Africana Studies

Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this collection presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity. Also featured is a rich selection of visual material, including photographs, maps and ephemera.

Contains nearly 3,000 poems by African-American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Usage info: Licensed for four simultaneous users.

Key texts of modern African literature, published under the Heinemann African Writers Series imprint, including fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional prose.

"Based on the American Antiquarian Society's landmark collection - the most extensive in existence - American Broadsides and Ephemera offers fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. The remarkably diverse subjects of these broadsides range from contemporary accounts of the Civil War, unusual occurrences and natural disasters to official government proclamations, tax bills and town meeting reports. Featuring many rare items, the pieces of ephemera include clipper ship sailing cards, early trade cards, bill heads, theater and music programs, stock certificates, menus and invitations documenting civic, political and private celebrations. American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I consists of more than 29,000 broadsides and pieces of ephemera."--Help screen (viewed 06/25/2010).

Select from Available Collections, or search all

Includes: American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I; American Pamphlets, Series 1, 1820-1922: From the New-York Historical Society; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800; Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the American Antiquarian Society, 1652-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819; Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement 1 from the American Antiquarian Society, 1801-1819; Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement 2 from the American Antiquarian Society, 1801-1819; Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement 3 from the American Antiquarian Society, 1801-1819..

Select from Available Collections, or search all

Search or browse U.S. congressional materials originating from 1789 and covering through 1838, including 1st Congress, 1st Session through 25th Congress, 2nd Session.

Contains the full text of more than 1,400 plays, written from the 1850s to the present, by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Includes information on productions, theaters, and production companies. Also included, selectively, are production photographs, as well as images of playbills and other ephemera.

Contains thousands of stories, folktales, and works of short fiction by African, African American, and Caribbean authors.

"source for the published works of numerous historically important black leaders. Along with well-known works, the collection features approximately 5,000 pages of unique, fugitive, and never-before-published materials... intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art."--'About the database' page.

Literature and essays written by black women from Africa and the African Diaspora. A tool for understanding the feminine perspective on the diversity and development of black people in the Diaspora.

"a searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. ... numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages."--Publisher's description.

Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books, pamphlets and broadsides printed in America from 1639-1800. Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans (14 vols., 1903-34, 1955-59); and subsequent bibliographic works by Roger Bristol, James Mooney and Clifford Shipton. This database includes more than 1,000 works located, catalogued and digitized since the completion of the earlier microfilmed set, Early American Imprints, 1639-1800, which was also based on Charles Evans' American Bibliography.

Supplemented by:
-- Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800.
-- Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the American Antiquarian Society, 1652-1800.

Select from Available Collections, or search all.

Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America from 1801 through 1819. Contains many state papers and government materials, including published reports; presidential letters and messages; and congressional, state and territorial resolutions. Based on the American Bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker, which is now supplemented by thousands of new items. Allows browsing by genre, subject, author, printing history, place of publication, and language. Allows searching in citation text, title, subject, genre, author, place of publication, publisher, and document number. Cross-searchable with other Archive of Americana collections.

Supplemented by:
-- Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819
-- Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement 1 from the American Antiquarian Society, 1801-1819
-- Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement 2 from the American Antiquarian Society, 1801-1819
-- Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement 3 from the American Antiquarian Society, 1801-1819

Select from Available Collections, or search all.

A new interpretation of African American history over the last 400 years which includes essays, books, articles, manuscripts, illustrations, lesson plans, maps and music.

"includes more than 80 volumes of poetry by approximately 50 Irish women writing between 1768 and 1842. ... also offers numerous biographical and critical essays prepared by leading scholars specifically for the project."--Publisher's description.

Provides indexing to English language oral histories held in repositories and collections; includes interview-level records (some with full text; some with links to audio or video on external websites).

"Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography [Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time], this [online] collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions ..."--Gale databases description.

Full-text searchable books and articles by major and minor social thinkers of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

A collection of poetry written by the most important and influential African-American poets of the 20th century; complete text of each poem with any integral textual images or illustrations. Usage info: Licensed for four concurrent users.

The first release of the Frederick Douglass Papers at the Library of Congress contains approximately 2,000 items relating to Douglass's life as an escaped slave, abolitionist, editor, orator, and public servant. The papers span the years 1841-1964, with the bulk of the material from 1862-1895. The collection also contains the writings of some of Douglass's contemporaries such as Henry Ward Beecher, Ida B. Wells, Gerrit Smith, and Horace Greeley. Subjects covered in the collection include politics, emancipation, racial prejudice, women's suffrage, and prison reform.

An essential source for the study of the Atlantic World and Early Colonial Period. It documents the founding and economic development of Virginia as seen through the papers of the Virginia Company of London, 1606-1624, the continuing interest of the Ferrar family in the settlement of North America from Jamestown to the Bermudas, trade between Britain and America, the ethnic and gender composition of early Virginia, and tensions amongst the colonists and of early relations with Native Americans. The Archives include the Ferrar Papers and four volumes of The Records of the Virginia Company of London.