Anthropology

A comprehensive abstracting journal in the field of anthropology, publishing three thousand abstracts per volume which provide a thorough coverage of anthropological scholarship in all its subfields: Cultural Anthropology, Physical Anthropology, Archaeology, and Linguistics.

This comprehensive collection for the study of human culture and behavior covers every region of the world and features a wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over. Thematic areas include: language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles.

A bibliographic index to articles in journals and edited works received by Harvard's Tozzer Library. Coverage includes core anthropology and archaeology journals as well as interdisciplinary resources. Subject areas include anthropological perspectives on economics, ethnology, folklore, human evolution, linguistics, material culture, medicine, museum studies, primatology, psychology, religion, visual studies, and zooarchaeology. Usage info: Licensed for 5 simultaneous users.

"... a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life... information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level."--Homepage.

Full-text searchable books and articles by major and minor social thinkers of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

Accesses multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. The databases are indexed so you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.

"... a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life... information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level."--Homepage.

"... abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences... provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations."--Database guide.

A worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 OCLC member institutions. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.

A digital repository for the nation's great research libraries that brings together the immense collections of its partner institutions. It was initially conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California system, and the University of Virginia to establish a repository for those universities to archive and share their digitized collections, and quickly expanded to include additional partners with fast growing treasure of digitized collections.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies in such fields of anthropology as social and cultural anthropology, archaeology, linguistic anthropology, and biological anthropology. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

Provides information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses, with subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Offers full text for most dissertations (Notre Dame and other) added since 1997. Access info: Access to full text (PDF) of Notre Dame dissertations since 1997, restricted to users with valid Notre Dame NetIDs.