Library Guides: History of Race and Racism in Science: Primary Resources

African American newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Race AND Science AND Health (539 results)
Race AND Science AND GYN OR Women (114,274 results)
science AND racism OR medicine AND Negro OR Black year: 1899 to 1970 (23,949 results)
American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I This link opens in a new window
"Based on the American Antiquarian Society's landmark collection - the most extensive in existence - American Broadsides and Ephemera offers fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. The remarkably diverse subjects of these broadsides range from contemporary accounts of the Civil War, unusual occurrences and natural disasters to official government proclamations, tax bills and town meeting reports. Featuring many rare items, the pieces of ephemera include clipper ship sailing cards, early trade cards, bill heads, theater and music programs, stock certificates, menus and invitations documenting civic, political and private celebrations. American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I consists of more than 29,000 broadsides and pieces of ephemera."--Help screen (viewed 06/25/2010).

Select from Available Collections, or search all
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar can lead to hundreds of relevant scholarly" articles, provides a "cited by" feature, provides formatted citations, provides Hesburgh Libraries link, finds open access journals, finds science and technology articles, and finds patents and legal documents.
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new window
"Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography [Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time], this [online] collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions ..."--Gale databases description.
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Search phrases:
Race AND Science AND 20th Century
(689 results)
Race AND Science AND 19th Century
(574 results)
Race AND Science AND 18th Century
(244 results)

Ape to Apollo: Aesthetics and the Idea of Race in the 18th Century
The first book to follow the development in the eighteenth century of the idea of race as it shaped and was shaped by the idea of aesthetics. Twelve full-color illustrations and sixty-five black-and-white illustrations from publications and artists of the day allow the reader to see eighteenth-century concepts of race translated into images. Human "varieties" are marked in such illustrations by exaggerated differences, with emphases on variations from the European ideal and on the characteristics that allegedly divided the races. In surveying the idea of human variety before "race" was introduced by Linneaus as a scientific category,
more...less...
264 pages; Cornell University Press, 2002

Delia's Tears: Race, Science, and Photography in Nineteenth-Century America by Rogers, Molly ; Blight, David W
ISBN: 9780300115482
Publication Date: 2010
In 1850 seven South Carolina slaves were photographed at the request of the famous naturalist Louis Agassiz to provide evidence of the supposed biological inferiority of Africans. Lost for many years, the photographs were rediscovered in the attic of Harvards Peabody Museum in 1976. In the first narrative history of these images, Molly Rogers tells the story of the photographs, the people they depict, and the men who made and used them.
Negro-mania : being an examination of the falsely assumed equality of the various races of men : demonstrated by the investigations of Champollion, Wilkinson, Rosellini, Van-Amringe, Gliddon, Young, Morton, Knox, Lawrence, Gen. J.H. Hammond, Murray, Smith by Campbell,
Publication Date: 1851
From Gale Primary Resources-Sabin Americana. 551 pages digitized for review.

Lincoln and Darwin : Shared Visions of Race, Science, and Religion
While Lincoln is renowned for his oratorical prowess and for the Emancipation Proclamation, as well as many other accomplishments, his scientific and technological interests are not widely recognized; for example, many Americans do not know that Lincoln is the only U.S. president to obtain a patent. Darwin, on the other hand, is celebrated for his scientific achievements but not for his passionate commitment to the abolition of slavery, which in part drove his research in evolution. Both men took great pains to avoid causing unnecessary offense despite having abandoned traditional Christianity. Each had one main adversary who endorsed scientific racism: Lincoln had Stephen A. Douglas, and Darwin had Louis Agassiz.
Proquest History Vault
ProQuest History Vault unlocks the wealth of key archival materials with a single search. Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections. Our collections are organized into modules within these popular subject areas. You may be subscribed to modules and collections in just one subject area or from a combination of different subjects.
more...less...
Researchers are strongly encouraged to utilize Keyword and Subject Search terms relevant to your search process. Be sure to explore ALL major historical newspapers.

Gale ebooks This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of many reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias.
Points of view reference center This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 250 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. The database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments, and writing position papers.
Science reference center This link opens in a new window
A research database providing access to full-text, science-oriented content. Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other reliable sources. In addition, the database includes a vast collection of images from sources such as UPI, Getty, NASA, National Geographic and the Nature Picture Library.