devoted to cultural anthropology, though language, archaeology, biological anthropology, and general subjects are also covered. Chapters address topics like criti
International Handbook on Teaching and Learning Economics by KimMarie McGoldrick (Editor); Gail M. Hoyt (Editor)The International Handbook on Teaching and Learning Economics provides a comprehensive resource for instructors and researchers in economics, both new and experienced. This wide-ranging collection is designed to enhance student learning by helping economic educators learn more about course content, pedagogic techniques, and the scholarship of the teaching enterprise.The internationally renowned contributors present an exhaustive compilation of accessible insights into major research in economic education across a wide range of topic areas including:* Pedagogic practice - teaching techniques, technology use, assessment, contextual techniques, and K-12 practices.* Research findings - principles courses, measurement, factors influencing student performance, evaluation, and the scholarship of teaching and learning.* Institutional/administrative issues - faculty development, the undergraduate and graduate student, and international perspectives.* Teaching enhancement initiatives - foundations, organizations, and workshops.Grounded in research, and covering past and present knowledge as well as future challenges, this detailed compendium of economics education will prove an invaluable reference tool for all involved in the teaching of economics: graduate students, new teachers, lecturers, faculty, researchers, chairs, deans and directors.
Call Number: HB 74.5 .I57 2012
Publication Date: 2011-12-29
Putting the Invisible Hand to Work by KimMarie McGoldrick (Editor); Andrea L. Ziegert (Editor)Service learning is an experiential learning pedagogy that enables students to integrate their study of economics in the classroom with service activities in their communities. It can enhance both economic literacy and the quality of our communities by helping to make economics more accessible to an increasingly diverse student body, increasing student citizenship skills, and improving the relationship between colleges and universities and their communities. The two parts of this volume provide a theoretical basis for service learning and offer lessons gleaned from applying it in the classroom. The theoretical chapters outline the learning theory and models of service learning as they can be applied in economics. Service learning is introduced here as a technique that teaches students to "do economics." Also included are specific models of service learning and an overview of assessment issues. The applications chapters detail various examples of using service to enhance learning. These range from using a single service experience in a class to courses that use service experiences as the focus and context for learning economics. Course topics cover environmental and natural resources, statistics, econometrics and research methods, principles and economic issues, labor, the economics of gender, forensic economics, and development economics. Each application provides details regarding the institutional environment in which it was implemented, type of course, enrollment, and process through which student learning was enhanced. Handouts and abbreviated syllabi are included. Economics educators have a stake in improving their students' long-term economic literacy. Service learning offers significant benefits beyond those offered by pedagogies traditionally found in economics classrooms and should be considered as a teaching strategy by economics professors everywhere. Kim Marie McGoldrick is Associate Professor of Economics, University of Richmond. Andrea L. Ziegert is Associate Professor of Economics, Denison University.
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2002-10-14
Valuing Us All: Feminist Pedagogy and Economics by April Laskey Aerni (Editor); KimMarie McGoldrick (Editor)A basic knowledge of economics is critical for making informed decisions in today's world. By offering courses and materials that are more relevant to our students' lives and encouraging more active participation in the discovery of economic concepts and theories, we promote the development of informed citizens. This volume collects pioneering work on the integration of feminist pedagogy in economics. Part 1 introduces a vision of feminist pedagogy, explains the importance of developing feminist pedagogy in economics, and proposes a model for achieving feminist pedagogy in economics that suggests changes in both course content and teaching methods. Part 2 reveals how current course content is narrowly defined and demonstrates how content can be altered to be more inclusive. Included are an analysis of current textbook treatments and examples of broadening discussions of labor supply models, U.S. poverty, and stereotyping, as well as general overviews of macro- and microeconomic courses. Part 3 reports on current disparities in economics education by gender and provides alternative teaching strategies for correcting this problem, including the service learning, peer review, e-mail discussion lists, case studies, internships, and collaborative learning. The contributors incorporate their vision of a new pedagogy with important economic concepts emphasizing equity as well as efficiency, cooperation as well as competition, and inter-dependence as well as independence. The volume will be a valuable resource for college faculty teaching economics in the United States, as well as to those teaching in related disciplines who want to design exercises that promote a more inclusive classroom environment through changes in both content and teaching methods. April Laskey Aerni is Associate Professor of Economics, Nazareth College of Rochester. KimMarie McGoldrick is Associate Professor of Economics, University of Richmond.
