Africana Studies

Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this collection presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity. Also featured is a rich selection of visual material, including photographs, maps and ephemera.

Provides abstracts of scholarly literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Search can be limited to book reviews. Usage info: Licensed for 6 simultaneous users.

A bibliographic index to articles in journals and edited works received by Harvard's Tozzer Library. Coverage includes core anthropology and archaeology journals as well as interdisciplinary resources. Subject areas include anthropological perspectives on economics, ethnology, folklore, human evolution, linguistics, material culture, medicine, museum studies, primatology, psychology, religion, visual studies, and zooarchaeology. Usage info: Licensed for 5 simultaneous users.

History Vault's coverage of the Black Freedom Struggle offers the opportunity to study the most well-known and also unheralded events of the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century from the perspective of the men, women, and sometimes even children who waged one of the most inspiring social movements in American history. This category consists of federal government records, organizational records, and personal papers regarding the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century.

Literature and essays written by black women from Africa and the African Diaspora. A tool for understanding the feminine perspective on the diversity and development of black people in the Diaspora.

Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S.

Declassified U.S. Government documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act by the National Security Archive, an independent non-governmental research institute and library at George Washington University. The Digital National Security Archive provides enhanced access to a selected portion of the NSA collection.

Index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews from 1906 to present.

A collection of scholarly books in the areas of humanities and social sciences.

Provides citations and abstracts, with some full text, to publications from leftist and radical media worldwide since 1982, covering topics such as the labor movement, ecology and the environment, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, art and aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization. Usage info: Licensed for 1 simultaneous user.

The NAACP Papers collection consists of 6 modules. The NAACP Papers collections contains internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. It charts the NAACP's work and delivers a first-hand view into crucial issues. With a timeline that runs from 1909 to 1972, the NAACP Papers document the realities of segregation in the early 20th century to the triumphs of the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights Act of 1965 and beyond.

Notre Dame currently has access to: Module 2, NAACP Papers: Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files, and Module 6, NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces.

Full text searchable journal collection of 350+ periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences (a subset of Periodicals index online). See Periodicals index online for more extensive indexing and links to selected full text articles.

Index to millions of articles in over 4,500 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences published beginning 1770 or subsequently; scope is worldwide, covering major Western languages. Complete PCI Index, including links to selected full text articles. Only the index is searchable.

Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.

A tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Users can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and other areas of research.

Covers the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.

Provides information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses, with subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Offers full text for most dissertations (Notre Dame and other) added since 1997. Access info: Access to full text (PDF) of Notre Dame dissertations since 1997, restricted to users with valid Notre Dame NetIDs.