Library Guides: Alliance for Catholic Education / Institute for Educational Initiatives: Background Information

Education Data Sources

Catholic School Data
National Catholic Education Association (NCEA) data on Catholic Schools.
Digest of Educational Statistics
A compilation of government and public information on American education from prekindergarten through graduate school.
Early Education Research
Research Connections (RC) offers a comprehensive, easily searchable collection of more than 15,000 resources from the many disciplines related to child care and early education. The site offers the most current publications, as well as links to child care policy statements.
National Geographic Classroom Resources
National Geographic brings to your classroom: lesson plans, maps, and reference resources for Teachers and or College Students interested in geography curriculum.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use. To ensure that data resources are available to future generations of scholars, ICPSR preserves data, migrating them to new storage media as changes in technology warrant. In addition, ICPSR provides user support to assist researchers in identifying relevant data for analysis and in conducting their research projects.

Indiana Department of Education Data
Indiana Department of Education website provides access to many data sets. Please explore the site to find the data and grade level you need.
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
An official journal of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM), JRME is the premier research journal in mathematics education and is devoted to the interests of teachers and researchers at all levels--preschool through college.
National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
The Nation's Report Card-Data Tools:State Profiles
Find key data for state/jurisdiction performance on the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) assessments in mathematics, reading, writing, and science at grades 4, 8 and 12 (where applicable). View trends and demographics, download snapshot reports, and compare results for each state/jurisdiction to the nation and to the other states.

Education Journal Rankings

InCites : Journal citation reports This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource that allows users to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals from publishers in over 80 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences.

SCImago Journal and Country Rank: Education
Direct link to Journal & Country Rank (JCR) education journals in a portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.). These indicators can be used to assess and analyze scientific domains.

Reference Materials

This is a good place to start for background information on a topic. You can find encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, directories and other reference materials in the Reference Collection, located on the first floor of the Hesburgh Library to the right of the Information Desk. You can search a subset of the ND Catalog (Hesburgh Library Reference Collection) to find print reference sources.

Encyclopedia of education
Offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles, and philosophies in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities and of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full text source documents, including education related legislation, international treaties, and testing methods. 8 volumes.

Encyclopedia of educational leadership and administration This link opens in a new window
Presents the most recent theories, research, terms, concepts, ideas, and histories on educational leadership and school administration as taught in preparation programs and practiced in schools and colleges today.
Encyclopedia of educational psychology This link opens in a new window
Abstract
The field of educational psychology draws from a variety of diverse disciplines including human development across the life span, measurement and statistics, learning and motivation, and teaching. And within these different disciplines, many other fields are featured including psychology, anthropology, education, sociology, public health, school psychology, counseling, history, and philosophy. In fact, when taught at the college or university level, educational psychology is an ambitious course that undertakes the presentation of many different topics all tied together by the theme of how the individual can best function in an "educational" setting, loosely defined as anything from pre-school through adult education. Educational psychology can be defined as the application of what we know about learning and motivation, development, and measurement and statistics to educational settings (both school- and community-based).

Encyclopedia of Educational Technology
The Encyclopedia of Educational Technology (EET) is a collection of short multimedia articles on a variety of topics related to the fields of instructional design and education and training. The primary audiences for the EET are students and novice to intermediate practitioners in these fields, who need a brief overview as a starting point to further research on specific topics. Authors are graduate students, professors, and others who contribute voluntarily. Articles are short and use multimedia to enrich learning rather than merely decorate the pages.
Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education
Reference Universe to find just the right article(s) to begin your research, build a bibliography and establish a solid research foundation. This online database searches the complete indexes of more than 10,000 reference titles. Nearly 2,000 of these titles are online editions.
Reference Universe
Reference Universe to find just the right article(s) to begin your research, build a bibliography and establish a solid research foundation. This online database searches the complete indexes of more than 10,000 reference titles. Nearly 2,000 of these titles are online editions.

Relevant Websites

The Carnegie Classifications of Institutions of Higher Education
This framework is used to describe institutions of higher education and how they are the same and different from one another. Begun in 1970, this framework is used regularly and is now maintained by Indiana University, Bloomington. Most recent update provided in 2015.
Common Core Standards Initiative
This website outlines the strategy behind the development of the common core standards and provides links to the relevant state level information.

Remote Access to Resources

Electronic resources

Notre Dame NetIDs and passwords provide ACE students and faculty with remote access to all electronic journals and databases available from the Hesburgh Libraries website. If your access is denied, try using the VPN (virtual private network) client provided by the University's Office of Information Technologies (OIT)

Books

Books that are owned by the Hesburgh Libraries can be lent to ACE students for 6 months at a time. eBooks are also available for some titles and may be accessed with your NetID and password whether you are on campus or working at your home institution. Like our electronic journals, if you have difficulty with access, try the VPN client first. Please contact Leslie L.Morgan for delivery options related to print titles. If the Hesburgh Libraries' collection does not have a book that you need for your teaching or research, please contact Leslie for assistance in obtaining the item or recommend a purchase.

Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery

Articles and book chapters can be scanned and delivered to ACE students through the Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery Program online whether or not they are owned by the Hesburgh Libraries. Turnaround time for most scanned materials is 48 business hours or less when items are readily available.