Library Guides: Architecture Thesis Research (UNDERGRAD): Articles and Books

Search Tips for Books

Keyword is the easiest and most flexible way to search the library catalog. It searches words in all fields of the catalog record: title, author, publisher, notes, etc.

Word searching combines words using connectors such as AND , OR , and AND NOT. Use the * as a wild card.

Search:

Keyword frank lloyd wright AND fallingwater

When you retrieve your results make sure to note the location, call number, and status.

Finding Books at ND

There are four options for finding books at Notre Dame.

Catalog Classic is the standard and easiest to use option for searching books and journal titles (not individual articles) at ND. It is the best place to search if you know a specific title or item that you are looking for. You can use the search box below:

ND Catalog
The ND Catalog is the Library's main catalog for searching for books locations of the Hesburgh Libraries, Kresge Law Library, and other partner libraries in Michiana. Use the facets on the left to narrow your search.
OneSearch
Hesburgh Libraries search facility which searches multiple databases including the catalog and many indexing, abstracting and full-text databases.

WorldCat.org

Avery index to architectural periodicals This link opens in a new window
Searchable database with listings of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation.
Art & architecture source This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design and features full-text articles as well as detailed indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books, podcasts and more. Includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch.
DAAI : Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
"abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards... including ceramics, glass, jewelry, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture."--About.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library for scholars, researchers, and students. Contains digitized current and many back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

Art & architecture source This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design and features full-text articles as well as detailed indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books, podcasts and more. Includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch.
ARTbibliographies modern This link opens in a new window
ABM abstracts journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on modern and contemporary art (dating from the late 19th century onwards) including photography, performance art, video art, computer and electronic art, theater arts, etc., as well as painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
Art index retrospective This link opens in a new window
Avery index to architectural periodicals This link opens in a new window
Searchable database with listings of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation.
BHA and RILA This link opens in a new window
BHA and RILA cover European and American visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007.
DAAI : Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
"abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards... including ceramics, glass, jewelry, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture."--About.
Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
Based on The index of Christian art, a thematic and iconographic index of early Christian and medieval art objects begun at Princeton University in 1917. As of July 1, 2017, the Index of Christian Art became The Index of Medieval Art. The change reflects the broad evolution of the institution's scope and mission since its founding in 1917, when its work was limited to cataloguing religious themes and subjects in early Christian art up to 700 C.E. A century later, records have expanded to encompass both religious and secular imagery, including Jewish and Islamic works, from the first centuries of the Common Era until the sixteenth century.
Title changed from Index of Christian Art.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, notes, and similar literature on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range of 400 to 1500 for the entire continent of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa for the period before the Muslim conquest and parts of those areas subsequently controlled by Christian powers. Access info: Click on "Enter databases", then select International Medieval Bibliography.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library for scholars, researchers, and students. Contains digitized current and many back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni delivers unmatched depth and quality when it comes to content. With more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources, Nexis Uni helps students find credible sources including: Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; Unparalleled business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.
Oxford art online This link opens in a new window
Provides a single gateway to access images of art works, biographies of artists, and articles from Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists.
Perseus Project: Art and Archaeology. This link opens in a new window
Presents the art and archaeology section of the Perseus Project at Tufts University in Medford, Massachusetts. Contains a search engine for the Project. Notes that the Project contains a library of classical art objects, sites, and buildings. Allows users to search the Project for architecture, coins, vases, and sculpture.

How to Find Journal Articles in the Library

The majority of article databases for architecture do not contain full-text articles. You have to find the article in other databases, in print, or via Interlibrary Loan.

Most databases contain this icon

Clicking on thewill take you to this page

Click on the ND Libraries Catalog to get the Call Number for the journal

Write down the call number for the journal. Take that, along with the citation information, and you can locate your article on the shelves. You can also export the citation to RefWorks at this point as well. For more information on RefWorks, please refer to the Citing Sources page in this guide.

Architecture Thesis Research (UNDERGRAD)

The Architecture Library

Librarians

Search Tips for Books

Finding Books at ND

There are four options for finding books at Notre Dame.

Searching for Articles

How to Find Journal Articles in the Library