A digital repository for the nation's great research libraries that brings together the immense collections of its partner institutions. It was initially conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California system, and the University of Virginia to establish a repository for those universities to archive and share their digitized collections, and quickly expanded to include additional partners with fast growing treasure of digitized collections.
Provides information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses, with subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Offers full text for most dissertations (Notre Dame and other) added since 1997. Access info: Access to full text (PDF) of Notre Dame dissertations since 1997, restricted to users with valid Notre Dame NetIDs.
A free search engine with FindText access to ND's electronic journals. Searches MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's database of citations/abstracts in the fields of medicine, plus additional selected life sciences journals not in MEDLINE.
Accesses multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. The databases are indexed so you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
A worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 OCLC member institutions. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.
e-Books & Print Books from the One Search Catalog
Fugitive Science : Empiricism and Freedom in Early African American Culture by Britt Rusert, Project Muse
Call Number: E 185.89 .I56 B78 2017
Science -- United States -- History -- 19th century
Science -- Social aspects -- United States -- History -- 19th century
Racism -- United States -- History -- 19th century
Health Issues in Latino Males by Luisa N. Borrell (Editor); Clara Rodrfguez (Contribution by); Olivia Carter-Pokras (Contribution by); Alexander Fischer (Contribution by); Gabriela Betancourt (Contribution by); M. Biggs (Contribution by); Claire Brindis (Contribution by); John Santelli (Contribution by); Lauren Ralph (Contribution by); Andres Gil (Contribution by); Valentine Villa (Contribution by); Nancy Harada (Contribution by); Anh-Luu Huynh-Hohnbaum (Contribution by); Laia BTcares (Contribution by); Sandra Echeverria (Contribution by); Ana Diez-Roux (Contribution by); Antonio Polo (Contribution by); Margarita Alegrfa (Contribution by); Russell Homan (Contribution by); Patricia Homan (Contribution by); Olveen Carrasquillo (Contribution by); William Vega (Editor, Contribution by); Cynthia Alford (Contribution by); David Espino (Contribution by); Mariano Kanamori (Contribution by); Luisa N. Borrell (Editor, Contribution by); David R. Williams (Foreword by); Miguel Munoz-Laboy (Introduction by); Sandra Arevalo (Contribution by); Marilyn Aguirre-Molina (Editor, Contribution by); Clara Rodriguez (Contribution by); David Williams (Foreword by); Sandra ArTvalo (Contribution by); Hortensia Amaro (Contribution by); George Ayala (Contribution by); RubTn Rumbaut (Contribution by)
Publication Date: 2010-05-24
It is estimated that more than 50 million Latinos live in the United States. This is projected to more than double by 2050. In Health Issues in Latino Males experts from public health, medicine, and sociology examine the issues affecting Latino men's health and recommend policies to overcome inequities and better serve this population. The book addresses sexual and reproductive health; alcohol, tobacco, and drug use; mental and physical health among those in the juvenile justice or prison systems; chronic diseases; HIV/AIDS; Alzheimer's and dementia; and health issues among war veterans. It discusses utilization, insurance coverage, and research programs, and includes an extensive appendix charting epidemiological data on Latino health.
Chapter Six, delves into the use of Science to discriminate against the Black Elite of 1853 in New York.
Race, Racism, and Science by John P. Jackson; Nadine M. Weidman; Mark A. Largent (Editor)
Publication Date: 2004-10-13
A provocative overview of the history of the race concept in European and American science, based on current research that shows how race and science grew together in Western thought. What, historically, has the term 'race' meant? What is the relationship between the scientific study of race and racism? Race, Racism, and Science: Social Impact and Interaction explores these questions as it recaps the history of race-centered research from its origins in the late 1700s to Darwin's influential work on natural selection to the present. It is a compelling introduction to the way race science initially gained acceptance and how race studies both reflect and shape their times. Readers will see how scientific and pseudoscientific explanations of racial differences (social Darwinism, eugenics, craniometry, scientific racism) provided intellectual cover for inhuman acts, and how Ashley Montagu, Richard Lewontin, and other 20th-century antiracists fought to refute the scientific support of bigotry. Extensive bibliographic essays citing not only original scientific papers dating back to the 18th century, but also current research into the social and historical contexts from which that work emerged Biographical sketches of the most important figures in race science, from François Bernier and Mamie Phipps Clark to Gordon W. Allport and Ashley Montagu
Racism and racists: some conundrums -- Fear of the dark? : blacks, Jews and barbarians -- Beyond the pale: scientific racism, the nation, and the politics of colour -- Imperialism, eugenics, and the Holocaust -- The case against scientific racism -- New racisms? -- Racist identities: ambivalence, contradiction, and commitment -- Beyond institutional racism: 'race', class, and gender in the USA and Britain.