The Grounded Instruction Librarian : Participating in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning by Melissa N. Mallon [editor]The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) refers to original research and scholarship on teaching and learning practice in higher education conducted by scholars across disciplines interested in understanding student learning, teaching innovations, and transforming higher education. SoTL work is situated in a specific time and place, publicly disseminated, and diverse in discipline, theory, and method. Across four sections--Pedagogical Content Knowledge/Signature Pedagogy, SoTL Theory, SoTL Research, and SoTL as Professional Development--The Grounded Instruction Librarian engages SoTL through different lenses and provides a sense of the varied ways it's currently being conducted in academic libraries in North America and Europe. Each section begins with a foundational chapter from SoTL leaders that discusses central questions, highlights important theories and literature, and introduces the SoTL-in-practice chapters that follow. The practical chapters highlight work at the more local level at the more local level and take a range of forms, from case studies from specific institutions, reflections on individual participation in SoTL work, to explorations of a particular topic or theme.
Handbook of Design Research Methods in Education by Anthony E. Kelly (Editor); John Y. Baek (Editor); Richard A. Lesh (Editor)This Handbookpresents the latest thinking and current examples of design research in education. Design-based research involves introducing innovations into real-world practices (as opposed to constrained laboratory contexts) and examining the impact of those designs on the learning process. Designed prototype applications (e.g., instructional methods, software or materials) and the research findings are then cycled back into the next iteration of the design innovation in order to build evidence of the particular theories being researched, and to positively impact practice and the diffusion of the innovation. The Handbook of Design Research Methods in Education--the defining book for the field -- fills a need in how to conduct design research by those doing so right now. The chapters represent a broad array of interpretations and examples of how today's design researchers conceptualize this emergent methodology across areas as diverse as educational leadership, diffusion of innovations, complexity theory, and curriculum research. This volume is designed as a guide for doctoral students, early career researchers and cross-over researchers from fields outside of education interested in supporting innovation in educational settings through conducting design research.
Call Number: QA 279 .H34 2008
Publication Date: 2008-06-19
Mathematics Education by Jacqueline Dewar (Editor); Pao-Sheng Hsu (Editor); Harriet Pollatsek (Editor)Many in the mathematics community in the U.S. are involved in mathematics education in various capacities. This book highlights the breadth of the work in K-16 mathematics education done by members of US departments of mathematical sciences. It contains contributions by mathematicians and mathematics educators who do work in areas such as teacher education, quantitative literacy, informal education, writing and communication, social justice, outreach and mentoring, tactile learning, art and mathematics, ethnomathematics, scholarship of teaching and learning, and mathematics education research. Contributors describe their work, its impact, and how it is perceived and valued. In addition, there is a chapter, co-authored by two mathematicians who have become administrators, on the challenges of supporting, evaluating, and rewarding work in mathematics education in departments of mathematical sciences. This book is intended to inform the readership of the breadth of the work and to encourage discussion of its value in the mathematical community. The writing is expository, not technical, and should be accessible and informative to a diverse audience. The primary readership includes all those in departments of mathematical sciences in two or four year colleges and universities, and their administrators, as well as graduate students. Researchers in education may also find topics of interest. Other potential readers include those doing work in mathematics education in schools of education, and teachers of secondary or middle school mathematics as well as those involved in their professional development.
Teaching Approaches in Music Theory by Michael R. RogersDrawing on decades of teaching experience and the collective wisdom of dozens of the most creative theorists in the country, Michael R. Rogers's diverse survey of music theory surveys and evaluates the teaching styles, techniques, and materials used in theory courses.
Call Number: Music Library MT 6 .R767 T4 2004
Publication Date: 2004-08-25
The Art of Teaching Music by Estelle R. JorgensenThe Art of Teaching Music takes up important aspects of the art of music teaching ranging from organization to serving as conductor to dealing with the disconnect between the ideal of university teaching and the reality in the classroom. Writing for both established teachers and instructors on the rise, Estelle R. Jorgensen opens a conversation about the life and work of the music teacher. The author regards music teaching as interrelated with the rest of lived life, and her themes encompass pedagogical skills as well as matters of character, disposition, value, personality, and musicality. She reflects on musicianship and practical aspects of teaching while drawing on a broad base of theory, research, and personal experience. Although grounded in the practical realities of music teaching, Jorgensen urges music teachers to think and act artfully, imaginatively, hopefully, and courageously toward creating a better world.
An Introduction to Metaphilosophy by Søren Overgaard; Paul Gilbert; Stephen BurwoodWhat is philosophy? How should we do it? Why should we bother to? These are the kinds of questions addressed by metaphilosophy - the philosophical study of the nature of philosophy itself. Students of philosophy today are faced with a confusing and daunting array of philosophical methods, approaches and styles and also deep divisions such as the notorious rift between analytic and Continental philosophy. This book takes readers through a full range of approaches - analytic versus Continental, scientistic versus humanistic, 'pure' versus applied - enabling them to locate and understand these different ways of doing philosophy. Clearly and accessibly written, it will stimulate reflection on philosophical practice and will be invaluable for students of philosophy and other philosophically inclined readers.
