Library Guides: Astronomy: Scholarly Articles and Books

Articles

Databases are multidisciplinary collections of scholarly resources. Most databases gather links to and citations for scholarly articles, although some contain additional information on books and other resources.

ADS
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 12.7 million records covering publications in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and the arXiv e-prints.

ArXiv.org This link opens in a new window
Open access to 1,282,963 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Coverage: IMPORTANT. Use the FindText@Notre Dame link _under_ the citation, _not_ the one to the right, which often doesn't link to resources ND has licensed.
Google Scholar is Google's new search engine that focuses on academic content. Google Scholar indexes peer reviewed articles, abstracts, books, theses, pre-prints, and technical reports from academic publishers, universities, pre-print repositories, professional societies, and other scholarly organizations.
Inspec This link opens in a new window
Database providing bibliographic citations and abstracts of the scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing and information technology. Material covered includes journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, patents and books published around the world.
NASA Astrophysics Data System. This link opens in a new window
Introduces the Astrophysics Data System (ADS) of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), which provides astronomical data to scientific users. Features its Abstract Service, providing over 210,000 textual abstracts and 6,000 journal images. Offers further information on ASIAS Abstract and Article Services, ADS Digital Library, ADS Data Catalogs and Archives, and ADS Graphical User Interface. Links to recent publications.
Web of Science: Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1900-
"... accesses multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. The databases are indexed so you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work."--Tutorial screen.

Search the CAS Index by Title, Abbreviation, CODEN, ISBN, or ISSN. Maximum results returned (50)

Data

Finding data at Notre Dame.

NASA Extragalactic Database
NED is a comprehensive database of multiwavelength data for extragalactic objects, providing a systematic, ongoing fusion of information integrated from hundreds of large sky surveys and tens of thousands of research publications. The contents and services span the entire observed spectrum from gamma rays through radio frequencies. As new observations are published, they are cross- identified or statistically associated with previous data and integrated into a unified database to simplify queries and retrieval. Seamless connectivity is also provided to data in NASA astrophysics mission archives (IRSA, HEASARC, MAST), to the astrophysics literature via ADS, and to other data centers around the world.
NASA HEASARC
The High Energy Astrophysics Science Archive Research Center (HEASARC) is the primary archive for NASA's (and other space agencies') missions studying electromagnetic radiation from extremely energetic cosmic phenomena ranging from black holes to the Big Bang. Since its merger with the Legacy Archive for Microwave Background Data Analysis (LAMBDA) in 2008, the HEASARC archive contains data obtained by high-energy astronomy missions observing in the extreme-ultraviolet (EUV), X-ray, and gamma-ray bands, as well as data from space missions, balloons, and ground-based facilities that have studied the relic cosmic microwave background (CMB) radiation in the sub-mm, mm and cm bands.
SIMBAD Astronomical Database
The SIMBAD astronomical database provides basic data, cross-identifications, bibliography and measurements for astronomical objects outside the solar system. SIMBAD can be queried by object name, coordinates and various criteria. Lists of objects and scripts can be submitted.

Books

These resources will help you find e-books and print held by Notre Dame, other local libraries, or books held at other libraries worldwide.

Amazon
Search for books, music, videos, and more--in a snap.

Google Books This link opens in a new window

Hesburgh Libraries Online Catalog (Aleph)
This is the Hesburgh Libraries online catalog, which also allows access to other MALC catalogs, and includes the full holdings of the Hesburgh Libraries of Notre Dame.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
A worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 OCLC member institutions. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.

Theses and Dissertations

These resources will help you find unpublished theses and dissertations, which present an author's research and findings as part of their degree candidacy or professional qualification.

OpenDissertations This link opens in a new window
OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. Created with the generous support of the H.W. Wilson Foundation and the Congregational Library & Archives in Boston, it incorporates EBSCO's previously released American Doctoral Dissertations, and features additional dissertation metadata contributed by select colleges and universities from around the world. Providing researchers with citations to graduate research across a span of time, from the early 20th century to the present, this database will continue to grow through regular updates and new partnerships with graduate degree-granting institutions.

CurateND

ProQuest Digital Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Provides information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses, with subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Offers full text for most dissertations (Notre Dame and other) added since 1997. Access info: Access to full text (PDF) of Notre Dame dissertations since 1997, restricted to users with valid Notre Dame NetIDs.