Deluxe Jim Crow by Karen Kruse Thomas
Publication Date: 2011-11-30
Plagued by geographic isolation, poverty, and acute shortages of health professionals and hospital beds, the South was dubbed by Surgeon General Thomas Parran "the nation's number one health problem." The improvement of southern, rural, and black health would become a top priority of the U.S. Public Health Service during the Roosevelt and Truman administrations. Karen Kruse Thomas details how NAACP lawsuits pushed southern states to equalize public services and facilities for blacks just as wartime shortages of health personnel and high rates of draft rejections generated broad support for health reform. Southern Democrats leveraged their power in Congress and used the war effort to call for federal aid to uplift the South. The language of regional uplift, Thomas contends, allowed southern liberals to aid blacks while remaining silent on race. Reformers embraced, at least initially, the notion of "deluxe Jim Crow"--support for health care that maintained segregation. Thomas argues that this strategy was, in certain respects, a success, building much-needed hospitals and training more black doctors. By the 1950s, deluxe Jim Crow policy had helped to weaken the legal basis for segregation. Thomas traces this transformation at the national level and in North Carolina, where "deluxe Jim Crow reached its fullest potential." This dual focus allows her to examine the shifting alliances--between blacks and liberal whites, southerners and northerners, activists and doctors--that drove policy. Deluxe Jim Crow provides insight into a variety of historical debates, including the racial dimensions of state building, the nature of white southern liberalism, and the role of black professionals during the long civil rights movement.
Misbehaving Science by Aaron Panofsky
Publication Date: 2014-07-07
Behavior genetics has always been a breeding ground for controversies. From the "criminal chromosome" to the "gay gene," claims about the influence of genes like these have led to often vitriolic national debates about race, class, and inequality. Many behavior geneticists have encountered accusations of racism and have had their scientific authority and credibility questioned, ruining reputations, and threatening their access to coveted resources. In Misbehaving Science, Aaron Panofsky traces the field of behavior genetics back to its origins in the 1950s, telling the story through close looks at five major controversies. In the process, Panofsky argues that persistent, ungovernable controversy in behavior genetics is due to the broken hierarchies within the field. All authority and scientific norms are questioned, while the absence of unanimously accepted methods and theories leaves a foundationless field, where disorder is ongoing. Critics charge behavior geneticists with political motivations; champions say they merely follow the data where they lead. But Panofsky shows how pragmatic coping with repeated controversies drives their scientific actions. Ironically, behavior geneticists' struggles for scientific authority and efforts to deal with the threats to their legitimacy and autonomy have made controversy inevitable--and in some ways essential--to the study of behavior genetics.
The Science and Politics of Racial Research by William H. Tucker
Publication Date: 1994-09-01
Unlike other critiques of the scientific literature on racial difference, The Science and Politics of Racial Research argues that there has been no scientific purpose or value to the study of innate differences in ability between groups. William Tucker shows how, for more than a century, scientific investigations of supposedly innate differences in ability between races have been used to rationalize social and political inequality as the unavoidable consequence of natural differences. Tucker structures his work chronologically, with each chapter describing how research on genetic difference was used in a particular era to support a particular political agenda. He begins with the use of science to support slavery in the mid-nineteenth century and ends with the effects of Jensenism in the 1970s. Highlights include one chapter describing a little-known but concerted attempt by a group of scientists to overturn the Brown v. Board of Education decision on the basis of expert testimony about racial differences, and another that presents a review of the eugenics movement in the twentieth century. The author also considers how to balance the rights and responsibilities of scientists, concluding that one generally neglected method is to strengthen the rights of research subjects.
The Politics of Social Science Research by Peter Ratcliffe (Editor)
Publication Date: 2001-06-18
This book addresses some of the key questions facing contemporary social scientists. What is the point of our research? Who undertakes it? Does it have any impact on the social world it attempts to characterize: if so, what? It does so by focusing on international research on identity and inequality grounded in 'race' and ethnic difference. The contributors to the volume ask searching questions about the politics of research funding, the empowerment of minorities, and the prospects for meaningful change.
