Skip to main content

Architecture - Rare & Archival Collections

Archival Collections at the Architecture Library

The archival collections housed within the Architecture Library in the Walsh Family Hall of Architecture support the research and curricular needs of the faculty, students, and scholars visiting the School of Architecture by providing access to historical documentation of significant New Traditional and New Urbanist architects and firms, architects/firms who have won the Richard H. Driehaus Prize at the University of Notre Dame, a retrospective collection of student work, rare and exceptional materials, and documentation related to the study of classical and traditional architecture and urbanism.

Léon Krier Library & Archive

The Léon Krier Library and Archive is a permanent collection of his work and materials housed in the Architecture Library at the University of Notre Dame. The collection is currently being processed and will be made available to researchers and the public once completed.

Seaside Research Portal & Archive

The Seaside Research Portal is an online archive of the community of Seaside, Florida. The Architecture Library houses the archives of the Seaside Community Development Corporation along with physical and digital materials donated by the architects who have worked in Seaside. 

Student Work Archive

The Student Work Archive houses historical student work, contemporary award winning student projects, and selected student projects for NAAB review. 

Types of materials collected:

  • Original hand-drafted or painted plates
  • Models
  • Copies of materials when the original does not exist