Call Number: B 53 .O94 2013
Publication Date: 2013-03-07
Teaching Philosophy by Andrea KenkmannIn the current academic climate, teaching is often seen as secondary to research. Teaching Philosophy seeks to bring teaching philosophy higher on the academic agenda. An international team of contributors, all of whom share the view that philosophy is a subject that can transform students, offers practical guidance and advice for teachers of philosophy. The book suggests ways in which the teaching of philosophy at undergraduate level might be facilitated. Some of the essays place the emphasis on individual self discovery, others focus on the wider political context, many offer practical ideas for enhancing the teaching of philosophy through exercises that engage students in often unconventional ways. The integration of students' views on teaching provides a necessary reminder that teaching is not a one-way process, but a project that will ultimately succeed through cooperation and a shared sense of achievement amongst participants. This thoughtful and important book emphasises the responsibility of the philosophy teacher towards his or her students and to society in general. In the current academic climate, teaching is often seen as secondary to research. Teaching Philosophy seeks to bring teaching philosophy higher on the academic agenda. An international team of contributors, all of whom share the view that philosophy is a subject that can transform students, offers practical guidance and advice for teachers of philosophy. The book suggests ways in which the teaching of philosophy at undergraduate level might be facilitated. Some of the essays place the emphasis on individual self discovery, others focus on the wider political context, many offer practical ideas for enhancing the teaching of philosophy through exercises that engage students in often unconventional ways. The integration of students' views on teaching provides a necessary reminder that teaching is not a one-way process, but a project that will ultimately succeed through cooperation and a shared sense of achievement amongst participants. This thoughtful and important book emphasises the responsibility of the philosophy teacher towards his or her students and to society in general.
Call Number: B 52 .T38 2009
Publication Date: 2009-04-19
Teaching Philosophy by Steven M. CahnSome students find philosophy engrossing; others are merely bewildered. How can professors meet the challenge of teaching introductory-level philosophy so that their students, regardless of initial incentive or skill, come to understand and even enjoy the subject? For nearly a decade, renowned philosopher and teacher Steven M. Cahn offered doctoral students a fourteen-week, credit-bearing course to prepare them to teach undergraduates. At schools where these instructors were appointed, department chairs reported a dramatic increase in student interest. In this book, Cahn captures the essence of that course. Yet many of the topics he discusses concern all faculty, regardless of subject: a teacher¿s responsibilities, the keys to effective instruction, the proper approach to term papers, examinations, and grades; and suggestions for how administrators should demonstrate that they take teaching seriously. Such matters are covered in the first seven chapters and in the final, fourteenth chapter. The intermediate six chapters focus on teaching introductory philosophy and, in particular, on critical thinking, free will, philosophy of religion, ethics, and political philosophy. Cahn¿s writing is lucid and lively, using vivid examples and avoiding educational jargon. In sum, this book is not only a guide on how to inspire students but also an inspiration for teachers themselves.
Call Number: B 52 .C325 2018
Publication Date: 2018-03-20
Teaching Philosophy by Tziporah Kasachkoff (Editor)Here, two dozen distinguished philosophers share their insights and practical suggestions on a diverse range of pedagogic issues with essays on how to motivate students, constructing syllabi for particular courses, teaching particularly complex concepts, and constructing creative examinations.
Call Number: Kaneb Center: B 52 .I56 2004
Publication Date: 2004-04-19
In the Socratic Tradition by Tziporah KasachkoffThis practical guide for teaching philosophy brings together essays by two dozen distinguished philosophers committed to pedagogy. Addressing primarily practical issues, such as how to motivate students, construct particular courses, and give educational exams, the essays also touch on theoretical issues such as whether moral edification is a proper goal of teaching ethics. An excellent sourcebook for graduate students just learning to teach as well as for professors searching for new strategies and inspiration or called upon to teach courses outside of their specialties.
Gender in the Political Science Classroom by Ekaterina M. Levintova (Editor); Alison Kathryn Staudinger (Editor)Gender in the Political Science Classroom looks at the roles gender plays in teaching and learning in the traditionally male-dominated field of political science. The contributors to this collection bring a new perspective to investigations of gender issues in the political behavior literature and feminist pedagogy by uniting them with the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL). The volume offers a balance between the theoretical and the practical, and includes discussions of issues such as curriculum, class participation, service learning, doctoral dissertations, and professional placements. The contributors reveal the discipline of political science as a source of continuing gender-based inequities, but also as a potential site for transformative pedagogy and partnerships that are mindful of gender. While the contributors focus on the discipline of political science, their findings about gender in higher education are relevant to SoTL practitioners, other social-science disciplines, and the academy at large.