Library Guides: Latinx, Latino/a Studies: News and Popular Press

News and Popular Press

Hispanic American newspapers
Searchable database providing access to a "... compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries... features hundreds of titles, including many published bilingually in Spanish and English. Based on the "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project"..."--Product description.

Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press
The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
Chicano Serials Collection
This is a large microfilm collection including dozens of Chicano newspapers, including some short-lived and ephemeral titles as well as student newspapers, many from the twentieth century. These can be accessed on the lower level of the library.

Arte Público Hispanic historical collection, Series 1
Series 1 is a collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. Series 2, Leaders, Writers, and Thinkers, presents thematic content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries.
Arte Público Hispanic historical collection, Series 2, leaders, writers, and thinkers
Series 1 is a collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. Series 2, Leaders, Writers, and Thinkers, presents thematic content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries.