A guide, with an introduction by Dr. Marcia R. Ristaino, to the University of Oregon Libraries' collection that represents a large portion of the archives of the British-run municipal police force based in Shanghai's former International Settlement. These files are records of various concerns of the police responsible for the foreign concession: political matters (primarily Communism/anti-Communism); confidential enquiries from various governmental authorities regarding persons of different nationalities; reports regard ing terrorist acts, serious crimes, movements of criminals and persons of doubtful reputation; labor disputes; reports regarding the different communities of foreigners; the Sino-Japanese Conflict; anti-Japanese activities; activities of Chinese authorities in the Western Area of Shanghai; arrival and departure of prominent persons, etc.
From this website you can find and download catalogues of the Chinese Maritime Customs Service's archives held in China, its publications and access some digitized versions of materials produced by the organization and its staff.
This is the guide to a collection of military documents taken from Japan by the Americans after World War II. It is an important source on Japanese military operations in China during the war, and the collection is available in microfilm in many North American libraries.
The national administrative agency is responsible for historical records of the state dating back to imperial times in China. Its collection includes government documents since the May Fourth Movement. It also holds the Communist Party records. The website is available only in Chinese. For its historical background, missions, collection holdings, etc. in English, click the following link: The State Archives Bureau.
Constructed by the Institute of Modern History, Academic Sinica in Taiwan, this database is a digitization of original diplomatic and economic files, maps and personal documents from late Qing and Republican China.
Founded by Herbert Hoover in 1919, the Hoover Institution Library & Archives are dedicated to documenting war, revolution, and peace in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. With nearly one million volumes and more than six thousand archival collections from 171 countries, Hoover supports a vibrant community of scholars and a broad public interested in the meaning and role of history.
Resources in Archival Finding Aids and Links to Archival Website provided by Yang Wu, Ph.D., Librarian in Residence