Fatal Invention by Dorothy Roberts
Publication Date: 2011
A decade after the Human Genome Project proved that human beings are not naturally divided by race, scientists are attempting to resuscitate race as a biological category. In this provocative analysis, leading legal scholar and social critic Dorothy Roberts argues that America is once again at the brink of a virulent outbreak of classifying population by race. By searching for differences at the molecular level, a new race-based science is obscuring racism in society and legitimising state brutality against communities at a time when America claims to be post-racial.
The history of research on the genetics of intelligence is fraught with social bias. During the eugenics era, the hereditary theory of intelligence justified policies that encouraged the proliferation of favored races and coercively stemmed procreation by disfavored ones. In the 1970s, Berkeley psychologist Arthur Jensen argued that black students’ innate cognitive inferiority limited the efficacy of federal education programs.
Biological Anthropology: Concepts and Connections by Agustin Fuentes
Publication Date: 2011-01-06
Biological Anthropology: Concepts and Connections shows the relevance of anthropological concepts to today's students and encourages critical thinking. Throughout the text and especially in its many "Connections" features, Agustin Fuentes links anthropological concepts and questions to students' lives. One of the top scholars in the field of biological anthropology, Agustin Fuentes' current research looks at the big questions of why humans do what they do and feel the way they feel. He is committed to an integrated, holistic anthropological approach. Fuentes wrote this text to help answer the "so what" questions and make anthropological knowledge relevant to everyday life. Instructors and students can now access their course content through the Connect digital learning platform by purchasing either standalone Connect access or a bundle of print and Connect access. McGraw-Hill Connect® is a subscription-based learning service accessible online through your personal computer or tablet. Choose this option if your instructor will require Connect to be used in the course. Your subscription to Connect includes the following: * SmartBook® - an adaptive digital version of the course textbook that personalizes your reading experience based on how well you are learning the content. * Access to your instructor's homework assignments, quizzes, syllabus, notes, reminders, and other important files for the course. * Progress dashboards that quickly show how you are performing on your assignments and tips for improvement. * The option to purchase (for a small fee) a print version of the book. This binder-ready, loose-leaf version includes free shipping. Complete system requirements to use Connect can be found here: http://www.mheducation.com/highered/platforms/connect/training-support-students.html
Science for Segregation by John P. Jackson Jr.
Publication Date: 2005-08-01
In this fascinating examination of the intriguing but understudied period following the landmark Brown v. Board of Education decision, John Jackson examines the scientific case aimed at dismantling the legislation. Offering a trenchant assessment of the so-called scientific evidence, Jackson focuses on the 1959 formation of the International Society for the Advancement of Ethnology and Eugenics (IAAEE), whose expressed function was to objectively investigate racial differences and publicize their findings. Notable figures included Carleton Putnam, Wesley Critz George, and Carleton Coon. In an attempt to link race, eugenics and intelligence, they launched legal challenges to the Brown ruling, each chronicled here, that went to trial but ultimately failed. The history Jackson presents speaks volumes about the legacy of racism, as we can see similar arguments alive and well today in such books as The Bell Curve and in other debates on race, science, and intelligence. With meticulous research and a nuanced understanding of the complexities of race and law, Jackson tells a disturbing tale about race in America.
Race, Monogamy, and Other Lies They Told You by Agustín Fuentes
Publication Date: 2012-06-12
There are three major myths of human nature: humans are divided into biological races; humans are naturally aggressive; men and women are truly different in behavior, desires, and wiring. In an engaging and wide-ranging narrative Agustín Fuentes counters these pervasive and pernicious myths about human behavior. Tackling misconceptions about what race, aggression, and sex really mean for humans, Fuentes incorporates an accessible understanding of culture, genetics, and evolution requiring us to dispose of notions of "nature or nurture." Presenting scientific evidence from diverse fields, including anthropology, biology, and psychology, Fuentes devises a myth-busting toolkit to dismantle persistent fallacies about the validity of biological races, the innateness of aggression and violence, and the nature of monogamy and differences between the sexes. A final chapter plus an appendix provide a set of take-home points on how readers can myth-bust on their own. Accessible, compelling, and original, this book is a rich and nuanced account of how nature, culture, experience, and choice interact to influence human behavior.