Library Guides: Tips for Reading Scholarly Journal Articles in Psychology: Formatting Papers in APA Style

Formatting Papers in APA Style

The American Psychological Association provides information on formatting papers and citations for the most commonly used paper and resource types at https://apastyle.apa.org/. Visit APA's style help page here: APA Style Help

Here is an example of a scholarly article formatted in APA style.

Most library databases provide quick cite options that allow you to format citations in whatever style you'd like, including APA Style. This quick cite option is from the Psycinfo database.

Citing and Managing Sources
Notre Dame provides access to several resources that will help you cite and manage your citations in a variety of formats, including APA style.

The Hesburgh Libraries have print versions of style guides to help you format your papers from beginning to end.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: Reference Collection BF 76.7 .P83 2020
ISBN: 9781433832154
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication.
An EasyGuide to APA Style by Beth M. Schwartz; R. Eric Landrum; Regan A. R. Gurung
Call Number: Referece Collection BF 76.7 .S39 2016
ISBN: 9781483383231
Publication Date: 2016-03-10
Written by experienced psychology instructors who are active and respected members of the American Psychological Association (APA) Society for the Teaching of Psychology, the updated Third Edition provides a reader-friendly guide for mastering APA style and covers all sections of an APA-style paper. Clear, conversational, and humorous, the book presents easy-to-understand explanations of how to write research papers, term papers, and lab reports, and cite references following APA style and format. The authors focus on the most essential elements of APA style and format, offering useful advice, tips, and visual representations.