Arabic, Near Eastern, and Islamic Studies

Online Arabic Encyclopedia of Islamic Law (fiqh) - Sunni.

Publishing in print in February 2009, this encyclopedia presents students, researchers, political analysts, journalists, and common readers with accurate, comprehensive, and balanced scholarship on all aspects of the world's fastest-growing religion and the areas it affects: society, politics, economics, everyday life, culture, and thought. A six-volume print work now conveniently offered digitally, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World is a major revision and massive expansion of the 1995 Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World. In addition to covering Islamic societies in the modern world from the eighteenth century to the present, as Modern Islamic World did, it adds a depth of historical background going back to the pre- Islamic era. It also covers the full geographical extent of Islam by focusing not only on the countries in which Islam is dominant, but also on regions in which Muslims live as minorities, such as Europe and the Americas. As with the original Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, the articles take a broad, comparative, and multidisciplinary approach in dealing with issues that span across a multitude of countries and centuries. And, with nearly 300 images and 40 maps, the Encyclopedia is visually stunning.

The Encyclopedia provides in-depth coverage of the political dimensions of Islam and the Muslim world. Developments in Muslim societies in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries have highlighted the need for a major reference work focusing primarily on these dimensions. The realization of internal decay and relentless quest for reform; the collapse of the Islamic caliphate; the fall of most parts of the Muslim world under western colonialism; the emergence of nation-states; the dominance of secular ideologies; the rise of Islamic revivalist movements and faith-based political, economic, and social alternatives; and the confrontation between Islamic movements and secular inspired regimes have constituted major turning points in the contemporary history of Muslim societies. At no time has the understanding of the nature and implications of these developments been needed more.

The Encyclopaedia Iranica is a comprehensive research tool dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent.

Covers Muslims of every age and land, tribes and dynasties, crafts and sciences, political and religious institutions, and the geography, ethnography, history, topography, and monuments of major towns and cities, encompassing the Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, Indian and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire, and all other Islamic countries. Published in 12 volumes between 1960 through 2004, with some volumes reprinted from 1986 onwards.

The Encyclopedia of Islamic Bioethics (EIB) aims to serve as a reliable resource for Islamic ethical thought on the wide range of bioethical questions and dilemmas, which cover medical ethics, ethics in the life sciences and scientific research, and environmental ethics. The encyclopedia is divided into two main parts covering: a general conceptual framework; and a number of thematic sections. The conceptual framework comprises a number of relevant topics drawn from Islamic law, theology, philosophical ethics, and ethics of science and technology. The thematic section includes a number of topics divided into several broad bioethical sections such as beginning of human life, human body, healthcare ethics and clinical ethics, reproduction, genetics, society and public health, vulnerable populations, research, and end of human life.

This encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Containing thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more, this new encyclopedia fills a need in this key area of religious studies.

The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors.

The Times World Religions presents a fully-comprehensive survey of the origins, developments, beliefs and distribution of the world's religions. Full-colour maps, pictures and a thorough yet accessible text combine to form a unique global overview of human faith and a key to understanding its role in the modern world.

Abridged from the acclaimed Oxford Dictionary of World Religions, this Concise version is written by an expert team of 80 international and multi-faith contributors. It contains entries on all the major and many minor religions, including Christianity, Judaism, Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, Jainism, Shinto, Sikhism, and Taoism.

Hans Wehr's definitive dictionary of the Arabic language, complete online version.

The Oxford Dictionary of Islam focuses primarily on the 19th and 20th centuries, providing a highly informative look at the religious, political, and social spheres of the modern Islamic world.

Al-Baḥeth al-ʿArabī allows you to search several different classical Arabic dictionaries, including Lisān al-ʿArab.

This is an excellent source for Arabic definitions of Arabic terms.

By Belkassam Ben Sedirah. 1910.

By Albert de Biberstein-Kazimirski. 1860.

By Donald Andreas Cameron. 1892.

By Francis Edward Crow. 1901.

By Martin Hinds and El-Said Badawi. 1986.

By Carlo Landberg. 1901.

By Carlo Landberg. 1909.

By Tetsuo Nishio. 1992.

By Nikolaus Rhodokanakis. 1908.

Edited by G. Voten.

Translated by A. S. G. Jayakar. Vol. 2, Part 1. 1908.

By V. Fleury and Muammad Souhlal. 1915.

By Renard Dozy. 1845.

By A. Fonahn. 1922.

2002.

Saudi Arabia. 2017. Vol. 1.

By Abdssattar Siddiqi. 1919.

This is the online version of Francis Joseph Steingass's "A Comprehensive Persian-English dictionary, including the Arabic words and phrases to be met with in Persian literature." London: Routledge & K. Paul, 1892.

A comprehensive Persian-English dictionary includes Perso-Arabic and Roman alphabets.

This is an online version of Sulayman Hayyim's New Persian-English Dictionary. "Complete and modern, designed to give English meanings of over 50,000 words, terms, idioms, and proverbs in the Persian language, as well as the transliteration of the words in English characters. Together with a sufficient treatment of all the grammatical features of the Persian language." (Teheran: Librairie- Imprimerie Béroukhim, 1934-1936).