Getting Started - ROSP 40905 - From Texts to Table - Library Guides at University of Notre Dame

How to Use this Guide

This guide provides quick access to scholarly resources that are relevant to the course, From Texts to Tables. Find encyclopedias and bibliographies in this, Getting Started, section. For sources that provide context and background, use the section entitled "Books, articles, and useful guides." To find a cookbook that you would like to analyze, see the "Cookbooks" section.

Encyclopedias, Handbooks & Bibliographies

Oxford research encyclopedias: Latin American History This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive digital research encyclopedia of scholarly work on Latin America's peoples and experiences from pre-Columbian to contemporary times. Includes entries on food in various parts of Latin America, digital resources related to the study of food in Latin America, and cookbooks from the region.
Oxford bibliographies online. Latin American studies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the scholarly study of Latin America. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and keyword searchable. Includes a bibliography on food history by Enrique Ochoa, among other related bibliographies.

Oxford Handbook of Food History
This book chronicles the history of food. It starts with the Columbian Exchange, a term coined in 1972 by the historian Alfred Crosby to refer to the flow of plants, animals and microbes across the Atlantic Ocean and beyond. It then explores the spice trade during the medieval period, the social biography and politics of food, and how food history is connected with race and ethnicity in the United States. The book also focuses on cookbooks as an important primary source for historians...
Food in Time and Place: the American Historical Association Companion to Food History
Food in Time and Place delivers an unprecedented review of the state of historical research on food, endorsed by the American Historical Association, providing readers with a geographically, chronologically, and topically broad understanding of food cultures—from ancient Mediterranean and medieval societies to France and its domination of haute cuisine.
The Cambridge World History of Food
Essays on food history, many dedicated to a single food source such as maize, tomatoes, coconut, sugar, and chicken.
Bibliografía, REDEHSNAL
A thorough bibliography, including general resources and resources by country. Created by the Red de Estudios Históricos y Sociales de la Nutrición y Alimentación en América Latina
Bibliografía anotada sobre alimentación, gastronomía, cultura y hábitos alimenticios en el mundo ibérico (Europa y América) y el Caribe
Thorough annotated bibliography on cooking and culture, including country-by-country resources. Supported by the Library of Congress.

ROSP 40905 - From Texts to Table

Special Collections Curator; Latin American, Iberian, and Latino Studies Librarian

How to Use this Guide

Other Related Guides

Encyclopedias, Handbooks & Bibliographies